SStatWharf
Menu

Best Network Monitoring Software (2026): Top 10 Compared

Updated October 2026By StatWharf Editorial10 vendorsMethodology

Network monitoring software polls routers, switches, firewalls, wireless access points and servers, usually over SNMP, and collects flow records such as NetFlow, sFlow and IPFIX to show who is using bandwidth. The ten products below fall into three groups. PRTG Network Monitor, ManageEngine OpManager and Progress WhatsUp Gold are installed on the customer's own server and licensed by sensors, devices or points. Auvik, LogicMonitor, SolarWinds Observability SaaS, Datadog Network Device Monitoring and Domotz are cloud services that use a lightweight collector on site and bill per device, per unit or per site. Zabbix and Checkmk start from free, open-source editions and sell support subscriptions, commercial editions or hosted versions.

Order is not a ranking. How entries are ordered.

On this page
  1. Comparison table
  2. Vendor details
  3. PRTG Network Monitor
  4. Auvik
  5. LogicMonitor
  6. SolarWinds Observability
  7. ManageEngine OpManager
  8. Datadog Network Device Monitoring
  9. Zabbix
  10. Checkmk
  11. Domotz
  12. Progress WhatsUp Gold
  13. How to choose
  14. Frequently asked questions
  15. Suggest a vendor

Compare at a glance

Select a vendor for details and sources. Scroll the table horizontally on smaller screens.

Network Monitoring Software: vendor fit and recorded pricing
VendorConsider forPricing notesStandout
PRTG Network Monitormid-marketSmall and mid-sized IT teams wanting self-hosted monitoring with published sensor-based tiersPRTG 500 $200 to PRTG 10000 $1,642 per month paid annually; free edition up to 100 sensors; Enterprise Monitor quoted Checked Oct 2026Sensor licensing covering SNMP, NetFlow, bandwidth and syslog in one install
Auvikmid-marketInternal IT teams and MSPs wanting cloud network mapping and monitoring set up quicklyQuote-based; pricing requested through a form asking for MSP or internal IT use and employee count Checked Oct 2026Live topology maps, config backup and traffic analysis across 700+ device vendors
LogicMonitorenterpriseMid-sized and large IT teams monitoring hybrid networks, servers and cloud in one SaaS platformEssentials $16, Advanced $27, Signature $53 per Hybrid Unit per month list starting price; 15-day trial; volume and terms vary Checked Oct 2026One Hybrid Unit licenses a device, a cloud instance or five access points
SolarWinds ObservabilityenterpriseIT teams wanting SolarWinds network and infrastructure monitoring as SaaS rather than self-hostedNetwork and Infrastructure Observability from $15.75 per node per month; USD, multi-year contracts billed annually; self-hosted NPM quoted Checked Oct 2026Network devices and hosts priced together, with ICMP nodes free
ManageEngine OpManagermid-marketIT teams wanting self-hosted network and server monitoring with device-based licensingStandard from $245 and Professional from $345 for 25 devices; Enterprise from $4,595 for 250 devices; billing term not stated on the page Checked Oct 2026Device-based license with unlimited interfaces, disk volumes and sensors
Datadog Network Device MonitoringenterpriseTeams already on Datadog wanting device, flow and cloud network data beside application data$7 per network device per month billed annually, $8.50 month-to-month, $10.20 on demand; access points $4; NetFlow from $0.60 per million records Checked Oct 2026SNMP, traps, NetFlow and syslog correlated with host and application telemetry
Zabbixopen-sourceIT teams with Linux skills wanting free open-source monitoring with optional paid supportSoftware free; support Silver $325 and Gold from $825 per month billed annually; Zabbix Cloud from $50 per month Checked Oct 2026No license fee, unlimited hosts and SNMP v1, v2c and v3 with trap collection
Checkmkopen-sourceIT teams wanting self-hosted or SaaS monitoring priced per host, with a free entry editionCommunity free; Pro from EUR 190 and Ultimate from EUR 275 per month billed annually for 100 hosts; Cloud from EUR 240 per month Checked Oct 20262,000+ pre-built integrations with SNMP monitoring for a wide range of switch vendors
DomotzsmbMSPs and multi-site IT teams wanting a flat price per site with every feature includedGBP 35 per collector per month, shown in pounds; MSP volume rates down to GBP 17.50 on 12-month terms; 14-day trial Checked Oct 2026Per-site pricing with unlimited devices, users and features
Progress WhatsUp Goldmid-marketWindows-based IT teams wanting self-hosted device monitoring with perpetual or subscription licensesQuote-based; Premium is device-based and Total Plus point-based; perpetual and subscription licenses offered Checked Oct 2026Up to 20,000 devices per instance, with traffic analysis and config management add-ons

