Best Compliance Software (2026): Top 10 Compared
Compare buyer fit, pricing notes and trade-offs. How entries are ordered.
Compare at a glance
Select a vendor for details and sources. Scroll the table horizontally on smaller screens.
| Vendor | Consider for | Pricing notes |
|---|---|---|
| Vantamid-market | Fast-growing software companies pursuing several certifications at once | Quote-based (checked Sep 2026) |
| Dratamid-market | Scaling companies wanting one flat per-framework rate | Quote-based (checked Sep 2026) |
| Secureframesmb | Small and mid-sized companies working toward a first SOC 2 or ISO 27001 report | From $7,000/year for the Fundamentals tier, Complete and Defense tiers quote-based (checked Sep 2026) |
| Sprintosmb | Startups working toward a first certification on a defined budget | Quote-based (checked Sep 2026) |
| Scrut Automationsmb | Very small teams that want one flat price with everything included | Quote-based (checked Sep 2026) |
| Thoropassmid-market | Organizations that want one vendor accountable for the platform and the finished audit | Quote-based (checked Sep 2026) |
| Hyperproofmid-market | Mid-market compliance operations teams running several frameworks in parallel | Quote-based (checked Sep 2026) |
| Optro (formerly AuditBoard)enterprise | Large enterprises with a staffed internal audit or SOX function | Quote-based (checked Sep 2026) |
| OneTrustenterprise | Organizations whose dominant obligation is privacy, consent or AI governance | Quote-based (checked Sep 2026) |
| Onspringenterprise | Large or regulated organizations that want a no-code platform spanning compliance and risk | Quote-based (checked Sep 2026) |
These comparisons draw on public product information, not hands-on testing of every tool. Source records identify available references and checks; missing evidence is marked. Buyer fit is an editorial assessment, not a measured performance score. How to use this research.
Compliance software has split into two overlapping tracks. Certification-first platforms, Vanta, Drata, Secureframe, Sprinto, Scrut Automation and Thoropass among them, connect directly to an organization’s cloud, identity and HR systems, then run continuous control tests and collect evidence toward a specific SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA or GDPR outcome, aiming to compress the audit-prep cycle from months of manual screenshotting into a live, always-current record. The audit itself still requires an independent assessor; the software shortens what happens before that assessor arrives.
Broader governance, risk and audit-readiness suites, Hyperproof, Optro, OneTrust and Onspring in this comparison, start from a wider mandate: internal audit workpapers, board-level risk reporting, privacy and AI governance, or a no-code platform a compliance team configures itself. Pricing transparency splits along the same line. Six of the ten vendors below publish real figures, all through AWS Marketplace listings rather than a public pricing page, while the remaining four require a sales conversation for any number. Compare documented fit, source status and trade-offs before shortlisting.
Vendor details and trade-offs
Vanta
mid-marketVanta is a trust and compliance management platform built by Vanta Inc., aimed at organizations pursuing SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA and adjacent certifications. The company's AWS Marketplace listing states the platform supports more than 6,000 AWS customers, including Atlassian, Modern Health and Mistral AI, and positions Vanta as an AWS Security Competency Partner with integrations across more than 40 AWS services. Vanta markets itself as a trust management platform rather than a narrow audit tool, extending automated evidence work into risk and vendor management alongside certification prep.
Capabilities documented on the listing include automated evidence collection across more than 35 frameworks, among them SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, PCI DSS and GDPR, plus public-sector readiness for CMMC, CJIS, NIST 800-53/171 and FedRAMP. The Vanta AI Agent manages tasks, recommends next steps and generates audit-ready documentation. Custom automated tests can be built directly in-platform or through the Vanta API for self-hosted or custom-built systems. Trust Center and Questionnaire Automation modules sit alongside a Third-Party Risk Management add-on, and the vendor reports a 526 percent three-year ROI with a 129 percent productivity increase, both vendor-supplied figures.
