SStatWharf
Menu

Best Work Order Management Software (2026): Top 10 Compared

Updated October 2026By StatWharf Editorial10 vendorsMethodology

Work order management software records maintenance requests, turns them into assigned work orders, schedules recurring preventive work and keeps the completed history against each asset. The ten products below are maintenance management systems (CMMS and EAM) for in-house maintenance teams in plants, facilities and fleets, not field service tools for contractors who bill customers. They split three ways. MaintainX, UpKeep, Fiix, Limble and eMaint are cloud CMMS platforms sold per user. Coast and eWorkOrders aim at small teams with low per-user or flat monthly prices. IBM Maximo, FTMaintenance Select and Fracttal One serve asset-heavy operations that need enterprise controls, on-premise deployment or plant-system integration.

Order is not a ranking. How entries are ordered.

On this page
  1. Comparison table
  2. Vendor details
  3. MaintainX
  4. UpKeep
  5. Fiix
  6. Limble
  7. eMaint
  8. Coast
  9. eWorkOrders
  10. IBM Maximo
  11. FTMaintenance Select
  12. Fracttal One
  13. How to choose
  14. Frequently asked questions
  15. Suggest a vendor

Compare at a glance

Select a vendor for details and sources. Scroll the table horizontally on smaller screens.

Work Order Management Software: vendor fit and recorded pricing
VendorConsider forPricing notesStandout
MaintainXmid-marketFrontline maintenance teams wanting a free entry plan and mobile procedures with signaturesBasic free; Essential $20 per user/month billed annually ($25 monthly); Premium $65 annually ($75 monthly); Enterprise custom; requesters free Checked Oct 2026External Work Orders let vendors and contractors work inside shared work orders
UpKeepsmbSingle-site and growing teams wanting mobile work orders with built-in AI creditsEssential $24 per user/month; Premium $55 per user/month; Professional and Enterprise quote-based; billing cadence not stated on plan cards Checked Oct 2026Auto-assignment routes work orders by technician skill, location and workload
Fiixmid-marketManufacturers wanting a free CMMS tier and condition-triggered work orders from plant sensorsFree $0 (limited users, 25 active PMs); Basic $45 per user/month; Professional $75 per user/month; Enterprise custom; monthly or annual subscription Checked Oct 2026Rockwell Automation product with sensor-triggered work orders and FactoryTalk Optix connection
Limblemid-marketPlants and facilities wanting unlimited assets, work orders and PMs on the entry tierNo figure published; Standard, Premium+ and Enterprise priced through an online calculator or sales Checked Oct 2026Work orders start from a QR scan on the asset, a vendor record or the dashboard
eMaintmid-marketRegulated and multi-site operations wanting CMMS tied to Fluke condition monitoringQuote-based; Professional has a 3-user minimum and Enterprise a 5-user minimum; prices in USD, EUR or GBP on request Checked Oct 2026Requests from portal, email, app or voice are auto-routed by trade, location and priority
CoastsmbSmall teams wanting a free plan and low per-user prices for basic maintenance work ordersFree $0; Maintenance Work Orders Starter $28 per user/month ($25 yearly); Pro $72 ($65 yearly); Enterprise on request Checked Oct 2026Work orders combined with real-time team messaging and QR-code request forms
eWorkOrderssmbFacilities and public works teams wanting flat monthly pricing with unlimited usersStarter $380 per month and Advanced $480 per month, unlimited users; Enterprise $45 to $120 per user, 5-user minimum Checked Oct 2026Flat monthly price with unlimited users instead of per-seat licences
IBM MaximoenterpriseAsset-intensive enterprises needing EAM, reliability and inspection in one licensed suiteEssentials Maintenance from under US$40K per year; full Maximo Application Suite licensed through AppPoints; quote or estimator Checked Oct 2026AppPoints licensing adds applications and users under a single entitlement
FTMaintenance SelectspecialistTeams needing on-premise CMMS or a one-time perpetual licenceAll plans quote-based: Lite and Lite+ annual SaaS, Full Scale monthly SaaS, or one-time perpetual licence Checked Oct 2026Perpetual licences that can run on-premise or cloud-hosted
Fracttal OnespecialistIndustrial and facilities teams wanting CMMS linked to ERP, BI and IoT sensorsQuote-based; price request form on the pricing page; no figure published Checked Oct 2026Connects to SAP, Oracle, Power BI and IoT sensors through Fracttal Sense, PLC, OPC or SCADA