These comparisons draw on public product information, not hands-on testing of every tool. Source records identify available references and checks; missing evidence is marked. Buyer fit is an editorial assessment, not a measured performance score. How to use this research.

Network monitoring software tells an IT team whether the network is up and how well it is performing. It discovers routers, switches, firewalls, wireless access points and servers, polls them for interface traffic, errors, CPU and temperature, collects flow records to show which hosts and applications use bandwidth, and raises alerts when something fails or crosses a threshold. Application performance monitoring and security tools are not covered except where the same vendor sells network monitoring.

The comparison below covers ten products. Features and pricing come from each vendor’s own product and pricing pages, checked on 8 October 2026. Eight entries publish at least one price: PRTG Network Monitor, LogicMonitor, SolarWinds Observability, ManageEngine OpManager, Datadog, Zabbix, Checkmk and Domotz. Auvik and Progress WhatsUp Gold provide prices only through a quote, so their profiles record the licensing terms their pages state. Checkmk prices are in euros and Domotz prices were shown in pounds sterling on the page checked.

Vendor details and trade-offs

PRTG Network Monitor

mid-marketpaessler.com ↗
Consider forSmall and mid-sized IT teams that want an on-premises monitor for devices, bandwidth and servers with a published price per sensor tier, as Paessler's PRTG pricing page describes
Pricing notesSubscriptions paid annually: PRTG 500 $200, PRTG 1000 $358, PRTG 2500 $742, PRTG 5000 $1,300 and PRTG 10000 $1,642 per month. The tiers allow up to 500, 1,000, 2,500, 5,000 and 10,000 sensors, which Paessler equates to about 50, 100, 250, 500 and 1,000 devices. A Freeware Edition covers up to 100 sensors for about 10 devices, and the 30-day trial is unrestricted. Environments over 1,000 devices are pointed to PRTG Enterprise Monitor, which is quoted (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateA single sensor-based license covers SNMP, bandwidth, NetFlow, Wi-Fi, server and syslog monitoring, with maps, dashboards and distributed monitoring included

PRTG Network Monitor is the core product of Paessler GmbH, based in Nuremberg, Germany. It runs on the customer's own server and monitors through sensors, where each sensor is one measured aspect of a device, such as an interface's traffic, a CPU load or a ping response.

Paessler's feature list covers network, bandwidth and SNMP monitoring, NetFlow and traffic analysis, Wi-Fi and server monitoring, a syslog server, network maps and topology, dashboards, alerts and notifications, customizable reporting and distributed monitoring through remote probes. The pricing FAQ states that subscriptions include the latest version, security updates and email support through a ticket system.

Paessler also sells PRTG Enterprise Monitor for very large environments, PRTG Hosted Monitor as a cloud-hosted option and an MSP edition. Only one license key is accepted per server, so a team that outgrows its tier upgrades rather than stacking licenses.

Potential strengths

  • Published annual prices for five license sizes
  • Free edition for very small networks and an unrestricted 30-day trial

Trade-offs

  • Licenses cannot be combined; a larger network needs an upgrade to the next tier
  • Subscriptions include email ticket support only in the list price
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Monthly price paid annually; Enterprise Monitor quoted
  • Source review: checked Oct 8, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Auvik

mid-marketauvik.com ↗
Consider forInternal IT teams and managed service providers that want cloud-based network discovery, live topology maps and configuration backup across many sites, as Auvik's product and pricing pages describe
Pricing notesQuote-based. The pricing page publishes no figures and asks for name, business email, company, employee count and whether the buyer is an MSP or manages an internal company network. A free trial is offered, and a live sandbox is available without installing anything (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateMaps update in real time as the network changes, with automated inventory, configuration history and 64+ pre-configured alerts that work from day one

Auvik Networks sells a cloud-based network management platform used by internal IT departments and managed service providers. The company states that more than 80,000 IT professionals and MSPs use it.

