SStatWharf
Menu

Best Vulnerability Management Software (2026): Top 10 Compared

Updated September 2026By StatWharf Editorial10 vendorsMethodology

Vulnerability management software finds weaknesses in servers, endpoints, network devices and cloud workloads, ranks them by risk and tracks them until they are fixed. This page covers infrastructure and risk-based vulnerability management; scanners built only for web applications are compared on the DAST tools page. The ten products below fall into four groups. Tenable, Qualys and Rapid7 are long-standing scanner-led platforms that now sell vulnerability management inside broader exposure management suites. Microsoft Defender Vulnerability Management and CrowdStrike Falcon Exposure Management reuse an endpoint agent the buyer may already run. ManageEngine Vulnerability Manager Plus, Greenbone OPENVAS and Action1 serve smaller IT teams, on-premises buyers and patch-led remediation. Nucleus Security and Brinqa do not scan; they aggregate findings from many scanners and drive remediation. Six of the ten publish a figure.

Order is not a ranking. How entries are ordered.

On this page
  1. Comparison table
  2. Vendor details
  3. Tenable One Vulnerability Management
  4. Qualys VMDR
  5. Rapid7 InsightVM
  6. Microsoft Defender Vulnerability Management
  7. CrowdStrike Falcon Exposure Management
  8. ManageEngine Vulnerability Manager Plus
  9. Greenbone OPENVAS
  10. Action1
  11. Nucleus Security
  12. Brinqa
  13. How to choose
  14. Frequently asked questions
  15. Suggest a vendor

Compare at a glance

Select a vendor for details and sources. Scroll the table horizontally on smaller screens.

Vulnerability Management Software: vendor fit and recorded pricing
VendorConsider forPricing notesStandout
Tenable One Vulnerability ManagemententerpriseSecurity teams wanting a widely used scanner with cloud-based risk prioritisation$3,700 for a one-year subscription covering 100 assets; online purchase up to 250 assets, larger estates quoted Checked Sep 2026Vulnerability Priority Rating and Tenable Research content built on the Nessus scanner
Qualys VMDRenterpriseOrganisations wanting detection, prioritisation and patching from one agent and one cloud consoleVMDR TruRisk from $2,195, FixIT from $2,995 and ProtectIT from $4,645; no billing unit stated, VMDR priced per asset Checked Sep 2026TruRisk scoring and built-in patch deployment for OS and 100+ third-party applications
Rapid7 InsightVMenterpriseTeams wanting on-premises or cloud scanning linked to attack surface and cloud riskNo published price; InsightVM is sold within Exposure Command after a demo, with a trial available Checked Sep 2026Same InsightVM scanner now combined with Surface Command attack surface data in Exposure Command
Microsoft Defender Vulnerability ManagemententerpriseMicrosoft 365 E5 or Defender for Endpoint Plan 2 customers adding risk-based vulnerability managementAdd-on $2.00 per user per month; requires Defender for Endpoint Plan 2 or a suite that includes it Checked Sep 2026Uses the Defender endpoint sensor and agentless scans, with no separate scanner to deploy
CrowdStrike Falcon Exposure ManagemententerpriseCrowdStrike Falcon customers wanting exposure management from the existing endpoint agentNo published price; not listed on the CrowdStrike pricing page, sold after a demo Checked Sep 2026Exposure Prioritization Agent ranks findings using adversary intelligence and attack path analysis
ManageEngine Vulnerability Manager Plusmid-marketIT teams in small and mid-sized organisations that want scanning and patching in one toolProfessional from $695/year for 100 computers on-premises; Enterprise from $1,195/year; cloud and perpetual options listed Checked Sep 2026Native patching for Windows, Mac, Linux and 1,100+ third-party apps with no extra licence
Greenbone OPENVASopen-sourceOrganisations wanting open-source scanning or on-premises appliances with EU data handlingOPENVAS BASIC €2,524 per year; OPENVAS SCAN appliances quoted; free community edition and 14-day trial Checked Sep 2026Open-source scanner with 200,000+ vulnerability tests and fully on-premises AI remediation plans
Action1smbSmall IT teams wanting vulnerability detection tied to automated patching across remote endpointsFree for the first 200 endpoints with no feature limits; above 200 endpoints quoted Checked Sep 2026Cloud-native patching of OS and third-party apps without a VPN, from the same console as detection
Nucleus SecurityspecialistLarge enterprises and US federal agencies consolidating findings from many scannersNo published price; the /pricing path returns a 404 and sales run through a demo request Checked Sep 2026200+ connectors and FedRAMP Moderate authorisation with POA&M automation
BrinqaspecialistComplex enterprises needing one exposure data model across many security and IT toolsNo published price; the /pricing path redirects to a demo request Checked Sep 2026Cyber Risk Graph maps findings to assets, owners and business services from 260+ sources

