SStatWharf
Menu

Best Solar Design Software (2026): Top 10 Compared

Updated October 2026By StatWharf Editorial10 vendorsMethodology

This comparison covers software that solar installers, EPCs and developers use to lay out photovoltaic systems, simulate energy production and, in most residential tools, turn the design into a customer proposal. Aurora Solar, OpenSolar, Solargraf, Arka360 and Pylon focus on residential and small commercial sales and design. HelioScope targets commercial rooftop, carport and ground-mount projects. Scanifly builds designs from drone surveys. PVsyst is the desktop simulation tool many lenders and engineers use for yield studies, while RatedPower and PVcase serve utility-scale plant design. Seven of the ten publish prices; RatedPower, PVcase and Scanifly quote after a demo.

Order is not a ranking. How entries are ordered.

On this page
  1. Comparison table
  2. Vendor details
  3. Aurora Solar
  4. HelioScope
  5. OpenSolar
  6. Solargraf
  7. Arka360
  8. Pylon
  9. Scanifly
  10. PVsyst
  11. RatedPower
  12. PVcase
  13. How to choose
  14. Frequently asked questions
  15. Suggest a vendor

Compare at a glance

Select a vendor for details and sources. Scroll the table horizontally on smaller screens.

Solar Design Software: vendor fit and recorded pricing
VendorConsider forPricing notesStandout
Aurora Solarmid-marketUS residential installers wanting design, shading and tablet sales proposals in one cloud toolBasic $159 and Premium $259 per user/month billed monthly, or $1,620 and $2,640 per user/year; Enterprise custom Checked Oct 2026AI-assisted 3D site models plus bankable shade reports on Premium
HelioScopespecialistCommercial solar designers modelling rooftop, carport and ground-mount systems with storageBasic $159 and Pro $259 per licence/month, or $1,620 and $2,640 per licence/year; Enterprise per-project pricing Checked Oct 2026Production estimates stated within 1% of PVsyst, with P90 to P99 values on Pro
OpenSolarsmbInstallers worldwide that want design, proposals and project management without a software licenceFree for solar professionals; funded by partner fees Checked Oct 2026Free platform covering design, proposals, finance, permitting and CRM
Solargrafmid-marketResidential installers, especially Enphase-based, wanting design, proposals and permit plan sets togetherStarter $2,799/year (240 projects, 2 users) to Enterprise $12,999/year (1,500 projects, unlimited users); overage per project and user Checked Oct 2026Automated permit package generation alongside design and proposals
Arka360smbInstallers and EPCs wanting design, lead management and proposals at published monthly pricesUS: Basic $199/month (1 user), Premium $358/month (2 users), Enterprise quoted; separate India and other regional plans Checked Oct 2026Design, lead management, proposals and an engineering services portal in one subscription
PylonsmbAustralian and international installers wanting pay-per-project design and instant proposalsStandard $4.00 per project, Pro $10.00 per project; Enterprise quoted; Solar CRM from $49 per user/month Checked Oct 2026Pay-as-you-go pricing per project with no monthly seat fee for design
ScaniflyspecialistInstallers using drones for site surveys who want 3D models, shading and plan setsSubscription not published; design services priced in credits, e.g. residential plan set 70 credits Checked Oct 2026Photorealistic 3D models from a short drone flight replace manual roof measurement
PVsystspecialistEngineers producing detailed PV yield simulations and reports for financing and design reviewPVsyst 8 Professional CHF 700/year per licence; group discounts 5% to 20%; education from CHF 25/year Checked Oct 2026Detailed simulation tool that HelioScope uses as its accuracy benchmark
RatedPowerenterpriseUtility-scale developers, IPPs and EPCs designing PV and storage plants from siting to interconnectionNot published; Basic, Advanced and Enterprise plans quoted, all with unlimited users and projects Checked Oct 2026Automated PV and BESS plant layout with interconnection design and energy yield
PVcaseenterpriseUtility-scale and C&I teams wanting AutoCAD-based layout, site selection and yield in one platformNot published; demo request Checked Oct 2026Ground Mount runs inside AutoCAD and adapts layouts to real terrain

These comparisons draw on public product information, not hands-on testing of every tool. Source records identify available references and checks; missing evidence is marked. Buyer fit is an editorial assessment, not a measured performance score. How to use this research.