The AWS Marketplace listing publishes ten dimensions on 12-month contracts: an Essentials Package from $14,000 for 1-20 employees, Plus Package at $21,500, Professional Package at $23,000, Trust Center at $6,000, Trust Center Advanced at $10,000, Questionnaire Automation at $10,000 for 144 questionnaires a year or $16,000 for 288, Customer Trust Management at $22,250, Third-Party Risk Management at $13,600 for up to 50 vendors, and an AWS FTR module at $7,500. The vanta.com pricing page separately names four tiers, Essentials, Plus, Professional and Enterprise, and requires a demo beyond the smallest published band. Vanta fits software companies needing several certifications quickly; it fits less well once headcount clears the published 1-20 employee band, where every figure on the listing stops applying.
Potential strengths
- Ten published AWS Marketplace pricing dimensions make entry cost checkable without a sales call
- Vanta AI Agent drafts policy, checks evidence and recommends remediation across the whole program
- Public sector frameworks including CMMC, CJIS and FedRAMP are supported alongside the standard commercial set
Trade-offs
- Published Essentials pricing only covers organizations of 1-20 employees
- Add-on modules like Trust Center and TPRM carry separate published fees on top of the base package
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 11, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Drata
mid-marketDrata is an agentic trust management platform from Drata Inc. that competes directly with Vanta on compliance automation covering SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA and other frameworks. Its AWS Marketplace listing describes the product as a GRC automation solution and confirms Drata's status as an AWS Security Competency Partner whose AI engine is built on AWS Bedrock. Drata's own site organizes the platform around four functions: automated governance, integrated risk management, continuous compliance and accelerated assurance.
The listing states the platform integrates with more than 200 applications and streamlines more than 20 compliance frameworks, standards and regulations. Continuous automated monitoring alerts customers when a security control stops operating effectively, and automatic evidence collection is intended to make the audit process largely hands-off. A Trust Center lets customers share real-time compliance posture with prospects, and a separate Enterprise GRC module extends the platform into broader risk management once certification work is established. The vendor reports more than 8,500 customers and a 4.8 rating on G2.
AWS Marketplace lists 16 dimensions on 12-month contracts, published with no starting-price hedge: a Drata Platform Fee of $25,000 for capacity sized to a 100 FTE organization, plus a flat $7,500 for each compliance framework, including SOC 2 2017, GDPR, ISO 27001 v2022, HIPAA, PCI DSS, CCPA, CMMC, Microsoft SSPA and NIST CSF, every one priced identically regardless of audit complexity. Trust Center and Risk Management modules are listed as further additions on top of the platform and framework lines. A separate listing offers a Foundation Package at $15,000 for 1-50 FTE companies. Drata fits scaling companies that want a predictable flat rate per added framework; it is a weaker fit above 100 FTE, where the published capacity band stops describing the purchase and pricing moves to a private offer.
Potential strengths
- Every compliance framework is priced identically at $7,500, so adding a second framework has a known cost
- Platform Fee and framework prices carry no starting-price hedge, unlike most competitors
- Enterprise GRC module extends the same platform into risk work beyond certification
Trade-offs
- Published Platform Fee of $25,000 is the highest entry figure among the vendors that publish one
- Capacity is capped at 100 FTE on the published dimension, with nothing published above it
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 11, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Secureframe
smbSecureframe is a compliance automation platform from Secureframe Inc. marketed as an all-in-one security, privacy and compliance product for organizations of any size. Its AWS Marketplace listing frames the product as a governance, risk and compliance solution and emphasizes a hybrid model: technology paired with human expertise, where every customer is assigned a dedicated compliance expert, described as a former auditor, who can answer complicated questions that arise during an audit.