These comparisons draw on public product information, not hands-on testing of every tool. Source records identify available references and checks; missing evidence is marked. Buyer fit is an editorial assessment, not a measured performance score. How to use this research.

Vulnerability management software keeps a running list of the security weaknesses in an organisation’s servers, endpoints, network devices and cloud workloads, ranks them by how likely they are to be exploited, and tracks each one until it is patched or mitigated. It differs from web application scanning, which tests running applications rather than the infrastructure underneath them.

The ten products compared here take different routes to that work. Tenable, Qualys and Rapid7 are scanner-led platforms now sold within wider exposure management suites. Microsoft and CrowdStrike reuse an endpoint agent many buyers already run. ManageEngine, Greenbone and Action1 serve smaller IT teams, on-premises buyers and patch-led remediation. Nucleus Security and Brinqa consolidate findings from many scanners rather than scanning themselves.

Every entry was checked against the vendor’s own pages in September 2026. Tenable, Qualys, Microsoft, ManageEngine, Greenbone and Action1 publish figures; the other four are quoted.

Vendor details and trade-offs

Tenable One Vulnerability Management

enterprisetenable.com ↗
Consider forSecurity teams that want continuous asset discovery, Nessus-based scanning and risk-based prioritisation in a cloud console, with a path to wider exposure management, as Tenable documents for Tenable One Vulnerability Management
Pricing notes$3,700 for a one-year subscription covering 100 assets on Tenable's buy page, with two-year ($6,825) and three-year ($9,975) terms shown. Online purchase covers up to 250 assets; larger estates contact sales. Nessus Professional is $4,790 for a one-year licence (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateVulnerability Priority Rating combines threat intelligence and generative AI to rank findings by likely impact and weaponisation

Tenable built its business on the Nessus scanner, and Tenable One Vulnerability Management is the cloud-hosted product that extends Nessus into continuous, organisation-wide vulnerability management. Tenable now positions it as the entry point to Tenable One, its wider exposure management platform, which adds attack surface management, cloud and identity exposure.

The product page describes three stages. Discovery covers continuous, always-on assessment of known and unknown assets, including cloud and remote workforce devices. Prioritisation uses the Vulnerability Priority Rating, which Tenable describes as combining generative AI, threat intelligence and context-aware scoring to show impact and weaponisation, together with critical asset identification. Remediation covers bi-directional ticketing, benchmarking of progress and, more recently, autonomous patching with guardrails and SLAs. Hexa AI is presented as an agentic layer across Tenable One.

Tenable is one of the few enterprise vendors in this category that sells online. The buy page lists a one-year subscription for 100 assets at $3,700, with multi-year discounts. Nessus Professional, the standalone scanner, is $4,790 a year for consultants and small teams that do not need the cloud platform.

Potential strengths

  • Publishes an online price for up to 250 assets
  • Bi-directional ticketing and guardrailed autonomous patching are documented on the product page

Trade-offs

  • Prices above 250 assets and for the full Tenable One platform are quoted
  • Web application scanning is a separate product with its own price
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per year by asset count; multi-year terms available
  • Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Qualys VMDR

enterprisequalys.com ↗
Consider forSecurity and IT teams that want asset inventory, vulnerability and misconfiguration detection, TruRisk prioritisation and patch deployment in one cloud platform, as Qualys documents for VMDR
Pricing notesQualys lists small and mid-sized business packages starting at $2,195 for VMDR TruRisk, $2,995 for VMDR TruRisk FixIT with patch management and $4,645 for VMDR TruRisk ProtectIT with endpoint protection. The page does not state the billing unit; Qualys describes VMDR as priced per asset. Larger deployments are quoted, and a 7-day trial is offered (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateTruRisk scores vulnerabilities, assets and asset groups, and VMDR maps findings directly to superseding patches

Qualys sells VMDR (Vulnerability Management, Detection and Response) on its cloud-based Enterprise TruRisk Platform. The platform combines a lightweight Cloud Agent, virtual scanners and passive network analysis, and VMDR presents all of them in one application with no-code workflows built in Qualys Flow.