Solar design software turns a roof, carport or field into a photovoltaic system layout, models shading and estimates how much energy the system will produce. For residential installers it also produces the customer proposal, with pricing, savings, financing and an e-signature. For commercial and utility-scale teams it handles terrain, electrical design, storage and interconnection, and feeds the yield studies that lenders review.

The market splits by project size. Aurora Solar, OpenSolar, Solargraf, Arka360 and Pylon serve residential and small commercial installers and differ mainly in pricing model, from free to per project to per user. HelioScope serves commercial projects, and Scanifly builds designs from drone surveys. PVsyst is the desktop simulation tool that many others benchmark against or export to. RatedPower and PVcase design utility-scale plants. Hardware kits such as plug-in solar are not covered here.

The comparison covers ten products. Details come from each vendor’s public product, pricing and help pages, checked on 13 October 2026.

Vendor details and trade-offs

Aurora Solar

mid-marketaurorasolar.com ↗
Consider forResidential solar installers and sales teams that want 3D roof modelling, performance simulation, battery modelling and tablet-friendly proposals in one cloud product, as Aurora Solar's pricing page describes
Pricing notesAurora Solar lists Basic at $159 per user a month and Premium at $259 per user a month, billed monthly, each including one user and 50 projects a month. Annual billing costs $1,620 and $2,640 per user a year, a 15% saving. Enterprise is priced per project on request and adds unlimited users, drone mapping, APIs and design services (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateAurora AI generates 3D roof models with obstructions from imagery in seconds

Aurora Solar is a San Francisco-based software company that sells cloud tools for designing and selling residential and commercial solar. In August 2021 it acquired Folsom Labs, the developer of HelioScope, which continues as a separate commercial product and appears as its own entry in this comparison.

The core product combines a design mode and a sales mode. Designers build a 3D model of the roof and nearby trees from HD imagery, with Google and Vexcel imagery included and Nearmap available as an add-on, then place modules, inverters and batteries from a component database. AutoDesigner places panels to meet an energy target, and the software automates stringing and fire pathway setbacks. Performance simulation and irradiance analysis run on every plan, and custom design rules set offsets and losses.

The sales side produces tablet-friendly proposals with custom branding, price-per-watt or per-component pricing, adders, incentives and an integrated utility rate database. Reps can toggle panels on and off during a meeting and show sun path animations. Premium adds LIDAR-assisted modelling, bankable shade reports and battery modelling for backup, self-consumption and arbitrage. Enterprise adds AI-assisted site models, drone mapping, unlimited users, dealer configurations and access to plan sets and engineering stamps.

Potential strengths

  • Published per-user prices with a monthly option
  • Database of requirements for more than 25,000 US jurisdictions

Trade-offs

  • LIDAR modelling, bankable shade reports and battery modelling require Premium
  • Drone mapping, APIs and plan-set services are Enterprise only
Sources and status

HelioScope

specialisthelioscope.aurorasolar.com ↗
Consider forCommercial and industrial solar designers and EPCs that need rooftop, carport and ground-mount layouts with storage and lender-grade production estimates, as HelioScope's product and pricing pages describe
Pricing notesHelioScope lists Basic at $159 and Pro at $259 per licence a month, or $1,620 and $2,640 per licence a year. Each licence includes one user and 10 projects a month or 120 a year. Basic designs go up to 1.25 MW DC and Pro up to 5 MW DC. Enterprise uses custom per-project pricing with designs up to 30 MW DC (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateRooftop, carport, ground mount and battery layout in one project, with single-axis trackers on Enterprise

HelioScope was built by Folsom Labs, which Aurora Solar acquired in August 2021. At the time Folsom Labs said HelioScope had been used to design more than 1,200 GW of projects in over 100 countries. The product is now sold as HelioScope, an Aurora company, with its own site, pricing and commercial focus.