These comparisons draw on public product information, not hands-on testing of every tool. Source records identify available references and checks; missing evidence is marked. Buyer fit is an editorial assessment, not a measured performance score. How to use this research.

Work order management software replaces paper tickets, spreadsheets and radio calls with a system that captures each maintenance request, assigns it to a technician, records the labour and parts used and closes it against the asset. The same tools schedule recurring preventive maintenance so work is created before equipment fails.

The comparison below covers ten maintenance-focused products. Features and pricing come from each vendor’s work order and pricing pages, checked in October 2026. MaintainX, UpKeep, Fiix, Coast and eWorkOrders publish plan prices, and IBM publishes starting prices for Maximo Essentials. Limble, eMaint, FTMaintenance and Fracttal quote on request, and their profiles record what each page states.

Related pages cover field service management software, asset tracking software and inventory management software.

Vendor details and trade-offs

MaintainX

mid-marketgetmaintainx.com ↗
Consider forManufacturing, facilities and other frontline maintenance teams that want to digitise work orders on a free plan and move to paid preventive maintenance, inventory and analytics tiers, as MaintainX's pricing and work order pages describe
Pricing notesBasic is $0 per user per month with unlimited work orders and procedures but only two work orders with attached procedures and two active repeating work orders. Essential is $20 per user per month billed annually or $25 billed monthly. Premium is $65 per user per month billed annually or $75 monthly and adds parts inventory, purchase orders, time and cost tracking, the REST API and External Work Orders. Enterprise is custom-priced. Requester accounts are free (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateExternal Work Orders let vendors and contractors view, comment on and update shared work orders inside MaintainX

MaintainX sells a mobile-first CMMS and enterprise asset management platform for frontline maintenance, safety and operations teams. Its work order module lets planners create, assign and prioritise work orders for one or several assets, attach pre-filled templates and procedures, and require signatures, inspection checks or approvals before a job closes. Technicians log time, photos and comments from a phone, and offline mode lets saved work orders be completed without connectivity.

The vendor lists AI-based Smart Time Estimates that suggest how long a new work order should take from historical data, and reporting on PM compliance, on-time completion and inspection failures. Premium adds meter-based maintenance, parts inventory and purchasing, while Enterprise adds multi-site tools, IoT sensor integrations, SSO and custom permissions.

At the time of checking, the MaintainX site carried a banner stating that MaintainX joins Autodesk. Buyers on long contracts may want to ask how the change affects the product roadmap.

Potential strengths

  • Free Basic plan with unlimited work orders and free requester accounts
  • Published per-user prices for both annual and monthly billing

Trade-offs

  • Basic and Essential cap the number of work orders with attached procedures
  • Parts inventory and purchase orders start at the $65 Premium tier
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per user per month, billed annually or monthly
  • Source review: checked Oct 8, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

UpKeep

smbupkeep.com ↗
Consider forSmall and mid-sized maintenance teams, including restaurant, facility and manufacturing operations, that want mobile-first work orders with automatic routing and an unlimited free request portal, as UpKeep's work order and pricing pages describe
Pricing notesEssential is $24 per user per month with unlimited work orders and locations and 250 Nova AI credits a month. Premium is $55 per user per month and adds PM scheduling, custom checklists, parts and inventory with costing, time and labour tracking and 30 days of analytics history. Professional (offline mode, external request portal, full analytics) and Enterprise (multi-site, workflow automation, purchase orders, API, SSO) are quote-based. Implementation and a dedicated customer success manager are add-ons on every plan (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateWork orders route themselves to a technician based on skill set, location and availability, and critical jobs move up the queue

UpKeep describes itself as an asset operations management platform. Its work order software creates jobs with custom fields, checklists, priorities and asset links, sends a push notification to the assigned technician, and logs every action for an audit trail. Recurring work orders can run on time or meter triggers, and technicians close jobs on a phone with labour time, notes, before-and-after photos and signatures.

