Best GST Compliance Software (2026): Top 8 Compared
GST compliance software prepares and files Indian goods and services tax returns and reconciles books against them. The eight products fall into two groups. ClearTax GST, Sovos India, Cygnet Tax and Masters India are quote-based, serving enterprises with many GSTINs, groups needing global VAT compliance, audit reconciliation, and companies wanting GSP filing and APIs. Gen GST, TallyPrime, Zoho Books and BUSY publish prices in rupees: Gen GST suits practitioners filing for many clients, TallyPrime and BUSY suit businesses filing from their own books, and Zoho Books offers cloud accounting with GST filing. Four vendors publish price figures and four quote only.
Order is not a ranking. How entries are ordered.
On this page
Compare at a glance
Select a vendor for details and sources. Scroll the table horizontally on smaller screens.
| Vendor | Consider for | Pricing notes | Standout |
|---|---|---|---|
| ClearTax GST (Clear)enterprise | Enterprises with many GSTINs under one PAN | Quote-based; no rate card published Checked Sep 2026 | Optional managed service for GST filing and vendor reconciliation |
| Sovos India (IRIS Sapphire)enterprise | Groups needing India GST and global VAT compliance from one vendor | Quote-based; enquiries go to a Book a Call request Checked Sep 2026 | India GST suite on the same platform as Sovos VAT and e-invoicing |
| Cygnet Taxenterprise | Enterprises that need GL-to-return reconciliation for audit | Quote-based; no rate card published Checked Sep 2026 | GSTN-authorised GSP and invoice registration portal |
| Masters Indiamid-market | Companies and developers wanting GSP filing plus APIs | Quote-based; no rate card on the GST software page Checked Sep 2026 | GST filing APIs for building returns into other software |
| Gen GST (SAG Infotech)smb | Practitioners filing GST for many clients | Desktop INR 5,000 install + INR 2,000/yr; online e-filing INR 10,000 + INR 5,000/yr, excl. taxes Checked Sep 2026 | Unlimited returns for unlimited clients at a fixed published price |
| TallyPrimesmb | SMBs filing GST from their own books | Silver INR 22,500 lifetime or INR 750/month; Gold INR 67,500 or INR 2,250/month, plus 18% GST Checked Sep 2026 | Same features in every plan, lifetime licence option |
| Zoho Bookssmb | Small businesses wanting cloud accounting with GST filing | Free plan; paid INR 749-4,999 per org/month billed annually; extra GSTIN INR 600/month Checked Sep 2026 | GST reports and filing on the free plan |
| BUSYsmb | Traders and manufacturers wanting desktop billing with GST | Standard (complete GST) INR 16,500; licence term not stated Checked Sep 2026 | Auto download and reconciliation of GSTR-1, 3B, 2A and 2B |
These comparisons draw on public product information, not hands-on testing of every tool. Source records identify available references and checks; missing evidence is marked. Buyer fit is an editorial assessment, not a measured performance score. How to use this research.
GST compliance software prepares and files India’s goods and services tax returns and reconciles purchase data against supplier filings to protect input tax credit. It also generates the e-invoices and e-way bills that GST law requires for many transactions. Finance teams, tax teams and chartered accountants are the main users. The work repeats every month across GSTR-1, GSTR-3B and the annual GSTR-9, and it grows with every state registration.
The eight products compared below split into three groups. ClearTax, Sovos India (formerly IRIS GST), Cygnet Tax and Masters India are enterprise platforms that take data from an ERP and file through authorised GSTN connections. Gen GST from SAG Infotech is built for practitioners who file for many clients. TallyPrime, Zoho Books and BUSY are accounting systems that produce GST returns from their own books. Pricing was checked in September 2026 on each vendor’s own site. Entries with dated source checks appear first, which records research readiness, not product quality.
Related pages cover tax software, sales tax software and accounting software.
Vendor details and trade-offs
Clear, which still trades as ClearTax on its enterprise pages, sells GST software to large companies alongside tax filing products for individuals and accountants. The enterprise GST product covers the full return cycle. It imports data, prepares and files GSTR-1, 3B and 9, and supports GSTR-6, 7, 8 and ITC-04 as well as export refunds.
Reconciliation is the centre of the product. The enterprise page describes matching the GSTR-2A and 2B data against the purchase register by vendor, at GSTIN and PAN level, with e-invoice and e-way bill data included. The annual return module auto-fills the GSTR-9 tables and gives access to returns filed over 21 months.
Two features separate Clear from software-only vendors. The first is integration: the vendor states automated import from more than 100 ERPs, with custom integration for SAP and Oracle. The second is managed services. A company can outsource return preparation, vendor reconciliation, GSTR-9 and refund filing to Clear's own team. The enterprise GST page cites more than 1,200 enterprises on ClearTax GST.
Potential strengths
- Reconciliation works at GSTIN and PAN level, so a group with registrations in many states can match purchase data against GSTR-2A and 2B in one view
- The enterprise stack covers GST filing, e-invoicing, e-way bills, TDS and airline travel credit, which reduces the number of compliance vendors a finance team manages
Trade-offs
- No price is published for any enterprise module, so budgeting starts with a sales conversation
- Speed and savings figures on the enterprise page, such as 6,000 invoices a second and up to 7 percent tax savings, are the vendor's own and carry no stated method
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 22, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
IRIS GST was one of the early GST Suvidha Providers, and its flagship return product is IRIS Sapphire. The Sapphire page now presents the product as Sovos India. It describes a GST suite of India GST filing, India e-invoicing and India e-way bill products, placed next to Sovos products for VAT and sales tax determination, VAT reporting, SAF-T and global e-invoicing.