HelioScope is aimed at commercial solar rather than homeowner sales. A single project can combine rooftop arrays, carports and ground mounts with battery storage. Automatic layout, saved profiles and simulations that the vendor says take under a minute are designed so that a commercial project can be modelled in about 20 minutes. All plans include multiple designs per project, CAD export, single-line diagrams, a library of about 50,000 modules and inverters, 8760 production reports, shade reports and global weather coverage.

The vendor states that its production estimates fall within 1% of PVsyst and that accuracy has been validated by DNV, NREL and the California Energy Commission. Pro adds LIDAR-assisted modelling, AI obstruction detection, independent tilt, parcel boundaries in some regions, financial modelling, sales proposals and P90, P95 and P99 values. Enterprise adds unlimited users, single-axis trackers, export to PVsyst, direct API access and single sign-on.

Potential strengths

  • Published prices and clear system-size limits per plan
  • Accuracy validated by DNV, NREL and CEC according to the vendor

Trade-offs

  • Only 10 projects a month per licence on Basic and Pro
  • Export to PVsyst and single-axis trackers are Enterprise only
Sources and status

OpenSolar

smbopensolar.com ↗
Consider forResidential and small commercial solar installers in many countries that want design, proposals, financing, e-signature and project management at no licence cost, as OpenSolar's site describes
Pricing notesOpenSolar states that its software is 100% free of charge for solar professionals. Manufacturers, finance companies, distributors, permitting firms and other partners pay to be part of the platform (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluatePartner-funded model removes per-user and per-project fees for installers

OpenSolar was founded in 2017 by solar industry veterans Adam Pryor and Andrew Birch and is based in Australia. It says more than 28,000 active solar professionals in over 185 countries use the platform, and it was named Australia's 28th fastest-growing technology company in 2025. The company also says it donates 1% of annual revenue to solar electrification in underserved communities.

The free model is the main difference from other products here. OpenSolar explains that partners, including module and inverter manufacturers, finance companies, distributors, permitting firms and education providers, pay to be part of the platform so that installers do not. The company estimates that a medium-sized installer sending 100 proposals a month would save around $60,000 a year by switching, which is a vendor estimate.

The product menu covers design with auto design, automatic bill of materials, a mounting designer and single-line diagrams. Selling tools include proposals, a cash flow module, integrated finance and e-signature. Management tools cover a shop for ordering equipment, project management, CRM, permitting, team features and an API. OpenSolar also runs a lead programme that connects homeowners with installers, and it was promoting a product built for India at REI 2026 at the time of checking.

Potential strengths

  • No licence fee for installers
  • Covers design, single-line diagrams, proposals, finance, permitting and CRM

Trade-offs

  • Funding comes from manufacturers, lenders and other partners that pay to be on the platform
  • Prices for add-ons and enterprise services are not stated on the pages checked
Sources and status

Solargraf

mid-marketsolargraf.com ↗
Consider forResidential and small commercial installers that want design, interactive proposals with financing and automated permit plan sets in one platform, as Solargraf's site and pricing page describe
Pricing notesSolargraf lists Starter at $2,799 a year for 240 projects and 2 users, Small Business at $4,799 for 480 projects and 4 users, Teams at $6,399 for 720 projects and 6 users, and Enterprise at $12,999 for 1,500 projects and unlimited users. Extra projects cost $9 to $11 and extra users $960 to $1,440 a year depending on plan. Public API access costs $4,000 a year except on Enterprise (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateVendor reports more than 1 million permits generated on the platform

Solargraf was developed by Sofdesk, a Montreal company. Enphase Energy, the microinverter and battery manufacturer, closed its acquisition of Sofdesk in January 2021 and uses Solargraf to support installers in the Enphase Installer Network with proposals, permitting, financing and post-sales support. Solargraf remains available as a standalone subscription.

The platform covers the residential workflow from first design to permit. Designers use AI-assisted tools to model roofs and size solar and battery systems, with shading tools and setbacks. Sales teams build interactive proposals with integrated financing options and can edit them on the go. Operations teams generate permit plan sets intended to meet local requirements, manage multiple projects, set role-based permissions and connect a CRM. Solargraf also offers proposal, design and permitting services for teams that want to outsource the work.