The workflow is documented end to end. VMDR discovers and inventories hardware and software, including unmanaged devices appearing on the network, and classifies assets by more than 100 attributes. It then detects vulnerabilities and CIS benchmark misconfigurations and prioritises them with TruRisk, which weighs exploit maturity, active exploitation, asset criticality and location using more than 25 threat intelligence feeds. Finally, it correlates each vulnerability with the latest superseding patch and can deploy it through Patch Management. Custom Assessment and Remediation lets teams write their own checks in Python or PowerShell. ServiceNow and Jira integrations assign tickets automatically.

For smaller organisations, Qualys publishes three packages with starting prices: VMDR TruRisk, FixIT with patching and ProtectIT with antivirus and EDR. The page does not state what asset count or term each starting price covers.

Potential strengths

  • Detection, prioritisation and patching run from a single cloud agent
  • Includes CIS misconfiguration checks and an approved PCI ASV scan in the entry package

Trade-offs

  • Package prices do not state the asset count or term they cover
  • Endpoint protection and patching sit in higher packages rather than the base product
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per asset; package billing unit not stated on the page
  • Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Rapid7 InsightVM

enterpriserapid7.com ↗
Consider forOrganisations that want an established network and agent scanner, including on-premises deployment, combined with external attack surface and cloud context, as Rapid7 documents for InsightVM within Exposure Command
Pricing notesNo published price. Rapid7's InsightVM pricing path now describes InsightVM as part of Exposure Command Essentials and Ultimate, available through a guided demo, with a standalone InsightVM trial still offered (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateCombines the inside view of the InsightVM scanner with Surface Command's external view in one risk model

InsightVM has been Rapid7's vulnerability management product for many years, and Rapid7 has since repackaged it. The InsightVM product and pricing pages now state that InsightVM is part of Exposure Command, Rapid7's exposure management platform, and describe it as the vulnerability management technology that powers that platform.

Two packages are named. Exposure Command Essentials combines InsightVM with attack surface management from Surface Command, so internal scan findings are prioritised alongside what is exposed to the internet. Exposure Command Ultimate adds cloud and application security findings into the same risk model and console. Rapid7 frames the change as keeping the same scanner while adding context about which weaknesses are reachable by an attacker.

For buyers, the practical point is how to evaluate it. Rapid7 offers Exposure Command through a guided demo, but still offers an InsightVM trial for teams that specifically need hands-on vulnerability management, an on-premises deployment or a smaller evaluation environment. Existing InsightVM customers are directed to their account team about contract and timeline changes. Rapid7's web application scanner, InsightAppSec, is a separate product covered on the DAST tools page. No price is published.

Potential strengths

  • Standalone trial still available, including an on-premises deployment path
  • Exposure Command Ultimate adds cloud and application findings to the same console

Trade-offs

  • No price is published
  • Packaging is moving to Exposure Command, so existing customers need to confirm contract changes with Rapid7
Sources and status

Microsoft Defender Vulnerability Management

enterprisemicrosoft.com ↗
Consider forOrganisations already running Microsoft Defender for Endpoint Plan 2 or Microsoft 365 E5 that want continuous vulnerability assessment, prioritisation and remediation tracking without another agent, as Microsoft documents
Pricing notesThe Defender Vulnerability Management Add-on is $2.00 per user per month. It requires Microsoft Defender for Endpoint P2 or a plan that includes it, such as Microsoft 365 E5. A one-month free trial converts into a 12-month paid subscription. A standalone offer is also referenced without a listed price (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateCan block known vulnerable application versions on endpoints or warn users while a fix is pending

Microsoft Defender Vulnerability Management is built into the Microsoft Defender portal and uses the same sensor as Defender for Endpoint, supplemented by agentless and authenticated scans. Microsoft's documentation notes that the vulnerability management section of the portal now sits under Exposure management.