The request portal accepts maintenance requests from a link or QR code, and requests convert to work orders with status updates sent back to the person who reported the problem. Nova, UpKeep's AI layer, includes chat, voice fill, a smart checklist builder, photo-to-parts creation and closeout summaries; each plan carries a monthly credit allowance.

UpKeep states more than 4,000 maintenance teams use the product and that most single-site teams go live in under 30 days. Its customer stories include McDonald's restaurants.

Potential strengths

  • Requester seats are free and unlimited on every plan
  • Nova AI credits are included in each tier rather than sold separately

Trade-offs

  • Preventive maintenance scheduling is not in the $24 Essential plan
  • Offline mobile mode and purchase orders require quote-based tiers
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per user per month; billing cadence not stated
  • Source review: checked Oct 8, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Fiix

mid-marketfiixsoftware.com ↗
Consider forManufacturing, food and beverage, oil and gas and heavy equipment maintenance teams that want work orders and preventive maintenance with an upgrade path to multi-site management and condition-based triggers, as Fiix's work order and pricing pages describe
Pricing notesFree is $0 for limited users with 25 active PMs, unlimited service requests, work orders and asset management. Basic is $45 per user per month and adds unlimited PMs, reports and resource-based scheduling. Professional is $75 per user per month and adds multi-site management, Fiix Foresight, purchasing and RFQs, nested PMs and inventory cycle counts. Enterprise is custom-priced. A Lite operator licence and the Fiix MAX AI assistant are add-ons priced on request. Customers can choose month-to-month or annual subscriptions (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateWork orders can trigger from real-time equipment conditions such as vibration, temperature and pressure through integrated sensors

Fiix is a cloud CMMS owned by Rockwell Automation. Its work order module covers a configurable request portal, inspection-type tasks that automatically create follow-up work when an inspection fails, CSV import of work orders and a central calendar where planners drag work into a technician's schedule. Scheduled maintenance can run on date, time, meter or event triggers, and nested PMs roll several scheduled work orders into one.

Fiix lists condition-based triggers from integrated sensors and a connection to Rockwell's FactoryTalk Optix for plant data. A template library holds checklists, procedures, manuals and diagrams for recurring tasks. The vendor states that more than 4,500 teams in over 100 countries use Fiix.

Enterprise adds failure codes, customised workflows, the Fiix Integration Hub, custom API integrations, e-signatures, audit trail and single sign-on, some of which are marked as add-ons.

Potential strengths

  • Free plan includes work orders, asset hierarchies, inventory and the mobile app
  • Drag-and-drop scheduling calendar shows each technician's workload

Trade-offs

  • Multi-site management and purchasing start at the $75 Professional tier
  • The Free plan limits the number of users
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per user per month; month-to-month or annual subscription
  • Source review: checked Oct 8, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Limble

mid-marketlimble.com ↗
Consider forManufacturing, food and beverage, facilities, hospitality and healthcare maintenance teams that want unlimited assets, work orders and preventive maintenance on the entry plan, as Limble's pricing and work order pages describe
Pricing notesThree plans: Standard (mobile app, unlimited assets, work orders, PMs, requesters and custom dashboards, automatic downtime reporting), Premium+ (adds offline mode, spare parts, vendor and purchase order management, meter-based scheduling, REST API and a customer success manager) and Enterprise (adds multi-location tools, custom roles and approvals, cycle counts, 21 CFR compliance, SSO and ERP or IoT integrations). No figure is shown on the pricing page; each plan links to a price calculator (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateTechnicians can open a new work order by scanning an asset QR code and add photos from the phone

Limble sells a mobile CMMS covering work orders, preventive and predictive maintenance, resource planning, asset management and parts inventory. Work orders can be created from the dashboard, an asset record or a vendor record, either by click or by scanning a code, and default templates can be replaced with templates built from a team's own procedures.