Solargraf reports more than 3 million proposals, more than 1 million permits and more than 1,000 customers, with support in 16 languages. These are vendor figures. Pricing is published as annual bundles sized by project count and number of users, and every plan includes the same core features. The site states that its shading and production estimates are verified by leading institutions for bankability, which buyers should check against their lenders' requirements.

Potential strengths

  • Every plan includes design, proposals, permitting, financing and CRM
  • Interface in 16 languages

Trade-offs

  • Annual billing only on the published plans
  • API access is a $4,000 yearly add-on below Enterprise
Sources and status

Arka360

smbarka360.com ↗
Consider forResidential and commercial solar installers and EPCs that want 3D design, shade reports, lead management and sales proposals in one platform, as Arka360's pricing and about pages describe
Pricing notesArka360 lists Basic at $199 a month with 1 user and Premium at $358 a month with 2 users, with Enterprise quoted by sales. The same page also shows separate regional plans, including Indian rupee plans from ₹7,500 a month plus 18% GST (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluatePremium adds AI-assisted modelling, battery backup sizing and CAD export

Arka360 is a solar software company led by founder and chief executive Surya Potharaju. It describes a single platform on which solar EPCs design systems, manage leads and generate proposals, which it says can be done in 20 minutes or less. The company reports more than 700,000 projects, more than 900,000 design workflows and more than 4,000 installers across 27 countries, including the United States, Australia, the United Kingdom, India and several African and European markets. These are vendor figures.

The design tools cover 3D visualisation, shading reports, generation reports, PV layout CAD export and, on higher plans, single-line diagram export, micro-inverter and optimiser design, manual stringing and 3D model export to SketchUp and PVsyst. The US plans add AI-assisted modelling and battery storage and backup sizing on Premium. Lead management, task management and site survey tools sit in the CRM module, and an engineering service portal lets installers order services from the same account.

The pricing page shows several plan sets for different regions. The US-facing tiers are Basic at $199 a month with one user and Premium at $358 a month with two users, while Indian plans are priced in rupees plus GST with residential project allowances. Enterprise adds API integration, advanced user management and custom development.

Potential strengths

  • Published monthly prices for small teams
  • Engineering service portal for ordering plan sets and site surveys

Trade-offs

  • The pricing page mixes several regional plan sets, which makes comparison harder
  • API integration and advanced user management are Enterprise only
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Monthly, with annual options on some regional plans
  • Source review: checked Oct 13, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Consider forResidential and small commercial installers, notably in Australia, that want quick panel layouts, financial projections and web or PDF proposals paid for per project, as Pylon's pricing page describes
Pricing notesPylon lists Standard at $4.00 per project and Pro at $10.00 per project, with Enterprise quoted. Standard is limited to 30 kW DC, while Pro and Enterprise allow 99 kW and above. A Solar CRM add-on starts at $49 per user a month, and the payment gateway charges 2.5% per transaction including GST. The page does not name the currency; Pylon is based in Sydney (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateSite information checks against the Australian AS/NZS 5033:2021 standard

Pylon is a solar software company based in Sydney, Australia. It sells design and proposal software on a pay-as-you-go basis, charging per project rather than per seat. Its design features reference Australian requirements, and the installer quotes on its pricing page come from Australian businesses.

The Standard plan covers solar system design, high-resolution imagery where available, easy panel placement with unlimited modifications, real-time customer load data, roof plan and drone imagery upload, financial projections and instant web and PDF proposals. Pro adds custom load profiles, battery storage design and commercial-sized projects. Each project allows up to five designs, and both plans include inverter string advice, component location markings and PV site information aligned with AS/NZS 5033:2021.

Add-ons extend Pylon toward running the installer's business. The Solar CRM adds pipelines for solar, heat-pump and service sales, email sync, SMS, web forms, automatic lead processing and AI assistance. A payment gateway accepts card payments from customers. Enterprise adds single sign-on, API access including a solar production API, custom CRM integration and dedicated support.