Standards supported per the listing include SOC 2, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, HIPAA, GDPR, CCPA, NIST 800-53, NIST 800-171, NIST CSF, the NIST Privacy Framework, CMMC, PCI DSS SAQ-A and SAQ-D, Microsoft SSPA and MVSP. Features named include continuous monitoring, automated tests, machine-learning-powered RFP and security-questionnaire completion with knowledge base management, personnel and asset inventory management, vendor access and risk management, a risk register, enterprise policy management, data rooms and readiness reporting, backed by more than 100 integrations including AWS, Asana, Azure, G Suite, GitHub, Gusto, JAMF, Okta and Slack. The vendor's own pricing page names three tiers: Fundamentals, Complete and a Defense tier built for CMMC contractors.
AWS Marketplace publishes two flat, unhedged dimensions on a 12-month contract, both valid for up to 100 employees: Platform access at $7,500 and First Framework, a choice of any single framework, also at $7,500. The listing notes additional discounts for organizations under 10 employees and for customers purchasing multiple frameworks, and states the Platform SKU must be purchased before a framework can be added, so the two line items are never bought separately. Secureframe fits small and mid-sized companies working toward a first certification with guided support; a second framework has no published rate, so multi-framework programs must be priced directly with the vendor.
Potential strengths
- Dedicated ex-auditor compliance expert is assigned to every customer as part of the base price
- Platform and first-framework pricing is published as a single Fundamentals tier starting at $7,000/year
- Broad standards list covers privacy frameworks like ISO 27701 and MVSP that most rivals omit
Trade-offs
- A second framework carries no published rate and must be negotiated separately
- Published pricing caps out at 100 employees with no stated band above it
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 11, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Sprinto
smbSprinto is a compliance and risk automation platform aimed at fast-growing technology companies; the vendor markets it as ranked No. 1 on G2 for ease of use, implementation, support and results. Its AWS Marketplace listing describes an autonomous trust platform spanning compliance, vendor risk, AI governance and continuous monitoring, intended to carry an organization from a first SOC 2 report through an ongoing, multi-framework program without switching tools.
Documented capabilities include out-of-the-box support for SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA, PCI DSS and custom frameworks, more than 200 native integrations plus developer APIs, and built-in mobile device management for compliance-aligned device tracking. Role- and ticket-based access management covers critical systems, a risk register supports quantitative assessment, and a centralized vendor risk management program handles third-party due diligence. Control tests and remediation workflows run continuously, audit windows are tracked on a dedicated auditor dashboard, and a Trust Center publishes security posture externally. The listing also cites a Magic Map feature that automates checks against custom, non-standard controls and access to a vetted network of auditors and penetration-testing partners.
AWS Marketplace lists a Sprinto Starter Platform at $7,500 for up to 100 employees, with a First Compliance Framework, a choice of SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, CPRA or GDPR, starting at $2,000. A separate, India-region listing prices a Starter tier for up to 25 employees at $8,500 and a Professional tier for up to 200 employees at $4,500. The vendor's own pricing page names Foundation and Growth plans without public figures. Sprinto fits startups pursuing a first certification on a defined budget; the starting-at wording on the framework line means the true cost of a second or third framework is not disclosed anywhere.
Potential strengths
- Starter platform pricing on AWS Marketplace is published at $7,500 for up to 100 employees
- Built-in MDM and role-based access management are included rather than sold as add-ons
- Access to a vetted network of auditors and penetration-testing partners is bundled into the platform
Trade-offs
- Per-framework pricing is worded as starting at $2,000, so the real framework cost is not disclosed
- A separate India-region AWS listing prices the same product differently, complicating comparison
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 11, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Scrut Automation
smbScrut Automation is an automated GRC platform aimed at fast-growing companies, marketed heavily around AI teammates that carry out compliance tasks rather than merely track them. The vendor's AWS Marketplace listing states more than 1,400 companies use the platform and rates it 4.9 out of 5 across more than 1,300 reviews, positioning Scrut as a compliance-automation-first alternative to broader GRC suites in this comparison.