Limble can assign work orders automatically, link them to related assets and parts, and notify staff about pending jobs. Planners search and filter work orders and requests by priority, team, location and asset, and drag jobs in a calendar view to change due dates or reassign them. Recurring PM tasks follow the same assignment and notification rules.

The Enterprise plan adds multi-location reporting, custom roles with approval workflows, inventory cycle counts and 21 CFR compliance, with SSO and ERP, IoT and business system integrations marked as separately scoped.

Potential strengths

  • Unlimited assets, work orders, PMs and requesters on the Standard plan
  • Enterprise plan lists 21 CFR compliance for regulated plants

Trade-offs

  • No price figure is published
  • Offline mode and purchasing need Premium+
Sources and status

eMaint

mid-marketemaint.com ↗
Consider forManufacturing, life sciences, food and beverage and other regulated or multi-site operations that want work orders, calibration management and condition monitoring from the Fluke Reliability group, as eMaint's work order and pricing pages describe
Pricing notesQuote-based. Professional requires at least three users and includes work orders and PM, inventory, purchasing, advanced reporting, condition-based triggers, e-signatures, calibrations and the mobile app with offline mode; a vendor portal and computer systems validation are paid extras. Enterprise requires at least five users and adds global multi-site operations, SSO, API and ERP connectors, unlimited request-only portal licences, volume-based licensing incentives and the eMaint AI suite. No figure is published (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateWork requests arrive by portal, email, mobile app or voice call and are routed automatically, with duplicate requests flagged and overdue jobs escalated

eMaint is the CMMS and EAM product of Fluke Reliability. Its work order module accepts requests through a portal, email, the mobile app or a voice call and assigns them by trade, location, availability and priority. Similar requests are flagged before they create duplicate work, and jobs that stay unassigned or overdue are escalated.

Technicians see work queues, asset history, parts availability and instructions on mobile, including offline, and scan QR codes on equipment to pull up work orders. Every action is timestamped, and dashboards show backlog, completion rates and workload.

eMaint links to Fluke sensors for condition monitoring, which it describes as a combination unique in the market, and lists calibration labels, standards and tools tracking and 21 CFR Part 11 support for life sciences. The vendor cites more than 7,400 deployments.

Potential strengths

  • Calibration tracking, e-signatures and validation support for regulated industries
  • Duplicate-request flagging and automatic escalation of unassigned or overdue jobs

Trade-offs

  • No published price and a three-user minimum on the entry plan
  • Vendor portal and validation scripts cost extra
Sources and status
Consider forSmall maintenance, facilities, property, hospitality and church teams that want free or low-cost mobile work orders with built-in team chat, as Coast's pricing and work order pages describe
Pricing notesFree is $0 with unlimited work orders, five repeating work orders, real-time messaging and seven days of history. For the Maintenance Work Orders workflow, Starter is $28 per user per month billed monthly or $25 billed yearly, and Pro is $72 monthly or $65 yearly, adding reporting, custom external request forms, automated time and downtime tracking and 30 workflow automations. Enterprise, with multi-site tools, SSO and integrations, is priced on request. A separate Team Scheduling and Chat workflow is priced lower (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluatePairs maintenance work orders with real-time messaging, so requests, assignments and conversations sit in one mobile app

Coast is a mobile work order and team communication app. Teams assign and prioritise work orders, set due dates, schedule recurring tasks and attach photos, and staff close jobs from their phones. A work request portal lets anyone scan a QR code on an asset to open a request form, which is then assigned by the maintenance team.