Potential strengths

  • Per-project pricing suits low or uneven project volumes
  • CRM, payments and heat-pump sales pipelines available as add-ons

Trade-offs

  • Pricing page does not state the currency
  • High-resolution imagery is available only in select countries
Sources and status

Scanifly

specialistscanifly.com ↗
Consider forResidential and commercial installers that capture site data by drone and want 3D models, shading analysis, digital survey checklists and permit-ready plan sets, as Scanifly's site and help centre describe
Pricing notesScanifly publishes no subscription price on its site. Its help centre lists design services in credits, for example residential site modelling at 15 credits, a residential plan set at 70 credits and commercial site modelling at 100 credits, with commercial plan sets quoted. The dollar value of a credit is not published (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateDrone-captured measurements and shade data feed both sales designs and final plan sets

Scanifly says its team includes people who had worked for solar contractors and set out to avoid roof climbs, tape measurements and designs drawn from low-resolution remote imagery. The company is fully remote and builds software for both the sales and operations stages of an installation.

The workflow starts with a drone flight, which Scanifly says takes about five minutes and cuts field time by 90%. The flight produces photorealistic 3D models from which designers set roof layouts, fire setbacks, module type and orientation, and run shading analysis and production modelling. Digital checklists capture structural, electrical and property data during the same visit, which the vendor says reduces roof climbs and missed information.

For sales, Simple Design lets reps produce early estimates using LIDAR, Nearmap imagery and approved shading, with integrations into CRM and proposal tools. For operations, Scanifly turns 3D models into permit-ready plan sets, exports to CAD or directly to racking partners, and offers in-house design services. The company states that a project can go from site survey to a stamped plan set in 48 hours. Buyers should ask for a written quote covering the subscription and the dollar cost of service credits.

Potential strengths

  • One model serves sales estimate, final design and permit plan set
  • Exports to CAD and to racking partners

Trade-offs

  • No published subscription pricing
  • Full value depends on running drone flights with a licensed pilot
Sources and status

PVsyst

specialistpvsyst.com ↗
Consider forPV engineers, consultants and developers that need detailed hourly and sub-hourly simulation, component and weather databases and profitability analysis for PV systems, as PVsyst's product and shop pages describe
Pricing notesPVsyst lists PVsyst 8 Professional at CHF 700 a year per licence, with updates included and discounts of 5% for 2 to 4 licences, 15% for 5 to 9 and 20% for 10 or more. Education licences cost CHF 420 a year, student and classroom licences CHF 25, and the PVsystCLI command-line tool CHF 3,000 a year (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluatePVsystCLI runs simulations in batch from scripts or on servers

PVsyst is developed by PVsyst SA in Satigny, near Geneva, Switzerland. Its core product, PVsyst 8, is desktop software for the design, simulation and detailed analysis of photovoltaic systems, and a PVsyst 8 licence also grants access to PVsyst 7. Support is offered by email, forums, FAQs, PDF tutorials and video tutorials in English and French, and the company sells consulting for teams that want personalised training.

PVsyst is not a sales tool. It is used to model a system in detail with component and weather databases, run hourly and sub-hourly simulations, break down losses and calculate project profitability. Several products in this comparison position themselves against it: HelioScope states production estimates within 1% of PVsyst, while Arka360, HelioScope Enterprise and RatedPower export models or yield data to PVsyst.

Two other products sit beside PVsyst 8. PVsystCLI is a command-line interface for automating simulations of projects created in PVsyst 8 and for converting meteorological files, installed on servers for batch processing. PVsystBasic is a simplified tool for sizing direct solar pumping systems at off-grid sites. Licences are annual, with discounts for grouped orders and reduced prices for education, research and students.

