SStatWharf
Menu

Best AI Meeting Assistant Tools (2026): Top 10 Compared

Updated September 2026By StatWharf Editorial10 vendorsMethodology

AI meeting assistant tools record or listen to meetings, transcribe them, and turn the conversation into summaries, action items and searchable notes. The ten products below split three ways. Otter, Fireflies, Fathom, Read AI, tl;dv, MeetGeek and Notta are general notetakers that join calls as a bot or record from a desktop app or extension. Granola is a bot-free notepad that listens to computer audio and enhances the user's own notes. Avoma and Fellow add sales, scheduling, agenda or compliance workflows around the notetaker. All ten publish a price, and most discount annual billing.

Order is not a ranking. How entries are ordered.

On this page
  1. Comparison table
  2. Vendor details
  3. Otter.ai
  4. Fireflies.ai
  5. Fathom
  6. Read AI
  7. Granola
  8. tl;dv
  9. Avoma
  10. Fellow
  11. MeetGeek
  12. Notta
  13. How to choose
  14. Frequently asked questions
  15. Suggest a vendor

Compare at a glance

Select a vendor for details and sources. Scroll the table horizontally on smaller screens.

AI Meeting Assistant Tools: vendor fit and recorded pricing
VendorConsider forPricing notesStandout
Otter.aimid-marketIndividuals and teams wanting live transcription, meeting chat and a bot or bot-free recorderFree with 300 min/month; Pro $8.33/user/month annually or $16.99 monthly; Business $19.99 annually or $30 monthly; Enterprise quoted Checked Sep 2026Live transcription with AI Chat across meetings and an MCP server for AI assistants
Fireflies.aimid-marketTeams wanting unlimited transcription, conversation analytics and CRM or dialer integrationsFree; Pro $10/seat/month annually or $18 monthly; Business $19 annually or $29 monthly; Enterprise $39/seat/month, annual only Checked Sep 2026200+ AI Skills, AskFred search and an MCP server across recorded conversations
FathomsmbIndividuals and sales teams wanting a free unlimited notetaker with CRM sync on higher tiersFree; Premium $16/month annually or $20 monthly; Team $15/user annually or $19 monthly (2-user min); Business $25 or $34; Enterprise quoted Checked Sep 2026Unlimited recordings and transcription on the free plan, with bot-free capture in beta
Read AImid-marketKnowledge workers wanting meeting, email and chat summaries plus search in one assistantFree with 5 meetings/month; Pro $15/user/month annually or $19.75 monthly; Enterprise $22.50 or $29.75; Enterprise+ $29.75 or $39.75, 5+ licences Checked Sep 2026Summaries and search span meetings, email and messages, not meetings alone
GranolasmbProfessionals in back-to-back meetings who want private, bot-free AI-enhanced notesBasic free with limited history; Business $14/user/month; Enterprise $35/user/month; billing cadence not stated Checked Sep 2026Records device audio with no meeting bot and builds on the user's own notes
tl;dvsmbSales, customer success and product teams wanting multilingual notes and cross-meeting reportsFree; Pro €18/seat/month annually or €29 monthly; Business €29 annually or €39 monthly Checked Sep 2026AI Reports aggregate objections, feature requests and trends across many meetings
AvomaspecialistRevenue teams combining meeting notes, scheduling, lead routing and conversation intelligencePer recorder seat: Startup $19/month annually or $29 monthly; Organization $29 or $39; Enterprise $39 annually, 10-seat min; viewers free Checked Sep 2026Meeting assistant, scheduler, lead router and revenue intelligence sold as modules
Fellowmid-marketOrganisations, including regulated finance, wanting permissioned meeting notes with agendas and redactionFree with 5 lifetime AI notes; Team $7/user/month annually or $11 monthly; Business $15 or $23; Enterprise $25 annually, 10-user min Checked Sep 2026Permissioned recording library with transcript redaction and zero-day retention
MeetGeeksmbTeams wanting notes plus agent workflows that update CRMs and tasks after each meetingFree with 3 hrs/month; Pro $9.99/user/month annually or $15.99 monthly; Business $17 annually or $27 monthly; Enterprise custom Checked Sep 2026Event-driven Meeting Skills and voice agents act on meeting content
NottasmbIndividuals and teams transcribing meetings, interviews and lectures in many languagesFree with 120 min/month; Pro $8.17/month billed annually ($97.99/year); Business $16.67/seat/month billed annually ($199.99/year); Enterprise custom Checked Sep 2026Notta Brain turns recordings into slides and infographics as well as summaries