The listing documents support for more than 50 out-of-the-box compliance frameworks, including SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, GDPR and NIST, with native AWS, GCP and Azure integration running daily scans that auto-collect evidence, detect misconfigurations and map findings to standards such as the CIS Benchmark. Pre-mapped controls, ready-to-use policy templates and an extensive risk library sit alongside end-to-end risk and vendor management, asset tracking and employee security training. Scrut Trust Vault is a custom-branded portal with NDA-gated access and expiry controls for sharing audit status and certifications with prospects. Named AI teammates on the homepage, including Evidence Collector, Internal Auditor, Risk Analyst and Vendor Risk Analyst, draft policies, correlate risk signals and prepare audit packages for human review.
AWS Marketplace lists a single dimension, Compliance Automation, at a flat $15,000 for a 12-month contract, covering organizations of up to 20 employees with every core feature, module and framework included and no separate charges based on users or usage; audit fees are billed separately. The scrut.io pricing FAQ points buyers directly to a custom quote once headcount exceeds that band, without naming what the next band costs. Scrut fits very small teams that fit inside the 20-employee cap and want one flat number to budget against; larger organizations have no published reference point on either the vendor site or the AWS listing.
Potential strengths
- Single flat $15,000 price with every framework and module included removes tier-picking entirely
- Agentic AI teammates handle evidence collection, policy drafting and audit-readiness checks directly
- 4.9 out of 5 rating across more than 1,300 reviews is the highest of any vendor compared here
Trade-offs
- The published $15,000 figure applies only to organizations of 20 employees or fewer
- No published pricing exists once an organization grows past the entry band
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 11, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Thoropass
mid-marketThoropass, formerly Laika, is a compliance platform built around a feature few competitors in this comparison share: the audit itself is performed in-house. The company markets itself as an end-to-end cybersecurity auditor, pairing AI-driven evidence collection with staff auditors previously employed at KPMG, EY, Coalfire and Accenture, and states the platform is trusted by more than 1,000 organizations globally.
The site organizes coverage around dedicated framework pages for SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR, PCI DSS, HITRUST and HIPAA, each describing centralized evidence collection with automated validation and in-house auditor support. The AWS Marketplace listing describes the same model in commercial terms: integrations and monitors vetted by auditors that automatically satisfy evidence requests while powering continuous compliance monitoring, intended to produce detailed, transparent audit reports a customer can use competitively during sales. The Marketplace listing's own security credentials show Thoropass holds both SOC 2 and ISO 27001 certification for its own operations.
The AWS Marketplace listing publishes two 12-month dimensions: a Compliance Platform, including the first framework, starting at $8,700, and a SOC 2 Audit Subscription, covering an audit performed by Thoropass's in-house auditors, starting at $5,800, for a combined published floor of $14,500 a year. Both figures are worded as starting prices, so the final contract depends on company size, systems in scope and the review period chosen. The vendor's own thoropass.com pricing page names no figures and routes every plan through a demo instead. Thoropass fits organizations that want one vendor accountable for both the readiness platform and the finished SOC 2 report; it is a weaker fit for teams that already have an auditor relationship and only want software, since the audit subscription is priced in regardless of whether it is used.
Potential strengths
- In-house AICPA-affiliated auditors mean the platform vendor and the audit come from a single contract
- AWS Marketplace publishes a combined platform-plus-audit floor of $14,500 a year
- Dedicated framework pages for SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR, PCI DSS, HITRUST and HIPAA cover the common certification set
Trade-offs
- Bundled audit pricing makes Thoropass a weaker fit for teams that already have an auditor relationship
- The vendor's own pricing page publishes no figures, unlike its AWS Marketplace listing
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 11, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Hyperproof
mid-marketHyperproof is an AI-powered GRC platform from Hyperproof Inc. built to centralize compliance, risk and security workflows for organizations running several certifications in parallel rather than a single one. The vendor pitches the platform as turning GRC from a cost center into a competitive engine, and states its own operations hold SOC 2 Type II certification, which it presents as evidence of the standard it expects customers to apply to their own vendors.