Potential strengths

  • Low annual licence cost for a single engineer
  • Other tools in this comparison, including HelioScope and Arka360, export to or benchmark against it

Trade-offs

  • Installed engineering software rather than a cloud sales tool
  • No customer proposal or CRM functions
Sources and status

RatedPower

enterpriseratedpower.com ↗
Consider forUtility-scale solar developers, independent power producers and EPCs that need feasibility studies, plant layout, storage hybridisation, interconnection design and energy yield in one cloud tool, as RatedPower's product and pricing pages describe
Pricing notesRatedPower publishes no figures. Its pricing page lists Basic, Advanced and Enterprise plans, each with unlimited users, projects and designs, and leads to a demo request. Power Analyst and 3D energy yield packages are add-ons (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateEnterprise plan includes site prospecting with Enverus market datasets outside the US and Canada

RatedPower was founded in Madrid in 2017 by Andrea Barber, Miguel Ángel Torrero and Juan Romero. Enverus, an Austin-based energy data and software company, acquired it in September 2022. At the time of the deal RatedPower said its software had helped develop more than 43 GW of projects in over 160 countries.

The product, called pvDesign at the time of the acquisition, automates the layout, engineering and feasibility analysis of utility-scale solar plants. Users run site analysis, test electrical and equipment configurations, produce a bill of materials with CAPEX and LCOE, and get capacity and energy yield estimates while they design. Storage can be added as AC- or DC-coupled batteries, or designed as a standalone plant. Interconnection tools size the facility and produce single-line diagram and gen-tie reports, and a financial module tests project profitability.

Basic covers layout, modelling, energy yield estimates, storage and interconnection, with 3D energy yield packages sold as an add-on. Advanced adds detailed PV engineering with layout editing, live technical training and a support repository. Enterprise adds site analysis and prospecting with Enverus datasets on power plants, substations and parcels for markets outside the US and Canada, team management, single sign-on and a designated principal consultant. Energy yield can be exported to PVsyst, and support is offered in seven languages.

Potential strengths

  • Unlimited users and projects on every plan
  • Covers standalone storage and hybrid PV plus BESS designs

Trade-offs

  • No published pricing
  • Built for utility-scale plants, not rooftop or residential projects
Sources and status

PVcase

enterprisepvcase.com ↗
Consider forUtility-scale developers, engineering firms and commercial rooftop designers that want site selection, terrain-aware PV layout and energy yield in one platform, as PVcase's product pages describe
Pricing notesPVcase publishes no price. Its site leads to a demo request (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateProspect module screens land for both solar sites and data centre siting

PVcase describes itself as an end-to-end solar development platform covering site selection, PV design and yield optimisation. The company says more than 1,800 customers in over 80 countries use it and that more than 4 TW of solar capacity is designed with it each year. Its demo page names AES, ib Vogt, RWE, Voltalia and Iberdrola among customers. These are vendor figures.

The platform has four main products. Prospect is a cloud tool for early-stage site selection and due diligence, analysing land around points of interconnection, and it is now also marketed for data centre siting. Ground Mount runs on AutoCAD and automates utility-scale layouts, adapting rows and structures to real terrain; the vendor says it can make construction-ready design up to 90% faster. Roof Mount automates layouts for complex commercial and industrial rooftops. Yield provides energy modelling connected to the design.

Buyers can use one product or the whole platform. PVcase is aimed at developers, engineering firms and EPCs rather than residential installers, and it has no homeowner proposal tools. Because Ground Mount is built on AutoCAD, teams should account for AutoCAD licences alongside PVcase when budgeting, and should ask for a quote that covers the modules they plan to use.

Potential strengths

  • Separate modules for prospecting, ground mount, roof mount and yield
  • Works inside AutoCAD, which many engineering teams already use

Trade-offs

  • No published pricing
  • Ground Mount requires an AutoCAD licence
Sources and status

How to choose a vendor

Match the tool to project size first

Residential sales tools such as Aurora Solar, OpenSolar, Solargraf, Arka360 and Pylon are built to produce a roof layout and a signed proposal in one visit. HelioScope caps design size by plan, from 1.25 MW DC on Basic to 30 MW DC on Enterprise. RatedPower and PVcase are aimed at utility-scale plants, where terrain, cabling, interconnection and bill of materials matter more than a homeowner proposal. PVsyst sits underneath many of these workflows as the detailed simulation and reporting tool.