These comparisons draw on public product information, not hands-on testing of every tool. Source records identify available references and checks; missing evidence is marked. Buyer fit is an editorial assessment, not a measured performance score. How to use this research.

AI meeting assistant tools take notes so that meeting participants do not have to. They record or listen to a call, transcribe it, and produce a summary, action items and a searchable archive. The category has moved beyond transcripts: most products now answer questions across past meetings, push notes into CRMs and project tools, and expose meeting records to ChatGPT and Claude.

The ten products compared here differ mainly in how they capture meetings and what they do afterwards. Otter, Fireflies, Fathom, Read AI, tl;dv, MeetGeek and Notta are general notetakers, most offering both a meeting bot and bot-free capture. Granola never sends a bot. Avoma adds scheduling and revenue intelligence, and Fellow adds agendas and compliance controls for regulated industries.

Every entry was checked against the vendor’s own pages in September 2026. All ten publish a price, and most discount annual billing.

Vendor details and trade-offs

Otter.ai

mid-marketotter.ai ↗
Consider forIndividuals and teams in sales, education, media and recruiting that want live transcripts, summaries and a searchable meeting archive, captured by bot, desktop app or mobile, as Otter documents
Pricing notesBasic is free with 300 monthly transcription minutes. Pro costs $8.33 per user per month billed annually or $16.99 billed monthly. Business costs $19.99 per user per month billed annually or $30 billed monthly. Lower first-time subscriber offers are shown on the page. Enterprise is sold through a demo, and SSO and SCIM require a 100-user minimum (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateOtter AI Chat answers questions across meetings and connected apps, and an MCP server exposes meeting knowledge to ChatGPT and Claude

Otter.ai now describes its product as a conversational knowledge engine: every meeting is transcribed and becomes searchable material for later work. Capture is flexible. The Otter notetaker joins Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet calls automatically, a Mac and Windows desktop app records without a bot, and iOS and Android apps handle in-person conversations.

Transcription runs live with speaker identification, and summaries list decisions, action items and outlines after the call. Otter AI Chat searches within and across meetings, and on Enterprise across connected apps such as Gmail, Google Drive, Notion and Jira. Channels group meetings by team or project. The Otter MCP server, listed on every plan, lets ChatGPT, Claude and other assistants read meeting knowledge.

Otter also sells role-specific agents: a Sales Notetaker with CRM sync and live coaching, a Recruiting Agent for interviews and an SDR Agent that runs video demos on a website. Prices are per user, and annual billing is well below the monthly rate on both paid tiers.

Potential strengths

  • Free plan includes 300 transcription minutes a month and live transcription
  • Business adds unlimited meetings, meetings up to four hours and activity logs

Trade-offs

  • Pro caps meetings at 90 minutes and limits file imports
  • SSO and SCIM on Enterprise require at least 100 users
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per user per month, billed monthly or annually
  • Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Fireflies.ai

mid-marketfireflies.ai ↗
Consider forTeams that want every meeting, dialer call and uploaded file transcribed and searchable, with conversation analytics and CRM, project and ATS integrations, as Fireflies documents
Pricing notesFree plan at $0. Pro costs $10 per seat per month billed annually or $18 billed monthly. Business costs $19 per seat per month billed annually or $29 billed monthly. Enterprise costs $39 per seat per month, billed annually only. Volume discounts are offered above 50 members (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateTranscribes calls from dialers such as Aircall and RingCentral as well as video meetings, with talk-time and sentiment analytics

Fireflies.ai is a notetaker built around one searchable record of team conversations. The Fireflies bot can be invited to a meeting or set to join calendar meetings automatically, and a Chrome extension records Google Meet without the bot. Desktop and mobile apps capture other calls and in-person conversations, dialer integrations bring in phone calls, and audio and video files can be uploaded.