The product focuses on continuous assessment rather than periodic scans. It keeps inventories of software, digital certificates, hardware and firmware, and browser extensions, and assesses devices even when they are off the corporate network. Security baseline assessments measure devices against CIS and STIG benchmarks. Prioritisation uses Microsoft threat intelligence, breach likelihood predictions and business context, and the results feed an exposure score and Microsoft Secure Score for Devices. Authenticated scanning covers unmanaged Windows devices, and network share assessment flags risky internal shares.

For remediation, security teams can send recommendations to IT through built-in workflows, track progress by device, and block known vulnerable application versions or show users a custom warning. The published price is an add-on of $2.00 per user per month for customers who already hold Defender for Endpoint Plan 2 or a suite such as Microsoft 365 E5.

Potential strengths

  • Low published per-user price for existing Defender for Endpoint Plan 2 customers
  • Covers Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS and network devices from the Defender portal

Trade-offs

  • The published add-on price requires a Defender for Endpoint Plan 2 or E5 licence
  • Coverage and depth outside a Microsoft-managed estate should be confirmed during the trial
Sources and status

CrowdStrike Falcon Exposure Management

enterprisecrowdstrike.com ↗
Consider forOrganisations that want vulnerability, misconfiguration and attack path findings across endpoints, cloud, network, OT and external assets prioritised by adversary intelligence, as CrowdStrike documents for Falcon Exposure Management
Pricing notesNo published price. Falcon Exposure Management does not appear in the priced bundles on CrowdStrike's pricing page and is sold after a demo request (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateLinks exposure findings directly to Falcon remediation and response workflows

CrowdStrike sells Falcon Exposure Management as part of its Falcon platform. It covers external assets, endpoints, cloud, network and OT/IoT devices. CrowdStrike states that it is now available for any third-party endpoint environment, not only for Falcon endpoint customers.

The product is built around exploitability. It continuously looks for vulnerabilities, misconfigurations and attack paths, and an Exposure Prioritization Agent explains which findings attackers are most likely to exploit and why, using exploit analysis, CrowdStrike adversary intelligence, attack path analysis and asset context. External attack surface monitoring runs around the clock. Findings are connected to Falcon remediation and response workflows, which is the main reason Falcon endpoint customers consider it.

CrowdStrike also describes AI discovery that finds large language models, AI agents, IDE extensions and MCP servers on endpoints and in the cloud, though this requires the Falcon for IT add-on. The vendor cites figures such as a 98 per cent reduction in critical vulnerabilities from a customer case; these are its own claims. No price is published.

Potential strengths

  • Reuses the Falcon agent, so Falcon customers avoid a second endpoint agent
  • Adds 24/7 external attack surface monitoring and OT/IoT visibility

Trade-offs

  • No price is published
  • AI discovery of models, agents and MCP servers requires the separate Falcon for IT add-on
Sources and status

ManageEngine Vulnerability Manager Plus

mid-marketmanageengine.com ↗
Consider forIT teams that want vulnerability scanning, prioritisation, CIS compliance audits and patch deployment across Windows, macOS and Linux from one console, on-premises or in the cloud, as ManageEngine documents for Vulnerability Manager Plus
Pricing notesProfessional starts at $695 a year on-premises for 100 computers with one technician ($2,085 perpetual), or $90 a month or $895 a year in the cloud. Enterprise starts at $1,195 a year on-premises for 100 computers ($3,585 perpetual), or $155 a month or $1,545 a year in the cloud. Servers and extra technicians are priced separately (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateAudits systems against 130+ CIS benchmarks, UK Cyber Essentials and NIST alongside vulnerability scans

Vulnerability Manager Plus is ManageEngine's multi-OS vulnerability management and compliance product. It is aimed at IT teams that handle both security findings and the fixes.

The product scans local, remote and roaming endpoints, including machines in a DMZ. Prioritisation weighs exploitability, severity, age, affected system count and fix availability, and adds AI and ML-based risk scores and active attack trends. Compliance audits cover more than 130 CIS benchmarks, UK Cyber Essentials and NIST, with customisable policies. Other checks include web server misconfigurations, weak security settings such as passwords and privileges, and unsafe or end-of-life software that can be removed.