The Compliance module is built for adopting new frameworks and programs, standardizing control operations across multiple frameworks at once to reduce redundant testing work as certification count grows. The Risk module integrates control health data with multiple risk registers and centralizes third-party vendor tracking, including renewal dates, key documents and risk profiles, with consolidated reporting dashboards aimed at leadership rather than practitioners. Enterprise-grade access controls round out the platform: role-based permissions, multi-factor authentication, and single sign-on through Azure OpenID Connect, JumpCloud and Okta SAML. Marketing pages claim support for more than 160 frameworks, spanning HIPAA, CMMC, PCI DSS, SOC 2, ISO 27001, DORA, NIS2, FedRAMP and HITRUST, with evidence reuse across frameworks that share overlapping controls.
No dollar figures appear on the Hyperproof pricing page, and no AWS Marketplace listing publishes one either; the page describes the compliance and risk modules and routes every visitor to a product demo, with cost negotiated on frameworks, modules, administrator seats and contract length. Hyperproof fits mid-market compliance operations teams whose framework count has outpaced headcount and who value unlimited users over a published rate card; it is a weaker fit for a first-time single-framework buyer who wants a number before a sales conversation, since nothing on either surface answers that question.
Potential strengths
- Unlimited users on every plan removes per-seat cost as headcount grows
- Support for more than 160 frameworks is among the broadest claimed in this comparison
- Evidence reuse across overlapping controls reduces duplicated work as framework count rises
Trade-offs
- No published pricing anywhere, including on AWS Marketplace
- Risk and compliance modules are described as separately licensed, so a full quote requires scoping every module
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 11, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Optro (formerly AuditBoard)
enterpriseOptro is the current name for the platform long marketed as AuditBoard; the vendor's own homepage still carries the parenthetical formerly AuditBoard in analyst citations, and the product is built for internal audit, SOX, risk and information security functions rather than first-time certification work. Optro states it is used by more than half of the Fortune 500, and cites a Leader placement in the 2026 Forrester Wave for GRC platforms alongside a Leader placement in the 2025 Gartner Magic Quadrant for GRC Tools.
Named modules, Audit, Risk, Infosec and Compliance, sit under one connected system of action rather than as separate products. The vendor emphasizes real-time insight, autonomous testing and a shared view of risk across functions rather than framework-by-framework certification prep, and a dedicated AI governance offering adds guardrails and integrated oversight for organizations adopting AI systems. Customer figures cited on the homepage include more than 1,400 hours saved annually, a 64 percent reduction in redundant controls and a 33 percent reduction in risk-assessment completion time. The platform is built to serve audit committees and boards as directly as engineering or security teams.
Neither optro.ai nor a public AWS Marketplace listing publishes tier names or figures; third-party procurement records, including a University of California systemwide agreement, confirm the product is sold under negotiated, fixed-term contracts rather than list pricing, and a demo is required to obtain a quote. Buyers evaluating Optro should expect scope, seat count and module selection to move the quote as much as employee headcount does. Optro fits large enterprises with a staffed internal audit function or a SOX program that needs one shared control library across audit, risk and security; it is a poor fit for a small company chasing a first SOC 2 report, where the audit-committee-oriented workflow is disproportionate to the requirement.
Potential strengths
- Named a Leader in both the 2026 Forrester Wave and the Gartner Magic Quadrant for GRC tools
- Used by more than half of the Fortune 500 according to the vendor
- Audit, risk, infosec and compliance modules share one connected system rather than separate tools
Trade-offs
- No published prices or tier names anywhere, including AWS Marketplace
- Rebrand from AuditBoard to Optro complicates vendor search and existing procurement records
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 11, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
OneTrust
enterpriseOneTrust is a governance platform from OneTrust LLC whose roots are in privacy operations, extended over time into AI governance, third-party risk and broader technology risk and compliance. The vendor states it serves more than half of the Fortune 500 and cites a Visionary placement in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for AI Governance Platforms alongside a Leader placement in Forrester's fourth-quarter 2025 privacy management software Wave.