After each meeting Fireflies produces notes, action items and custom summaries. AskFred answers questions about meetings, Live Assist offers suggestions during calls, and more than 200 AI Skills extract details such as follow-up emails or candidate scores. Conversation intelligence covers speaker talk time, sentiment, question detection and topic trackers.

Integrations reach CRMs, project tools, applicant tracking systems and Slack, and an MCP server connects Fireflies to Claude and ChatGPT. Fireflies documents SOC 2 Type II, GDPR and HIPAA compliance. Its FAQ states that English is primary, with Spanish, French, Portuguese, Italian and 100+ other languages in beta.

Potential strengths

  • Enterprise seat price is published rather than quoted
  • Covers meetings, dialer calls, mobile recordings and file uploads in one archive

Trade-offs

  • Video recording, API access and analytics start at the Business plan
  • English is the primary language; many others are listed as beta
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per seat per month, billed monthly or annually; Enterprise annual only
  • Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Fathom

smbfathom.ai ↗
Consider forIndividuals who want unlimited free recordings and summaries, and sales and customer teams that want CRM field sync, deal views and coaching metrics, as Fathom documents
Pricing notesFree plan with unlimited recordings and transcription. Premium, for individuals, costs $16 per month billed annually or $20 monthly. Team costs $15 per user per month billed annually or $19 monthly, and Business $25 or $34, both with a two-user minimum. Enterprise is priced by sales. Annual billing saves 25 per cent or more (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateFree tier with no recording or transcription cap, plus Deal View and AI scorecards for sales teams

Fathom is an AI notetaker that states it is used at more than 300,000 companies. Its free plan records and transcribes without a usage cap and delivers summaries straight after the call, which sets it apart from free tiers that meter minutes or meetings. Capture works through a meeting bot or, in beta on Mac, bot-free.

Ask Fathom is a chat interface for a single call or, in beta, across all calls. Paid plans add advanced summaries from more than 15 templates, including BANT and Sandler, AI action items, follow-up emails, keyword and AI search alerts, and playlists of highlights shared across a team.

Business targets revenue teams with CRM field sync that writes meeting insights into specific CRM fields, a Deal View collecting every call on a deal, coaching metrics and AI scorecards. Integrations cover Slack, Salesforce, HubSpot, Notion, Asana, Zapier and Make, with a public API, MCP and connectors for Claude and ChatGPT. Enterprise adds SSO, Okta SCIM, custom retention and a signed HIPAA BAA.

Potential strengths

  • Free plan has unlimited recordings, transcription and instant summaries
  • Every paid plan carries a 90-day guarantee

Trade-offs

  • CRM field sync and coaching metrics are limited to Business and above
  • Bot-free capture is a beta feature for Mac
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per user per month, billed monthly or annually; two-user minimum on Team and Business
  • Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Read AI

mid-marketread.ai ↗
Consider forIndividuals and teams that want meeting recaps, email and message summaries, and search across all three, with a meeting coach and apps on every major platform, as Read AI documents
Pricing notesFree plan with 5 meeting transcripts a month. Pro costs $15 per user per month billed annually or $19.75 monthly. Enterprise costs $22.50 billed annually or $29.75 monthly. Enterprise+ costs $29.75 billed annually or $39.75 monthly and requires at least five licences. Annual billing saves 25 per cent (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateAsk Read finds answers across meetings, email and messages, with citations to where a point was discussed

Read AI presents itself as an AI copilot for meetings, email and messages rather than a meeting tool alone. The meeting assistant joins Google Meet, Zoom and Teams calls, records and delivers a recap with topics, action items and highlights. Inbox insights summarise Gmail and Outlook conversations, and a Chrome extension works inside Google Meet and Gmail. Apps are available for Windows, macOS, Android and iOS, including capture of in-person meetings.