The distinguishing feature is built-in patching. ManageEngine states that patches for Windows, Mac, Linux and more than 1,100 third-party applications can be downloaded, tested and deployed without extra licensing. The price list is fully published: Professional from $695 a year and Enterprise from $1,195 a year for 100 computers on-premises, with perpetual and cloud options.

Potential strengths

  • Full price list published for on-premises, perpetual and cloud licences
  • Patching is included rather than sold as a separate module

Trade-offs

  • Servers and network devices are licensed separately from computers
  • Cloud licences are subscription only; the perpetual option applies to on-premises deployments
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per year, perpetual or per month by computer band; servers and technicians extra
  • Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Greenbone OPENVAS

open-sourcegreenbone.net ↗
Consider forOrganisations that prefer an open-source or on-premises scanner, including those that avoid cloud-based tools, from a free community edition up to hardware or virtual appliances, as Greenbone documents for its OPENVAS products
Pricing notesOPENVAS BASIC, the entry-level product for small businesses, is €2,524 per year with a 14-day free trial. OPENVAS SCAN hardware and virtual appliances are quoted. The OPENVAS community edition and community feed are free (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateOPENVAS AI turns scan results into prioritised action plans with an LLM that runs on-premises

Greenbone develops OpenVAS, one of the most widely used open-source vulnerability scanners, and sells commercial products under the OPENVAS brand. The company states more than 15 years of partnership with the federal BSI security agency and emphasises GDPR compliance and on-premises operation.

The range runs from free to enterprise. The community edition with the free community feed suits technically confident teams and testing. OPENVAS BASIC is an entry-level commercial product for small businesses and individual users, priced at €2,524 a year with automated scans and reports. OPENVAS SCAN, sold as hardware or virtual appliances, is the full vulnerability management platform for organisations of any size; Greenbone's comparison table sets the two editions against each other on enterprise-grade software coverage, sensors, API access, remediation tickets and support. A central platform consolidates results from several scanners with CSAF advisories and SBOM data.

Greenbone states more than 200,000 vulnerability tests. Its newer OPENVAS AI product turns scan results into prioritised, CVE-linked action plans using a language model that runs entirely on-premises, so no data leaves the network.

Potential strengths

  • Free community edition and a published annual price for the entry product
  • On-premises deployment keeps scan data inside the network, with GDPR and EU hosting emphasised

Trade-offs

  • Enterprise appliances are quoted
  • The BASIC and SCAN editions differ in features such as sensors, API access and remediation tickets, so scope needs checking against the comparison table
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per year for OPENVAS BASIC; appliances quoted
  • Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Action1

smbaction1.com ↗
Consider forIT teams managing Windows, macOS and Linux endpoints, often remote, that want vulnerability detection, patching and compensating controls in one cloud console, as Action1 documents
Pricing notesFree for the first 200 endpoints, described as not a trial, with no feature limits and no expiry, and community support on Discord. More than 200 endpoints requires a quote (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateOffers a free initial vulnerability assessment for unlimited endpoints

Action1 is an autonomous endpoint management platform whose vulnerability management module is built around remediation. Action1 describes vulnerability assessment and remediation as one cloud-native process: scan endpoints, prioritise CVEs, patch the prioritised vulnerabilities automatically, or apply compensating controls when a patch is not possible.

Coverage is endpoint-based. Action1 detects operating system vulnerabilities on Windows workstations and servers, macOS and Linux, and vulnerabilities in installed third-party applications, whether devices sit on the corporate network or at remote locations without a VPN. Patches are tested by Action1 before release and can be rolled out in phases. Linux support currently covers Debian and Ubuntu, with Red Hat and SUSE listed as coming. Action1 states SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001:2022 certification.

Its pricing sets it apart. The first 200 endpoints are free with no feature limits and no expiry, with community support on Discord, and Action1 also offers a free initial vulnerability assessment for unlimited endpoints. Organisations with more than 200 endpoints request a quote. It suits IT teams whose main problem is closing known vulnerabilities on managed devices.