A collector on the local network discovers devices and builds an automated inventory and a live topology map that redraws as connections change. Each device on the map can be opened for traffic and performance details. Auvik lists support for more than 700 device vendors, so switches, firewalls, routers and wireless controllers can be monitored without custom templates. Configuration backups are captured as changes happen, with version comparison for recovery. Traffic analysis shows who is on the network and where traffic goes, and an AI troubleshooting agent suggests likely root causes.

APIs cover alert history, inventory and multi-tenant sites, and integrations include ServiceNow, PagerDuty, Slack and Microsoft Teams.

Potential strengths

  • Cloud deployment the vendor says gives visibility in under an hour for most networks
  • Integrations with PSA and documentation tools such as ConnectWise, Autotask and IT Glue

Trade-offs

  • No published price
  • Server and endpoint monitoring are separate products from network management
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Quoted; billing cadence not stated on the page checked
  • Source review: checked Oct 8, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

LogicMonitor

enterpriselogicmonitor.com ↗
Consider forMid-sized and enterprise IT operations teams that monitor networks alongside servers, cloud and logs in one SaaS platform, as LogicMonitor's network monitoring and pricing pages describe
Pricing notesPlatform packages: Essentials $16, Advanced $27 and Signature with Edwin AI $53 per Hybrid Unit. The page states these are starting monthly list prices in USD based on standard minimum quantities and terms, and actual pricing varies with volume and contract. One Hybrid Unit equals one collector-monitored on-prem device, one cloud IaaS resource, seven cloud PaaS resources or five wireless access points. Essentials is limited to 999 Hybrid Units. Any plan can be tried free for 15 days (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluatePolling every 30 seconds over SNMP, WMI or APIs, with dynamic thresholds and the Edwin AI engine correlating logs, metrics and topology

LogicMonitor sells LM Envision, a SaaS observability platform for hybrid infrastructure, with Edwin AI for event intelligence and Catchpoint capabilities for internet and user-experience monitoring.

For networks, scheduled IP range scans auto-discover routers, switches and firewalls and apply monitoring templates. Live Layer 3 topology maps support root cause analysis. Metrics are collected as often as every 30 seconds over SNMP, WMI or APIs, covering CPU, bandwidth and latency, and dynamic thresholds adapt to normal behaviour to cut false alerts. Flow-level data shows traffic by source, destination, application and protocol, alongside internet path performance.

Hybrid Units let a buyer shift capacity between on-premises devices, cloud resources and access points without changing the license model. Add-ons include LM Logs, LM Uptime, automated diagnostics and remediation, SaaS monitoring and a ServiceNow CMDB integration.

Potential strengths

  • Published per-unit starting prices for three packages
  • 3,000+ integrations and a collector-based, API-friendly design

Trade-offs

  • List prices assume standard minimum quantities and terms
  • Several capabilities, such as uptime monitoring and automated remediation, are add-ons
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Starting monthly list price per Hybrid Unit; minimum quantities and terms apply
  • Source review: checked Oct 8, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

SolarWinds Observability

enterprisesolarwinds.com ↗
Consider forIT teams that want network device and host monitoring from SolarWinds as a SaaS module priced per node, with options to add logs, databases and applications, as SolarWinds' observability pricing page describes
Pricing notesNetwork and Infrastructure Observability starts at $15.75 per node per month. Network devices and hosts count 1:1, wireless access points 10:1, standalone VMs and cloud services 3:1 and containers 10:1, and ICMP nodes are included free. The page states prices are USD per month on multi-year contracts billed annually. Other modules start at $27.50 per service for applications, $5.00 per GB for logs and $70.00 per database instance. The self-hosted Network Performance Monitor is sold through quotes (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateLicensing counts the maximum active devices from the previous day, and access points, containers and cloud services count at reduced ratios

SolarWinds is known for Network Performance Monitor, NetFlow Traffic Analyzer and Network Configuration Manager, which remain available as self-hosted products under SolarWinds Observability Self-Hosted. This entry covers SolarWinds Observability SaaS, the hosted platform with published module prices.