Ask Read searches across meetings, emails and messages and returns answers with citations to where a topic came up. A personalised meeting coach and meeting metrics are included from the free tier. Read AI has also introduced Ada, described as a digital twin that handles tasks and manages the user's workflow.

Read AI is available as a Claude connector, a ChatGPT app and an MCP server. Premium integrations with Notion, Salesforce, HubSpot, Jira, Confluence and Zapier begin at Pro. Enterprise+ adds HIPAA compliance, SAML, SCIM, domain capture and custom retention, and maximum meeting length rises to eight hours.

Potential strengths

  • Free plan includes unlimited enterprise search and a meeting coach
  • Premium features are included at no cost with qualifying Zoom One subscriptions

Trade-offs

  • Audio and video playback start at the Enterprise tier
  • SAML, SCIM and HIPAA are limited to Enterprise+ with a five-licence minimum
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per user per month, billed monthly or annually; Enterprise+ requires 5+ licences
  • Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Granola

smbgranola.ai ↗
Consider forProfessionals and teams with many external meetings who want notes captured from device audio without a bot joining the call, and pre-meeting briefs, as Granola documents
Pricing notesBasic is free with limited meeting history. Business costs $14 per user per month with unlimited notes and history, integrations, MCP and API access. Enterprise costs $35 per user per month and adds SSO, admin controls and org-wide opt-out of model training. The page does not state monthly or annual billing (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateNo bot joins the call; notes are private by default and shared only when the user chooses

Granola calls itself an AI notepad for back-to-back meetings. It captures computer audio instead of sending a bot into the call, so it works with Zoom, Google Meet, Teams and any other meeting application. Apps are available for macOS, Windows, iOS and Android.

The workflow has three stages. Before an external meeting, Granola syncs with the calendar and prepares a Brief covering attendees, the previous discussion and open issues. During the meeting the user writes as much or as little as they like, and Granola uses the meeting context to produce notes that build on those jottings. Afterwards, notes, action items and follow-ups are ready straight away.

Notes are private by default. Shared folders, customised templates and AI chat within and across meetings are on the free plan. Business adds unlimited history, advanced models and integrations with Attio, Notion, Slack, HubSpot, Affinity and Zapier, plus MCP and API access. Enterprise adds SSO, sharing and API controls, auto-deletion and an org-wide notice that Granola is in use.

Potential strengths

  • Works with Zoom, Google Meet, Teams and any other meeting app through computer audio
  • Enterprise price is published rather than quoted

Trade-offs

  • Free plan shows only limited meeting history
  • SSO and admin controls over sharing and API access are Enterprise-only
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per user per month; billing cadence not stated
  • Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

tl;dv

smbtldv.io ↗
Consider forSales, customer success, marketing and product teams that want customised AI notes, automatic CRM updates and reports that aggregate insights across many calls, as tl;dv documents
Pricing notesFree plan at €0 per seat. Pro costs €29 per seat billed monthly or €18 per seat per month billed annually (€216 a year). Business costs €39 per seat billed monthly or €29 per seat per month billed annually (€348 a year). Prices are listed in euros (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateScheduled AI Reports summarise themes across a team's calls and arrive by email

tl;dv, from the Berlin-registered tldx Solutions GmbH, is an AI notetaker for Google Meet, Zoom and Microsoft Teams that states it has more than two million users. Recording works with a bot or, as the homepage notes, without one. Summaries arrive after every meeting and can follow custom formats, such as MEDDIC notes in Japanese or topic summaries in Spanish.

After the call, tl;dv logs notes and outcomes to the CRM and drafts follow-up emails and next-step tasks for review. The feature that distinguishes it is aggregated insight. Users can ask questions across many meetings, such as the most common objections on this week's sales calls or all product feedback from a month of customer success calls, and AI Reports deliver these summaries to an inbox on a schedule.

Integrations include HubSpot, Slack and Notion. tl;dv documents GDPR and SOC 2 compliance. Pricing is published per seat in euros, with annual billing cutting the monthly rate by roughly a third on Pro.