Six solution lines make up the platform: AI Governance, Consent and Preferences, Data Use Governance, Privacy Automation, Tech Risk and Compliance, and Third-Party Management. Consent capture spans web, mobile and CTV properties and is backed by a database the vendor describes as covering more than 45 million categorized cookies and trackers. AI Governance builds model inventories and risk assessments mapped to the EU AI Act, NIST and ISO 42001, while the Privacy Automation line covers data-subject-request intake, identity verification and redaction. OneTrust's own AWS integration documentation describes collector-based evidence pulls for supporting security controls, a mechanism similar to the certification-focused platforms in this comparison, though built primarily around privacy and consent rather than SOC 2 evidence.
The pricing page publishes no dollar figures but is unusually explicit about the meters behind each package: AI Governance is priced on admin users and AI inventory, Consent Management on average daily visitors, Privacy Automation on users and privacy asset inventory, and Third-Party Management on admin users and third-party inventory; a demo is required to attach a number to any of them. OneTrust fits organizations whose dominant compliance obligation is privacy, consent or AI governance across many jurisdictions; it is a weaker fit where the primary need is SOC 2 or ISO 27001 evidence collection, which sits outside the platform's privacy-first design.
Potential strengths
- Six solution lines cover privacy, AI governance and third-party risk under one vendor
- Consent management draws on a database of more than 45 million categorized cookies and trackers
- Pricing meters are explicitly documented per package even though final figures are not
Trade-offs
- No dollar figures published anywhere on the pricing page
- Weaker fit for SOC 2 or ISO 27001 evidence work than the certification-first platforms in this comparison
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 11, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Onspring
enterpriseOnspring is a no-code, cloud-based GRC platform from Onspring Technologies built to let compliance, risk and audit teams configure their own applications without developer support. The vendor states a first program typically launches in under 30 days, and homepage case studies, including Warner Bros. Discovery and the University of Kansas Health System, describe replacing spreadsheet-based policy tracking with a single connected system.
The product line includes a ready-made GRC Suite and a GovCloud edition purpose-built for federal agencies with FedRAMP-relevant workflows. A Risk Management module aggregates cyber, financial, operational and reputational risk into one source of data and automatically triggers assessments when a risk profile changes. Third-Party Risk Management monitors vendor relationships continuously rather than only at certification renewal, and the Compliance Management module handles control testing and issue management, customizable without IT resources. Agentic Onspring AI analyzes documents, detects duplicate records to keep data clean, and helps draft new risk and mitigation content. Vendor case studies cite 70 percent of time saved managing policies and a 33 percent improvement in business efficiency after adoption.
The pricing page publishes no dollar figures. Buyers instead work through a three-step configurator: a licensing model, by users, by products, or hybrid, and a platform tier, Bronze, Silver, Gold or Platinum, that determines data storage, support hours and available environments, with every combination priced through a quote once the configuration is scoped. Onspring fits large or highly regulated organizations that want a single no-code platform spanning compliance, risk and third-party management and are willing to configure it themselves; it is a weak fit for a small company that only needs SOC 2 evidence automation, where the platform's breadth exceeds the requirement and its unpublished pricing adds friction a narrower tool avoids.
Potential strengths
- No-code configuration lets compliance teams build their own applications without developer resources
- GovCloud edition serves federal agencies alongside the standard commercial GRC Suite
- Vendor case studies report 70 percent time saved managing policies after adoption
Trade-offs
- No published pricing at any platform tier, including Bronze through Platinum
- Breadth across risk, compliance and third-party management exceeds what a single-certification buyer needs
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 11, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Frequently asked questions
What does compliance automation software do?