Count projects and users, not just the list price

Pricing models differ sharply. Aurora Solar and HelioScope charge per user each month with a project allowance. Solargraf sells annual bundles of projects and users with per-project overage. Pylon charges per project. OpenSolar charges installers nothing and is funded by partners. PVsyst sells annual licences per seat. A team should model its yearly project count and number of designers before comparing figures.

Check what lenders and incentive programmes accept

Financing partners and state or utility incentive programmes often specify which shade or production reports they accept. Aurora Solar markets bankable shade reports on its Premium plan, HelioScope states production estimates within 1% of PVsyst, and Solargraf says its shading and production estimates are verified for bankability. Buyers should confirm with their own lenders and programmes which reports qualify before choosing a design tool.

Frequently asked questions

What is solar design software?

Solar design software lays out photovoltaic modules, inverters and batteries on a roof or site, models shading and estimates annual energy production. Residential tools add customer proposals with pricing, savings and financing. Commercial and utility-scale tools add terrain modelling, electrical design, interconnection and bill of materials. Many teams pair a sales-focused tool with a detailed simulation tool such as PVsyst.

How much does solar design software cost?

Prices checked in October 2026 vary widely. OpenSolar is free to installers. Pylon charges $4 or $10 per project. Aurora Solar and HelioScope charge $159 or $259 per user a month, or $1,620 and $2,640 a year. Arka360's US plans are $199 and $358 a month. Solargraf runs from $2,799 to $12,999 a year. PVsyst Professional costs CHF 700 a year. RatedPower, PVcase and Scanifly quote by request.

Is HelioScope part of Aurora Solar?

Yes. Aurora Solar acquired Folsom Labs, the developer of HelioScope, in August 2021. HelioScope is still sold as a separate product for commercial projects, with its own site and pricing, and is described as an Aurora company. Aurora Solar's main product focuses on residential design and sales, while HelioScope focuses on commercial rooftop, carport and ground-mount systems.

Who owns Solargraf and RatedPower?

Enphase Energy, the microinverter and battery maker, closed its acquisition of Sofdesk, the Montreal developer of Solargraf, in January 2021. Solargraf is still sold as a standalone subscription. Enverus, an energy data and software company based in Austin, Texas, acquired the Madrid-based RatedPower in September 2022. PVsyst, OpenSolar, Pylon, Arka360, Scanifly and PVcase operate under their own names.

Is there free solar design software?

OpenSolar is free for solar professionals. It is funded by partners such as manufacturers, lenders, distributors and permitting firms that pay to be on the platform. PVsyst offers student and classroom licences at CHF 25 a year with watermarked reports. Pylon has no monthly fee on its pay-as-you-go plans, though each project is charged.

Which tools are built for utility-scale solar plants?

RatedPower and PVcase focus on utility-scale design. RatedPower covers layout, storage, interconnection, energy yield and, on Enterprise, site prospecting. PVcase covers site selection, AutoCAD-based ground-mount layout and yield. HelioScope Enterprise supports designs up to 30 MW DC with single-axis trackers. PVsyst handles detailed yield simulation and is a common export target for RatedPower and HelioScope Enterprise.

Do solar design tools produce permit plan sets?

Several do. Solargraf generates permit packages as part of every plan. Scanifly turns drone-based 3D models into permit-ready plan sets and sells plan sets as a credit-based service. Aurora Solar offers plan sets and engineering stamps through Enterprise services. OpenSolar lists permitting in its product, and Arka360 offers an engineering service portal for ordering design work.

How was this comparison compiled?

StatWharf Editorial compared ten solar design products using each vendor's public product, pricing, help centre and documentation pages, checked on 13 October 2026. Ownership was taken from announcements by Aurora Solar, Enphase Energy and Enverus. No product was tested hands-on, and no vendor reviewed or confirmed its entry. Usage and accuracy figures are quoted as vendor claims. The order is not a ranking, and inclusion is not an endorsement.

Suggest a vendor or correction

Send factual corrections to editorial@statwharf.com. Corrections are free. For inclusion or placement enquiries, contact partnerships.

Contact partnerships

First published October 2026. Page update dates reflect editorial changes, not a fresh check of every vendor.