Asset records hold maintenance history and QR codes, preventive maintenance can run on time or usage, and reporting covers work order completion, asset performance and maintenance costs on paid plans. Coast prices by workflow: the Maintenance Work Orders workflow costs more per user than its Team Scheduling and Chat workflow, so buyers should confirm which workflow a quote covers.

Coast states that more than 10,000 businesses use it for work orders. Paid plans can be trialled for seven days, after which the account continues on the free plan.

Potential strengths

  • Free plan includes unlimited work orders and messaging
  • Anyone can submit a request by scanning a QR code on the asset

Trade-offs

  • Free plan keeps only seven days of history
  • Reporting and analytics start at the Pro plan
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per user per month, billed monthly or yearly (yearly saves 10%)
  • Source review: checked Oct 8, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

eWorkOrders

smbeworkorders.com ↗
Consider forFacilities, public works, education and other maintenance departments that prefer a flat monthly fee with unlimited users to per-technician licensing, as eWorkOrders' pricing page describes
Pricing notesStarter is a $380 monthly subscription with unlimited users, work orders, assets, PM, materials, service requests, reporting and the AI assistant on a PC interface. Advanced is $480 per month with unlimited users and adds smartphone and tablet access with QR and barcode scanning. Enterprise is custom-priced at $45 to $120 per user with a five-user minimum and adds multi-site tools, inventory control, API, GIS, SSO and signature capture (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateStarter and Advanced plans charge one flat monthly fee regardless of how many people log in

eWorkOrders is a cloud CMMS covering work orders, preventive and predictive maintenance, a service request interface, asset and spare parts management and reporting. In its workflow, anyone can submit a service request, and approved requests generate work orders automatically, keeping a documented chain from report to assignment to resolution.

The pricing model is the main difference from per-seat rivals. The Starter plan includes unlimited users on a PC interface with 25GB of file storage, 500MB of database storage and a dedicated subdomain. Advanced adds smartphone and tablet access and code scanning. All plans include an AI assistant that gives step-by-step troubleshooting guidance on work orders, recommends PMs and suggests work order assignments.

Enterprise moves to per-user pricing and adds systems integration, user roles, multi-site tools, GIS and SSO, some listed as add-ons.

Potential strengths

  • Unlimited users on both flat-rate plans
  • Approved service requests generate work orders automatically

Trade-offs

  • Mobile access requires the $480 Advanced plan
  • Starter caps database storage at 500MB
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Monthly subscription; Enterprise per user with five-user minimum
  • Source review: checked Oct 8, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

IBM Maximo

enterpriseibm.com ↗
Consider forAsset-intensive enterprises that need work management inside a full enterprise asset management, reliability and inspection suite, as IBM's Maximo product and pricing pages describe
Pricing notesEssentials editions start under US$40K per year for Maintenance, Space Management, Capital Planning and Lease Management, and under US$47K per year for Inspection; Inventory Optimization starts under US$40K per year plus a service package. The full Maximo Application Suite is licensed through AppPoints, a credit-based entitlement, in Standard and Premium SaaS options. IBM offers a price estimator, quotes and purchase on AWS (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateAppPoints, a credit-based licence, lets a customer add functionality and users under one entitlement and pay for what it uses

IBM Maximo Application Suite is an enterprise asset management product that handles work management as one part of a wider lifecycle covering procurement, maintenance, monitoring, reliability and decommissioning. IBM states Maximo is built with watsonx and uses conversational and generative AI to retrieve and summarise asset data.

IBM sells Maximo in three shapes. Essentials editions package a single application, such as Maintenance or Inspection, at published starting prices. Standard MAS SaaS combines EAM, asset performance management, reliability-centred maintenance, real estate and facilities and inventory optimisation. Premium MAS SaaS adds options for disaster recovery, data retention and validation for regulated industries.