Potential strengths

  • Free-forever plan and published per-seat prices
  • Summary templates such as MEDDIC can be produced in other languages

Trade-offs

  • Prices are published in euros, so non-euro buyers face exchange-rate variation
  • Aggregated reporting is aimed at teams more than individual users
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per seat per month, billed monthly or annually; prices in EUR
  • Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Avoma

specialistavoma.com ↗
Consider forSales and customer-facing teams that want a meeting assistant with CRM field updates plus scheduling, lead routing and call scoring from one vendor, as Avoma documents
Pricing notesPriced per recorder seat; viewers are free. Startup costs $19 per month billed annually or $29 monthly, up to 25 paid seats. Organization costs $29 billed annually or $39 monthly, up to 100 seats. Enterprise costs $39 per month billed annually with a 10-seat minimum. Conversation Intelligence and Revenue Intelligence add-ons cost $29 a seat billed annually or $35 monthly (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateOnly meeting recorders pay; viewers and collaborators are free, and a 1:1 scheduler is included

Avoma sells an AI platform for note-taking, scheduling, coaching and forecasting, built as modules that can be bought one at a time. The AI Meeting Assistant is the base: automatic recording, live transcription in more than 75 languages, AI notes from custom templates, Smart Chapters, AI follow-up email drafts and automatic CRM field updates for frameworks such as MEDDIC and SPICED. Ask Avoma answers questions about a meeting.

Every meeting assistant plan includes unlimited 1:1 scheduling. Organization adds group and round-robin scheduling, translated transcripts, playlists, API access and webhooks. A separate Scheduler and Lead Router module handles inbound form qualification and routing.

The Conversation Intelligence add-on provides AI call scoring, coaching recommendations and scorecards for SPICED, Sandler and MEDDICC, and Revenue Intelligence adds deal risk alerts and win-loss analysis. Pricing counts only the users who record meetings. Enterprise adds SSO, data retention policies, HIPAA compliance and signed DPAs.

Potential strengths

  • Unlimited transcription, notes and 1:1 scheduling from the entry tier
  • 14-day trial of the Organization plan with all add-ons enabled

Trade-offs

  • Call scoring and coaching are paid add-ons on top of the seat price
  • Global Ask Avoma and SSO are reserved for Enterprise
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per recorder seat per month, billed monthly or annually; Enterprise annual only
  • Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Fellow

mid-marketfellow.ai ↗
Consider forOrganisations that need central control of who records and who can see recordings, including private equity, hedge funds and banks subject to recordkeeping rules, with collaborative agendas, as Fellow documents
Pricing notesFree at $0 with 5 lifetime AI notes and recordings per user. Team costs $7 per user per month billed annually or $11 monthly, with 10 AI notes per user a month. Business costs $15 per user per month billed annually or $23 monthly, with unlimited notes. Enterprise costs $25 per user per month billed annually, starts at 10 users and is sold through sales (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateAdmins govern who records and when, and redactions remove content from the transcript, summary and audio

Fellow positions itself as a secure AI meeting assistant, built around privacy and access controls. It records, transcribes and summarises meetings on Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, Webex and Slack huddles, and in person, with a botless option. Recordings sit in a central library where sharing controls decide who can see each one. Fellow states its AI is never trained on customer data.

AskFellow is the meeting agent: it answers questions across meetings the user can access, and generates documents, follow-up emails, memos and CRM updates. Business adds sales recap templates, keyword tracking and Salesforce and HubSpot integration, and Enterprise adds AI-suggested CRM field updates.

Fellow targets regulated finance with SOC 2 Type II and GDPR certification, MNPI-aware workflows, zero-day retention that deletes recordings and transcripts while keeping summaries, redaction, and an exportable log of deletions. Fellow began as a meeting productivity tool, so collaborative agendas, pre-meeting briefs, meeting cost calculators and no-meeting days remain part of the product.