The Network and Infrastructure Observability module monitors network devices and hosts together. A node is counted by the highest number of active network devices or hosts in the previous calendar day, where active means the service received telemetry in that 24-hour window. Routers, hubs and other network devices count one to one, and wireless access points count at ten to one. Hosts with the SolarWinds agent or monitored through the Network Collector count one to one.

Other modules cover application observability with tracing and profiling, log management in 1 GB increments, database monitoring, synthetic checks and real user monitoring. Free trials are offered for each module.

Potential strengths

  • Published per-node starting price with clear counting rules
  • Network, host, log, database and application modules on one platform

Trade-offs

  • Published prices assume multi-year contracts billed annually
  • Self-hosted Network Performance Monitor pricing is not published
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: USD per month, multi-year contracts billed annually
  • Source review: checked Oct 8, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

ManageEngine OpManager

mid-marketmanageengine.com ↗
Consider forIT teams in small to large organisations that want on-premises network and server monitoring licensed per device, with an enterprise edition for distributed sites, as ManageEngine's OpManager pages describe
Pricing notesStandard Edition starts at $245 for 25 devices, Professional Edition at $345 for 25 devices and Enterprise Edition at $4,595 for 250 devices. The store offers annual subscription and perpetual licenses, with figures loading in an interactive calculator, and directs networks over 1,000 devices to the Enterprise edition. Optional onsite assistance is about $1,995 per extra day and online training about $495 per extra day (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateLicensing counts devices only, so interfaces, disk volumes and sensors on each device are monitored without extra charge

OpManager is ManageEngine's network monitoring product. The vendor states it is used by more than 9,000 businesses.

Standard covers network discovery, availability monitoring, network device, physical server, interface, process and service monitoring, alarms and notifications, business views and custom dashboards. Professional adds advanced discovery, agent-based monitoring, virtual server and hardware monitoring, troubleshooting tools, consolidated reports and privilege-based user management. Enterprise adds distributed monitoring through a probe and central design, high availability and alerts from multiple sites.

Features include SNMP, WMI and CLI based health monitoring, VMware, Hyper-V and Citrix hypervisor monitoring, syslog rules, more than 100 reports, workflow automation and adaptive thresholds. ManageEngine sells NetFlow Analyzer, Network Configuration Manager and OpUtils separately, and bundles them in OpManager Nexus.

Potential strengths

  • Published starting prices for three editions
  • Probe and central architecture in Enterprise for monitoring remote sites

Trade-offs

  • Flow analysis and configuration management are separate products or the OpManager Nexus bundle
  • The billing term behind the starting figures is not stated
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Annual subscription or perpetual license; term for the starting figures not stated
  • Source review: checked Oct 8, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Datadog Network Device Monitoring

enterprisedatadoghq.com ↗
Consider forEngineering and IT teams that already use Datadog for infrastructure or applications and want network devices, flows and cloud traffic in the same platform, as Datadog's network monitoring and pricing pages describe
Pricing notesNetwork Device Monitoring is $7 per network device per month billed annually, $8.50 billed month-to-month and $10.20 on demand. Wireless access points are $4, $4.80 and $5.76 per device. NetFlow Monitoring is $0.60 per million aggregated records with 15-day retention, rising to $0.85 for 90-day retention, on annual billing. Cloud Network Monitoring is $5 per network host and Network Path $5 per 1,000 tests on annual billing (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateDevice metrics, SNMP traps, flow records and syslog sit next to application and host data, so network and application issues can be correlated in one view

Datadog sells a SaaS observability and security platform, and its network monitoring products sit alongside infrastructure, APM and log management.

Network Device Monitoring discovers on-premises, SD-WAN and wireless devices across vendors such as Cisco, Juniper, Meraki, F5, Arista and Aruba, collecting SNMP metrics, SNMP traps, API data, NetFlow and syslog through the open-source Datadog agent. Out-of-the-box dashboards cover device and interface performance, traffic and site health, and automatic topology maps show physical connections and upstream or downstream impact. Alerts flag abnormal states, and forecasting projects future bandwidth.