AppPoints let a customer add applications and users under one entitlement; the Essentials Maintenance edition starts at 150 AppPoints. Maximo suits organisations where work orders must tie into asset criticality, inspections and capital planning.

Potential strengths

  • Covers the asset lifecycle from procurement to decommissioning
  • Published starting prices for Essentials editions

Trade-offs

  • Entry price is far above per-user CMMS tools
  • Licensing through AppPoints needs sizing with IBM or a partner
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Annual subscription; AppPoints entitlement
  • Source review: checked Oct 8, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

FTMaintenance Select

specialistftmaintenance.com ↗
Consider forManufacturing, facilities, government and utility maintenance teams that need on-premise deployment or prefer to own a perpetual licence rather than rent a subscription, as FTMaintenance's pricing page describes
Pricing notesQuote-based. Lite (work order-focused) and Lite+ (standard CMMS features) are annual SaaS subscriptions. Full Scale is a month-to-month SaaS subscription that can be cancelled at any time. A one-time perpetual licence buys the software outright for cloud-hosted or on-premise use. Subscription fees include hosting, upgrades and technical support. No figure is published (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateOne of few CMMS products offering on-premise deployment and perpetual licences alongside cloud subscriptions

FTMaintenance Select is a CMMS from FasTrak SoftWorks, which states that unlimited phone and email technical support comes with every plan. Its work order features cover creating work orders from requests, assigning several assets to one work order, attaching procedures, images and files, and generating work for on-demand or scheduled maintenance. Planners can search by asset, priority and due date, check that parts are on hand, and trigger maintenance by calendar date or runtime.

Closed work orders build a maintenance history recording what was done, how long it took and who did it. Administrators can require fields before a work order closes, and records can be reopened for corrections. A mobile app gives technicians the full work order list and lets them create work orders and service requests in the field.

The licensing range is the main distinction. Buyers can choose annual or monthly SaaS, or a perpetual licence hosted on their own servers, which suits sites with strict IT or data-residency rules.

Potential strengths

  • On-premise and perpetual licence options for IT-restricted sites
  • Month-to-month Full Scale plan can be cancelled at any time

Trade-offs

  • No published price on any plan
  • Lite plan is limited to work order-focused features
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Annual or monthly SaaS subscription, or one-time perpetual licence
  • Source review: checked Oct 8, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Fracttal One

specialistfracttal.com ↗
Consider forIndustrial and facilities maintenance teams that need work orders tied to ERP, BI and plant control systems, with audit traceability for GMP, ISO and safety standards, as Fracttal's product and pricing pages describe
Pricing notesQuote-based. The pricing page lists capability groups for digitising maintenance, automating operations, unifying data sources and AI optimisation, and asks buyers to request a quote. No figure is published (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateShares real-time maintenance data with SAP, Oracle and Power BI and turns IoT readings into work orders

Fracttal One is a cloud maintenance platform from Fracttal Tech, which states that more than 1,500 companies in over 60 countries use it; customers quoted on its site include Iberostar, ISS and KFC. Work orders can be triggered by time, usage, events or meter readings, assets are identified by QR code and geolocation, and technicians use a mobile app with offline mode.

The platform lists automatic work order assignment, condition-based maintenance from IoT sensors through Fracttal Sense, PLC, OPC or SCADA, and supplier and client coordination with notifications by WhatsApp. AI features include maintenance predictions, asset creation from a photo and suggested plans and checklists.

Fracttal states ISO 27001-certified security and offers a turnkey integration service for ERP, database and API connections. Support is described as localised by region and language and available 24/7.