Potential strengths

  • Low published entry price for paid AI notes
  • Covers agendas, meeting policies and notes as well as recording

Trade-offs

  • Team plan caps AI notes at 10 per user a month
  • Free plan's AI notes are a lifetime allowance, not monthly
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per user per month, billed monthly or annually
  • Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

MeetGeek

smbmeetgeek.ai ↗
Consider forTeams that want a notetaker for online, hybrid and in-person meetings plus automated workflows that update CRMs, create tasks and send follow-ups, with EU or US data hosting, as MeetGeek documents
Pricing notesBasic is free with 3 hours of transcription a month. Pro costs $9.99 per user per month billed annually or $15.99 monthly, with 20 hours of transcription and extra hours at $0.50. Business costs $17 per user per month billed annually or $27 monthly, with unlimited transcription. Enterprise is custom priced (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateMeeting Skills trigger actions on meeting end, keywords or patterns, and voice agents can take calls on the user's behalf

MeetGeek describes itself as a meeting intelligence platform covering notetaking, transcription, recording, chat, workflows, team sharing, analytics and APIs. It captures meetings three ways: a meeting agent that joins Zoom, Google Meet and Teams, a desktop app that records without a bot, and a mobile app for in-person conversations. Transcription covers more than 100 languages with automatic detection, and MeetGeek states it does not train on customer data.

The product goes beyond summaries with Meeting Skills, event-driven agents that act through connected tools. They can be triggered by a meeting ending, a keyword, a pattern across calls or a schedule, and examples include syncing notes to Notion, raising churn alerts in Slack and creating Jira tickets from bugs mentioned in stand-ups.

Voice agents can act as copilots during a call or take calls independently, for example qualifying leads or screening candidates. Pro adds meeting templates and Zapier, Make and n8n integrations. Enterprise adds SSO, SCIM and custom retention.

Potential strengths

  • API and MCP access on every plan, including Free
  • EU and US data hosting, with on-premise storage options on Enterprise

Trade-offs

  • Pro caps transcription at 20 hours a month
  • HD video recording and team spaces start at Business
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per user per month, billed monthly or annually
  • Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Notta

smbnotta.ai ↗
Consider forIndividuals and teams that transcribe online meetings, in-person conversations and uploaded files in many languages and want deliverables such as slides from them, as Notta documents
Pricing notesFree at $0 with 120 transcription minutes a month and 3 minutes per conversation. Pro costs $8.17 per month billed annually ($97.99 a year) with 1,800 minutes a month. Business costs $16.67 per seat per month billed annually ($199.99 a year) with unlimited transcription. Enterprise is custom. Annual prices are shown at 40 per cent off, and translation add-ons are extra (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateConverts meeting content into PowerPoint files and infographics, with transcription and translation in 58 languages

Notta is an AI notetaker that transcribes meetings, interviews and lectures and turns them into searchable text and visuals. It records Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet and Webex meetings, captures in-person conversations on mobile and transcribes uploaded files. Notta supports 58 languages for transcription and translation and states it has more than 10 million users.

Notta Brain, formerly AI Chat, searches across recordings and generates deliverables. Beyond summaries and follow-up emails, it produces ready-to-share PowerPoint files and infographics, such as a buying-criteria graphic from a sales call. Notta suggests uses for executives, sales teams, consultants and researchers comparing themes across many interviews.

Business adds team workspaces, CRM and Zapier integration, usage reports and advanced security controls. Enterprise adds SAML SSO, audit logs and auto-deletion. Notta hosts data on AWS and reports SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 certification. Published prices are annual; translation add-ons and Notta Brain credits are extra.

Potential strengths

  • Low annual entry price for 1,800 transcription minutes a month
  • SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 certified

Trade-offs

  • Free plan limits each conversation to 3 minutes
  • Translation and Notta Brain credits are sold as separate add-ons
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per month billed annually, or monthly at a higher rate
  • Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

How to choose a vendor

Decide between a meeting bot and bot-free capture

A bot joins the call as a visible participant, which makes recording obvious to other attendees and works when the user is absent. Bot-free capture records from the user's own device through a desktop app, browser extension or mobile app. Granola is bot-free by design; Otter, Fathom, tl;dv, MeetGeek and Fellow document both modes. Check which mode suits client-facing calls and the organisation's consent policy.