Potential strengths

  • Fully featured free tier up to 200 endpoints
  • Applies compensating controls when a patch is not possible

Trade-offs

  • Linux support covers Debian and Ubuntu, with Red Hat and SUSE listed as coming
  • Documented scope is Windows, macOS and Linux endpoints rather than network devices or cloud workloads
Sources and status

Nucleus Security

specialistnucleussec.com ↗
Consider forLarge organisations and public-sector agencies that need findings from many scanners and security tools unified, deduplicated, prioritised and assigned to owners, as Nucleus documents for its vulnerability and exposure management platform
Pricing notesNo published price. Nucleus Security sells after a demo request, and nucleussec.com/pricing/ returns a 404 (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateNucleus Discover flags exposure to zero-day vulnerabilities before scanner signatures exist

Nucleus Security does not run its own scanner. It is a vulnerability and exposure management platform that sits above the scanners and security tools an enterprise already owns, and it describes itself as built for large enterprises whose tools generate millions of findings a day.

The platform ingests, correlates and normalises data through more than 200 built-in connectors and a universal FlexConnect adapter, covering infrastructure scanners as well as SAST, DAST, SCA, containers, CSPM, EDR, OT and penetration testing results. Asset management deduplicates and matches assets across tools and applies business context such as internet exposure, criticality and data sensitivity. Risk scoring can be customised, and threat intelligence from Nucleus Insights, CISA KEV and EPSS highlights actively exploited issues. Ownership assignment, bi-directional ticketing and SLA tracking drive remediation.

Nucleus has added an AI engine, Nucleus Helix, whose agents build workflows and track threats, and Nucleus Discover, which surfaces exposure to zero-day vulnerabilities before scanner signatures are available. FedRAMP Moderate authorisation and POA&M automation make it relevant to US federal buyers. No price is published.

Potential strengths

  • Ingests SAST, DAST, SCA, container, CSPM, EDR, OT and pen test findings alongside infrastructure scans
  • FedRAMP Moderate authorised and SOC 2 compliant

Trade-offs

  • No price is published
  • Does not scan; buyers still need one or more scanners underneath
Sources and status

Brinqa

specialistbrinqa.com ↗
Consider forEnterprise vulnerability and exposure management teams that need findings from many security, IT, cloud and application tools deduplicated, attributed to owners and orchestrated into remediation, as Brinqa documents for its platform
Pricing notesNo published price. brinqa.com/pricing/ redirects to a demo request form (checked Sep 2026)
Feature to evaluateAI Deduplication and Attribution agents merge duplicate findings and fill missing ownership data

Brinqa is an exposure management platform that, like Nucleus, aggregates rather than scans. Its pitch is that disconnected data is the main problem in large vulnerability programmes, and that more complete and better attributed data produces better prioritisation than adding more scanners.

The platform is described in three layers. The data layer ingests exposure data from more than 260 security, IT, cloud, identity, application and business systems, normalises it into one model and retains it in BrinqaDL, a cloud-native data store for long-term visibility. A Cyber Risk Graph holds the relationships between assets, vulnerabilities, identities, environments and business context. The AI layer uses an AI Deduplication Agent to merge findings that several tools report for the same underlying issue, and an AI Attribution Agent to fill in asset ownership and business context. The orchestration layer maps risk to owners, teams and business services and drives remediation.

Brinqa has acquired PlexTrac, a penetration testing reporting and validation platform, to connect offensive testing results with exposure data. It also describes a bring-your-own-AI approach for customers building their own agents. No price is published.

Potential strengths

  • Ingests data from more than 260 security, IT, cloud, identity, application and business systems
  • Retains historical exposure data in BrinqaDL for long-term reporting

Trade-offs

  • No price is published
  • Does not scan; value depends on the quality of the tools feeding it
Sources and status

How to choose a vendor

Decide whether the product must scan or only aggregate

Tenable, Qualys, Rapid7, Microsoft, CrowdStrike, ManageEngine, Greenbone and Action1 detect vulnerabilities themselves through network scanners, agents or both. Nucleus Security and Brinqa ingest findings from scanners and other security tools, deduplicate them and route fixes to owners. A company running one scanner usually needs a scanning platform first; a large company running several scanners, cloud tools and penetration tests may need an aggregation layer on top.