Compliance automation software connects to an organization's cloud, identity and HR systems, then continuously tests whether the technical controls behind a chosen framework, such as SOC 2 or ISO 27001, are actually operating. Rather than a manual spreadsheet exercise repeated before every audit, the platform collects evidence on a schedule, flags controls that drift out of compliance, and assembles the resulting record into a package an external auditor can review, shortening the gap between an internal control and a certified one.
How does compliance automation differ from a GRC platform?
Compliance automation tools such as Vanta, Drata, Secureframe, Sprinto, Scrut Automation and Thoropass start from certification: connect to cloud and identity systems, test controls continuously, and prepare evidence for a SOC 2, ISO 27001 or HIPAA auditor. Broader GRC platforms such as Optro, OneTrust, Hyperproof and Onspring start from the risk, privacy or internal-audit function, offering configurable risk taxonomies, policy lifecycles, board reporting and, in OneTrust's case, consent and AI governance. The categories increasingly overlap, but the starting workflow still differs.
Which vendors in this comparison publish their prices?
Six of the ten do, all through AWS Marketplace listings rather than a public pricing page: Vanta from $14,000 a year, Drata at $25,000 plus $7,500 per framework, Secureframe at $7,500 plus $7,500 for one framework, Sprinto from $7,500 plus frameworks from $2,000, Scrut Automation at a flat $15,000 for organizations up to 20 employees, and Thoropass at $8,700 plus a $5,800 audit subscription. Hyperproof, Optro, OneTrust and Onspring publish no figures anywhere, including on Marketplace.
How should this comparison be used?
Use the documented product fit, source status, pricing and trade-offs to build a shortlist, then validate each finalist against your requirements, current vendor documentation and representative workflows.
Which frameworks does compliance automation software typically cover?
SOC 2 and ISO 27001 are the common starting point across every platform in this comparison, since they cover the largest share of enterprise sales requirements. HIPAA, GDPR and PCI DSS follow closely behind. Drata prices SOC 2, GDPR, ISO 27001, HIPAA, PCI DSS, CCPA, CMMC, Microsoft SSPA and NIST CSF at an identical flat rate. Broader suites, Hyperproof and OneTrust among them, extend into DORA, NIS2, FedRAMP, HITRUST and the EU AI Act, reflecting obligations that reach beyond a single security certification.
How long does it take to become audit-ready using one of these platforms?
Connecting cloud and identity systems typically takes days, but audit readiness itself is paced by the observation window a framework requires, commonly three to twelve months for a SOC 2 Type II report and closer to a fixed point-in-time assessment for ISO 27001. Thoropass states its in-house model cuts the average audit cycle from 73 to 29 days once evidence is assembled. Broader GRC suites such as Optro take longer, since a risk taxonomy and control library must be configured before testing begins.
Do these platforms replace the need for an external auditor?
No. Certification requires an independent assessor, and none of the software in this comparison can issue its own SOC 2 or ISO 27001 report. Thoropass is the exception worth noting: its audit is performed by an in-house AICPA-affiliated CPA practice rather than a separate firm, which is a different commercial arrangement, not a different assurance standard. Every other platform here prepares evidence and hands it to an auditor the customer engages separately, and independence rules require that separation to remain intact.
How is pricing usually structured across this category?
Where a price is published, it separates a platform fee from a per-framework fee: Drata and Secureframe both price a flat framework add-on at $7,500, Sprinto's framework line starts at $2,000, and Vanta bundles frameworks into named packages instead. Scrut Automation is the exception with one flat number under an employee cap. Thoropass bundles the audit itself into a second subscription. Every vendor without a published figure, Hyperproof, Optro, OneTrust and Onspring among them, negotiates on headcount, framework count and modules selected.
Suggest a vendor or correction
Send product details or factual corrections to editorial@statwharf.com. Corrections are free. For paid profile services, contact partnerships; payment does not determine editorial coverage or ordering.
First published September 2026. Page update dates reflect editorial changes, not a fresh check of every vendor.