Compare the limit that actually binds

Plans cap different things: transcription minutes (Otter, Notta, MeetGeek), meetings per month (Read AI's free plan), lifetime or monthly AI notes (Fellow), or nothing on transcription but features such as CRM sync (Fathom, Fireflies). Estimate weekly meeting hours per user, then check the tier where that volume is covered before comparing headline prices.

Check sales, admin and compliance needs early

CRM field updates, call scoring and deal views sit on Business or add-on tiers at Fathom, Avoma, Fellow and Fireflies. SSO, SCIM, custom retention and HIPAA usually sit on Enterprise tiers, and several vendors set minimum seat counts there. A team in a regulated industry should filter on retention, redaction and consent controls before comparing summary quality.

Frequently asked questions

What is an AI meeting assistant tool?

It is software that records or listens to meetings, transcribes the conversation and produces summaries, action items and searchable notes. Most tools join Zoom, Google Meet and Microsoft Teams calls as a bot, and many can also record from a desktop app, browser extension or phone. Newer features include chat across past meetings, automatic CRM updates and connections to AI assistants through MCP.

How much do AI meeting assistant tools cost?

All ten vendors publish a price and nine offer a free plan. On annual billing, entry paid plans include Fellow Team at $7 per user a month, Notta Pro at $8.17, Otter Pro at $8.33, MeetGeek Pro at $9.99, Fireflies Pro at $10, Granola Business at $14, Read AI Pro and Fathom Team at $15, tl;dv Pro at €18 and Avoma Startup at $19 per recorder seat. Monthly billing costs more at most vendors.

Which tools record without a bot joining the meeting?

Granola records computer audio and never sends a bot. Otter offers a desktop app for bot-free recording, Fireflies a Chrome extension for Google Meet, MeetGeek a desktop app, Fellow a botless option and Fathom a bot-free mode in beta on Mac. tl;dv also states no bot is required. Bot-free capture still requires attendee consent under most recording laws.

Which free plans are the most generous?

The limits differ. Fathom's free plan has unlimited recordings and transcription. Otter Basic includes 300 transcription minutes a month, MeetGeek 3 hours, Notta 120 minutes with a 3-minute cap per conversation, and Read AI 5 meetings. Fellow's free plan gives 5 AI notes per user for the lifetime of the account, and Granola's free plan limits meeting history.

Which tools suit sales teams?

Fathom Business, Avoma, Fellow Business, Fireflies Business and Otter's Sales Notetaker document CRM sync with Salesforce or HubSpot. Fathom and Avoma add call scorecards and coaching metrics, and Avoma adds scheduling and lead routing. tl;dv aggregates objections across sales calls into reports.

What security and compliance features should buyers check?

The main points are SSO and SCIM, custom data retention, recording permissions, redaction, audit logs and whether the vendor trains models on customer data. HIPAA is documented by Otter as an add-on, Fireflies, Fathom Enterprise, Read AI Enterprise+, Avoma Enterprise and Fellow. Several vendors set seat minimums on these tiers, such as Otter's 100 users for SSO.

Can these tools connect to ChatGPT or Claude?

Yes, for most. Otter, Fireflies, Fathom, Granola and MeetGeek document MCP servers or MCP access, and Read AI is available as a Claude connector, ChatGPT app and MCP server. This lets an assistant search and summarise meeting records directly. Check which plan includes MCP or API access, since Granola and Fireflies reserve some access for paid tiers.

How was this list put together?

Each vendor was checked against its own product and pricing pages in September 2026, and prices are quoted as published with the check date. The list covers general notetakers, a bot-free notepad and assistants with sales or compliance workflows. Position on the page is not a ranking, and no vendor has confirmed its entry.

Suggest a vendor or correction

Send factual corrections to editorial@statwharf.com. Corrections are free. For inclusion or placement enquiries, contact partnerships.

Contact partnerships

First published September 2026. Page update dates reflect editorial changes, not a fresh check of every vendor.