Potential strengths

  • Traceability by task, technician, equipment and spare part for GMP and ISO audits
  • Notifications and alerts include WhatsApp, with 24/7 support in local languages

Trade-offs

  • No published price
  • ERP and IoT connections may need a separate integration service
Sources and status

How to choose a vendor

Count technicians and requesters separately

Most products charge for each technician or planner who logs in, while people who only submit requests are free. MaintainX, UpKeep and Fiix state unlimited free requesters. eWorkOrders charges a flat monthly fee with unlimited users on its Starter and Advanced plans. A team should count licensed technicians and casual requesters before comparing quotes.

Check which plan unlocks preventive maintenance and inventory

Entry plans often cap the features that matter after go-live. MaintainX Basic allows two active repeating work orders, Coast Free allows five, and Fiix Free allows 25 active PMs. Parts inventory, purchase orders and offline mobile mode usually sit one or two tiers up, so the plan that matches the actual workflow is the one to price.

Decide on deployment and integration early

Cloud-only products suit most single-site teams. FTMaintenance Select offers on-premise deployment and perpetual licences, IBM Maximo sells SaaS editions and a purchase route through AWS, and Fracttal One lists connections to SAP, Oracle and IoT sensors. Multi-site rollups, SSO and ERP integration are enterprise-tier features at almost every vendor.

Frequently asked questions

What is work order management software?

Work order management software records maintenance requests, converts them into work orders, assigns them to technicians and tracks them to completion. It usually also schedules recurring preventive maintenance, links each job to an asset and its parts, and keeps a searchable history of labour, cost and downtime. Most products sold under this name are CMMS or EAM platforms.

How much does work order management software cost?

Published per-user prices on this page run from $20 per user per month for MaintainX Essential billed annually, $24 for UpKeep Essential, $25 to $28 for Coast Starter and $45 for Fiix Basic. eWorkOrders charges a flat $380 per month for unlimited users. MaintainX, Fiix and Coast have free plans. IBM Maximo Essentials starts under US$40K per year. Limble, eMaint, FTMaintenance and Fracttal quote on request.

Is there free work order software?

MaintainX Basic, Fiix Free and Coast Free cost nothing. Each caps something: MaintainX allows two active repeating work orders, Fiix allows 25 active PMs and limited users, and Coast keeps seven days of history with five repeating work orders. These plans suit a first move off paper but rarely cover a full preventive maintenance program.

What is the difference between a CMMS and field service management software?

A CMMS manages maintenance of assets an organisation owns, such as plant equipment, buildings or fleets, using its own technicians. Field service management software schedules and dispatches technicians to customer sites and usually handles quotes, invoices and customer payments. Products on this page are CMMS and EAM tools; see the field service management page for contractor-focused software.

Do requesters need a paid licence?

Usually not. MaintainX states requester accounts are free, UpKeep lists free unlimited requester seats on every plan, Limble includes unlimited work requesters on Standard, and Fiix includes unlimited service requests on all plans. eMaint Enterprise lists unlimited request-only portal licences. Technicians and planners who manage work orders need a paid seat.

Which products work offline or on-premise?

MaintainX, eMaint, Fracttal One and the higher tiers of UpKeep and Limble list offline mobile modes that sync when a connection returns. For server deployment, FTMaintenance Select offers on-premise installation with a perpetual licence. The other products on this page are sold as cloud subscriptions.

What should a team check before signing?

A team should confirm which plan includes preventive maintenance, parts inventory, purchase orders and offline mode, since entry tiers often exclude them. It should also count paid technician seats against free requesters, ask about implementation fees, and check minimum user counts, such as eMaint's three-user and eWorkOrders Enterprise's five-user minimums.

How was this comparison compiled?

StatWharf Editorial selected ten work order management products with live product pages and read each vendor's own work order and pricing pages on 8 October 2026. Prices are recorded as published, with billing terms. No product was installed or tested, and the order of entries is not a ranking.

Suggest a vendor or correction

Send factual corrections to editorial@statwharf.com. Corrections are free. For inclusion or placement enquiries, contact partnerships.

Contact partnerships

First published October 2026. Page update dates reflect editorial changes, not a fresh check of every vendor.