NetFlow Monitoring identifies the top contributors to congestion and slices flows by source, destination, port, protocol and application. Cloud Network Monitoring tracks traffic between services, cloud providers and internet endpoints, and Network Path tests the route between hosts and endpoints.

Potential strengths

  • Published per-device prices for annual, monthly and on-demand billing
  • Flow support for NetFlow v5 and v9, IPFIX, sFlow and jFlow

Trade-offs

  • Flow records, cloud network hosts and path tests are billed separately from devices
  • Most useful when other Datadog products are already in place
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Billed annually, month-to-month or on demand
  • Source review: checked Oct 8, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Zabbix

open-sourcezabbix.com ↗
Consider forIT teams able to run their own Linux monitoring server that want open-source SNMP and network monitoring without per-device fees, with paid support or hosted Zabbix Cloud if needed, as Zabbix's network monitoring, subscription and cloud pages describe
Pricing notesZabbix open-source software has no license fee. Support subscriptions cover unlimited hosts, users and metrics: Silver $325 per month (EUR 245) and Gold from $825 per month (EUR 660), both billed annually; Platinum, Enterprise and Global are quoted. Zabbix Cloud tiers start from $50 (Nano, 50 new values per second) to $5,000 (2xLarge, 10,000) per month, with 10 GB of storage included at first and 10% off annual payment (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateFully open source with no per-device fees, plus alert dependencies, escalations and automatic remediation through remote commands

Zabbix is an open-source monitoring platform. The software is free to download and run, and the company earns revenue from support subscriptions, training, professional services and the hosted Zabbix Cloud.

For networks, Zabbix collects SNMP metrics or uses its agent to track incoming and outgoing traffic, bandwidth, packet loss, interface errors, link status and speed. It supports SNMP v1, v2c and v3 and trap collection. Device health covers availability, CPU and memory, power supplies, temperature and fan states.

Alerting supports problem thresholds, maintenance windows, dependencies between alerts to reduce noise, dynamic baselines, escalation across users and departments and automatic remediation through remote commands and scripts. Zabbix Cloud Proxy extends hosted deployments to remote and distributed sites.

Potential strengths

  • No license cost and no host, user or metric limits
  • Support subscriptions are priced on response time rather than device count

Trade-offs

  • Self-hosted deployments need in-house skills to install, tune and maintain
  • Higher support tiers are quoted
Sources and status

Checkmk

open-sourcecheckmk.com ↗
Consider forIT teams that want infrastructure and network monitoring with a free open-source starting point and per-host commercial editions, self-hosted or as SaaS, as Checkmk's network monitoring and pricing pages describe
Pricing notesPrices shown in euros. Community is free and suits up to about 100 hosts. Pro starts at EUR 190 per month billed annually for 100 hosts, as low as about EUR 1.90 per host. Ultimate starts at EUR 275 per month billed annually, about EUR 2.75 per host, and adds multi-tenancy. Checkmk Cloud starts at EUR 240 per month with monthly billing for 1,000 services, about EUR 7.20 per host at 30 services per host. Larger estates are quoted (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateSwitch and router checks cover packet and error rates, port state and bandwidth, CPU, fans, power supplies and temperature across many vendors

Checkmk is sold as a free Community edition, self-hosted Pro and Ultimate editions and a SaaS Cloud edition. It covers servers, networks, databases, cloud, Kubernetes, storage and IoT.

For networks, Checkmk monitors switches and routers for packet rates, error rates, port state and bandwidth, CPU utilisation, fans, power supplies and temperature, with support for vendors including Cisco, Juniper, Huawei, Dell, Extreme Networks, Alcatel-Lucent, Brocade and TP-Link, as well as wireless equipment. Port monitoring can be set up across a network in minutes, with real-time and historical data for trend analysis.

Pro adds a more resource-efficient core, advanced analytics and reporting, automation, distributed monitoring and 8x5 support. Ultimate adds multi-tenancy and data segregation, full-stack observability, advanced cloud integrations and automated rollouts. Synthetic monitoring is available on Pro and Ultimate.