Check how the price is metered before comparing figures

Published figures use different units. Tenable prices a one-year subscription by asset count, Microsoft prices its add-on per user per month on top of Defender for Endpoint Plan 2, ManageEngine prices by computer and server bands with a technician included, Greenbone prices OPENVAS BASIC per year, and Action1 is free up to 200 endpoints. Convert every quote to the same asset count and term, and confirm whether servers, network devices and cloud workloads count separately.

Ask what happens after a finding is prioritised

Detection is only half of the work. Qualys, ManageEngine, Action1 and Microsoft document built-in patching or remediation actions, while Tenable, Nucleus and Brinqa lean on ticketing integrations and ownership rules to move work to IT teams. Buyers whose security and IT staff are the same people often gain most from built-in patching; larger organisations with separate teams usually need strong ticketing, SLA tracking and reporting by owner.

Frequently asked questions

What is vulnerability management software?

It is software that finds security weaknesses in an organisation's servers, endpoints, network devices and cloud workloads, ranks them by risk and tracks them until they are fixed. Most products combine asset discovery, scanning by network scanners or agents, risk-based prioritisation, remediation workflows and reporting. Some aggregation platforms, such as Nucleus Security and Brinqa, do not scan and instead consolidate findings from other tools.

How much does vulnerability management software cost?

Six of the ten vendors publish a figure. Tenable lists $3,700 for a one-year subscription for 100 assets. Qualys lists packages from $2,195. Microsoft charges $2.00 per user per month as an add-on to Defender for Endpoint Plan 2. ManageEngine starts at $695 a year for 100 computers. Greenbone OPENVAS BASIC is €2,524 a year. Action1 is free for 200 endpoints. Rapid7, CrowdStrike, Nucleus and Brinqa are quoted.

What is the difference between vulnerability management and DAST tools?

Vulnerability management software covers infrastructure: operating systems, installed software, network devices and cloud workloads. DAST tools test running web applications and APIs for flaws such as injection and broken authentication. Several vendors sell both as separate products, for example Tenable Web App Scanning and Rapid7 InsightAppSec, which are compared on the StatWharf DAST tools page.

What is risk-based vulnerability management?

It ranks vulnerabilities by the likelihood and impact of exploitation rather than by CVSS severity alone. Products combine threat intelligence, evidence of active exploitation, EPSS scores and asset criticality. Examples on this page include Tenable's Vulnerability Priority Rating, Qualys TruRisk, Microsoft's breach likelihood predictions, CrowdStrike's Exposure Prioritization Agent and Nucleus Security's use of CISA KEV and EPSS.

Which tools include patching as well as detection?

Qualys offers Patch Management in its VMDR TruRisk FixIT package. ManageEngine Vulnerability Manager Plus includes patching for Windows, Mac, Linux and more than 1,100 third-party applications. Action1 combines detection with automated OS and third-party patching. Tenable documents guardrailed autonomous patching, and Microsoft can block vulnerable applications and route fixes to IT. Nucleus and Brinqa route fixes through ticketing systems.

Which options suit a small business or small IT team?

Action1 is free for up to 200 endpoints. ManageEngine publishes prices from $695 a year for 100 computers. Greenbone OPENVAS BASIC is priced at €2,524 a year for small businesses, and its community edition is free. Qualys publishes VMDR TruRisk packages for small and mid-sized businesses, and Tenable sells online for up to 250 assets.

Is there free or open-source vulnerability management software?

Greenbone's OPENVAS community edition and community feed are free and open source. Action1 is free for the first 200 endpoints with no feature limits. Qualys offers a 7-day trial, Microsoft a one-month trial of its add-on, Rapid7 an InsightVM trial, and Greenbone offers a 14-day trial of OPENVAS BASIC.

How was this list put together?

Each vendor was checked against its own product, documentation and pricing pages in September 2026, and prices are quoted as published with the check date. The page covers infrastructure and risk-based vulnerability management; web application scanners are covered separately. Position on the page is not a ranking, and no vendor has confirmed its entry.

Suggest a vendor or correction

Send factual corrections to editorial@statwharf.com. Corrections are free. For inclusion or placement enquiries, contact partnerships.

Contact partnerships

First published September 2026. Page update dates reflect editorial changes, not a fresh check of every vendor.