Potential strengths

  • Free Community edition and published per-host commercial prices
  • Self-hosted and SaaS editions from the same vendor

Trade-offs

  • Distributed monitoring and advanced reporting need Pro or higher
  • Prices are published in euros
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Pro and Ultimate billed annually; Cloud monthly billing
  • Source review: checked Oct 8, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Domotz

smbdomotz.com ↗
Consider forManaged service providers, integrators and IT teams with many small sites that want per-site pricing with unlimited devices and remote access, as Domotz's pricing page describes
Pricing notesShown in pounds sterling on the page checked: GBP 35 per collector per month, where one collector monitors one site or network with unlimited devices, users and every feature. MSPs and commercial integrators on a 12-month term billed monthly pay GBP 31.50 at 5 sites, GBP 28 at 10, GBP 25 at 50, GBP 22.50 at 100, GBP 20 at 250 and GBP 17.50 at 500 or more. Residential integrators pay from GBP 20 to GBP 8 per home. No setup fees; 14-day free trial without a card (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateOne flat price per site covers SNMP monitoring, topology maps, remote SSH, RDP and VNC access, remote power management and PSA integrations

Domotz sells a cloud network monitoring and management platform aimed at managed service providers, enterprise IT, system integrators and security professionals. The company states it has more than 3,600 customers across 190 countries.

A collector is a lightweight agent that runs at a site on existing hardware or a Domotz appliance, with 16 deployment options, and discovers, monitors and manages every device on that network. Every plan includes automatic discovery, real-time monitoring and alerts, custom thresholds, SNMP monitoring, network topology maps, speed testing and diagnostics, remote power management and remote SSH, RDP and VNC access.

An API, PSA and ticketing integrations and a mobile app are included, and an MCP server connects network data to AI assistants. Buyers who need per-device licensing or a large, complex environment can request a package from sales.

Potential strengths

  • Price does not change as devices are added to a site
  • Published volume rates for MSPs and integrators

Trade-offs

  • Per-site pricing can cost more for single large sites than for many small ones
  • Prices were shown in pounds sterling on the page checked
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Per collector per month; cancel any time; volume rates on 12-month terms billed monthly
  • Source review: checked Oct 8, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

Progress WhatsUp Gold

mid-marketwhatsupgold.com ↗
Consider forIT teams in small to large organisations that want self-hosted discovery, mapping and performance monitoring with a choice of perpetual or subscription licensing, as the WhatsUp Gold pricing page describes
Pricing notesQuote-based. Premium is licensed by device and Total Plus by points, and both are available as a perpetual license, with the current version and one year of updates and support, or as a subscription. No figures are published; the page offers a quote form and a free trial. Both editions allow up to 20,000 devices per instance (checked Oct 2026)
Feature to evaluateTotal Plus bundles configuration management, network traffic analysis, log management, virtual and application monitoring and scalability pollers

WhatsUp Gold is a network monitoring product from Progress Software. It installs on the customer's own infrastructure and is sold in two editions.

Premium includes automatic discovery, topology mapping, availability and status monitoring, performance monitoring, alerting and reporting, cloud monitoring, wireless monitoring and certificate monitoring, with 10/5 email support. Total Plus adds configuration management for routers, switches and firewalls, network traffic analysis with threshold alerts on bandwidth and Cisco CBQoS and NBAR data, log management, virtualisation and application monitoring, and scalability pollers that split the workload across up to 25 systems. Distributed mode monitors remote sites from a central NOC.

Progress also lists a network detection and response product for threat hunting across hybrid networks.

Potential strengths

  • Perpetual licensing available for buyers who avoid subscriptions
  • Total Plus adds 24/5 phone and email support

Trade-offs

  • No published price
  • Traffic analysis, configuration management and distributed mode are add-ons on Premium
Sources and status
  • Product reference
  • Pricing source
  • Billing terms: Perpetual license with one year of maintenance, or subscription; quoted
  • Source review: checked Oct 8, 2026
  • Vendor confirmation: not confirmed

How to choose a vendor

Count the unit each vendor bills on

Prices on this page use different units. PRTG licenses sensors, roughly ten per device. ManageEngine OpManager prices device bundles, LogicMonitor charges per Hybrid Unit, SolarWinds Observability and Datadog per network device or node, Domotz per collector site, Checkmk per monitored host and Zabbix Cloud by new values per second. Count devices, interfaces, access points and sites before comparing figures.

Decide between self-hosted and SaaS

PRTG Network Monitor, OpManager, WhatsUp Gold, Zabbix and the self-hosted Checkmk editions run on a server the IT team maintains. Auvik, LogicMonitor, SolarWinds Observability SaaS, Datadog and Domotz host the platform and place a collector or agent on the local network. Zabbix and Checkmk sell both models.

Check where flow analysis and configuration backup sit

Traffic analysis and configuration management are often extra. WhatsUp Gold lists network traffic analysis and configuration management as Total Plus features or add-ons, ManageEngine sells NetFlow Analyzer and Network Configuration Manager as separate products bundled in OpManager Nexus, and Datadog bills NetFlow records separately from device monitoring. Auvik lists traffic analysis and configuration backup within its network management product.

Frequently asked questions

What is network monitoring software?

Network monitoring software watches the health and performance of routers, switches, firewalls, wireless access points and servers. It polls devices over SNMP, WMI or APIs, receives traps and syslog messages, and analyses flow records such as NetFlow to show bandwidth use. It alerts IT staff to outages, errors and capacity problems and keeps history for reports and trends.

How much does network monitoring software cost?

Published prices on this page range from free open-source editions of Zabbix and Checkmk to $200 to $1,642 per month paid annually for PRTG, $7 per device per month for Datadog on annual billing, $15.75 per node for SolarWinds Observability, $16 to $53 per Hybrid Unit for LogicMonitor and GBP 35 per site for Domotz. OpManager starts at $245 for 25 devices. Auvik and WhatsUp Gold are quoted.

What is the difference between SNMP monitoring and flow monitoring?

SNMP monitoring polls a device for counters such as interface traffic, errors, CPU and temperature, which shows how busy and healthy each device is. Flow monitoring collects NetFlow, sFlow, jFlow or IPFIX records that describe individual conversations, which shows who and what is using the bandwidth. Datadog bills flow records separately, and WhatsUp Gold and ManageEngine sell traffic analysis as an add-on or separate product.

Should a team choose self-hosted or SaaS network monitoring?

Self-hosted tools such as PRTG Network Monitor, OpManager, WhatsUp Gold and the self-hosted Zabbix and Checkmk editions keep data on the customer's own server but need someone to maintain it. SaaS tools such as Auvik, LogicMonitor, SolarWinds Observability SaaS, Datadog and Domotz host the platform and place a collector on each network. Zabbix and Checkmk offer both.

Which tools suit managed service providers?

Auvik asks on its pricing form whether the buyer is an MSP and integrates with PSA tools such as ConnectWise and Autotask. Domotz publishes volume rates for MSPs down to GBP 17.50 per site, Checkmk Ultimate adds multi-tenancy, and Paessler sells a PRTG MSP edition. Zabbix lists separate MSP options.

Is there free network monitoring software?

Yes. Zabbix is open source with no license fee, Checkmk Community is free for up to about 100 hosts, and the PRTG Freeware Edition covers up to 100 sensors, about 10 devices. Free editions have limits on scale, features or support, and the paid options add support, distributed monitoring or hosting.

How are devices counted for licensing?

Each vendor counts differently. PRTG licenses sensors, about ten per device. SolarWinds counts network devices one to one and access points ten to one. LogicMonitor counts one device or five access points as one Hybrid Unit. Datadog prices devices and access points separately, Domotz charges per site regardless of devices, and OpManager licenses devices with unlimited interfaces.

How was this comparison compiled?

StatWharf Editorial selected ten network monitoring products with live product pages and read each vendor's own product and pricing pages on 8 October 2026. Prices are recorded as published, with currency, billing units and conditions. No product was installed or tested, and the order of entries is not a ranking.

Suggest a vendor or correction

Send factual corrections to editorial@statwharf.com. Corrections are free. For inclusion or placement enquiries, contact partnerships.

Contact partnerships

First published October 2026. Page update dates reflect editorial changes, not a fresh check of every vendor.