The IRIS home page still lists the four India products. IRIS Sapphire handles return filing, reconciliation and insight from one dashboard. IRIS ONYX connects to billing systems to generate e-invoice reference numbers. IRIS LMS tracks direct and indirect tax litigation. IRIS ASAP automates accounts payable. Customer quotes on the page come from tax and finance managers at the Jeena Group, DHL Supply Chain India, Parekh Group, Nelco and Forbes Marshall. Several mention the support team at filing deadlines.
For an Indian company with no foreign entities, the Sovos connection adds little. For a multinational it changes the case. India GST sits on the same platform that Sovos sells for VAT and e-invoicing in other countries. Sovos also appears on the tax software page.
Potential strengths
- Named Indian users on the IRIS pages include DHL Supply Chain India, Forbes Marshall and Nelco, which gives a buyer references in logistics and manufacturing
- The product family extends past returns to tax litigation management (IRIS LMS) and accounts payable automation (IRIS ASAP)
Trade-offs
- The rebrand is recent, and the IRIS GST and Sovos India pages describe the same products under different names, which makes scoping a quote harder
- Global figures such as 16 billion transactions describe Sovos as a whole, not the India GST product
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 22, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Cygnet Tax is the tax product line of Cygnet.One, an Indian technology company that also sells engineering and cloud services. The GST compliance product is described as a unified platform for filing, e-invoicing and e-way bill automation. It lists preparation and filing for GSTR-1, 2A and 2B, 3B, 6A and 6B and the annual 9 and 9C returns.
Reconciliation has two layers. The first is an AI and machine learning tool that matches GSTR-2B against vendor invoices to protect input tax credit. The second is general ledger reconciliation. The vendor describes a six-way comparison of the ledger with sales, purchases and GST returns and forms, prepared ahead of the annual return.
Cygnet states that GSTN authorises it as a GST Suvidha Provider and as an invoice registration portal. It says its platform carries 10 to 15 percent of India's e-invoice traffic. The Cygnet Tax suite also covers tax determination, the Invoice Management System, input service distribution, litigation and VAT outside India. A separate Cygnet GSP site offers chartered accountants one subscription for any number of clients, with bulk upload and filing by digital signature.
Potential strengths
- Return coverage is broad: GSTR-1, 2A and 2B, 3B, 6A and 6B, and the annual 9 and 9C returns are all listed
- A separate plan for chartered accountants covers any number of clients under a single subscription
Trade-offs
- Cygnet also sells IT services, and the tax products share a website with engineering and cloud offers, so a buyer has to navigate past unrelated pages
- The e-invoice traffic share and the 99 percent compliance figure are vendor statements with no published method
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 22, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Masters India is a GST Suvidha Provider appointed by GSTN. It sells a cloud GST application, historically named autoTax, and a set of GST, e-invoice and e-way bill APIs. The GST software page lists returns GSTR-1, 3B, 6, 9 and 9C, and reconciliation against GSTR-2B to check input tax credit against the company's own books.
The documented workflow is data import by template, validation, upload status, return preparation and filing. The page names four audiences. Start-ups get a lighter setup. Enterprises manage group-level compliance across many registrations. Chartered accountants handle filing for hundreds of clients with role-based delegation. Developers use APIs to build filing into their own software.
The API page is the clearest differentiator. It lists operations to upload GSTR-1 invoices and summaries, save and file GSTR-3B data, file through electronic verification code and read upload history. An accounting software vendor or an ERP team that wants GST filing inside its own product can buy access to these calls instead of a separate application. The page states that API pricing starts low and scales with use but gives no figure.
Potential strengths
- Masters India is a GST Suvidha Provider appointed by GSTN, so filing runs through an authorised channel rather than portal automation
- Separate workflows are documented for start-ups, enterprises, chartered accountants and developers
Trade-offs
- The main GST software page dates from 2022 and describes the product under the older autoTax name, so a buyer should confirm the current module set
- The claim of filing in 50 percent less time is the vendor's own and has no stated baseline
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 22, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Gen GST is made by SAG Infotech, a Jaipur software company that sells tax software to chartered accountants and tax practitioners. The product is available as desktop software and as an online service. Both run on Java, and both allow unlimited return filing for unlimited clients.
Documented functions include GSTR-1, 3B, CMP-08 and 9 returns, GSTR-9C self-certification, e-invoice and e-way bill generation, and HSN code lookup. Reconciliation covers GSTR-2A against the input credit register and GSTR-3B against that register. It also compares GSTR-1, 2A, 3B, the portal data and the software data. A status check shows whether a supplier filed GSTR-1, which tells the practitioner whether the credit will be available.
Pricing is the clearest in this category. SAG Infotech published its price list on 10 September 2026. The desktop version costs INR 5,000 to install and INR 2,000 a year to update. The online e-filing version costs INR 10,000 and INR 5,000 a year, and the all-in-one version INR 15,000 and INR 7,000 a year, with three employee logins. A bundle with a practice website is also sold.
Potential strengths
- Pricing is published in full, including add-ons such as extra employee logins and hosting space, so a practice can budget without a sales call
- The cloud version is free for one GSTIN without the filing feature, which lets a buyer test data entry and reports first
Trade-offs
- The product is built for practitioners, and it does not document the ERP integration or PAN-level group reconciliation that large companies need
- Installation and updation fees and multi-user LAN charges are priced separately, so the total depends on the combination chosen
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: One-time installation fee plus an annual updation fee
- Source review: checked Sep 22, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
TallyPrime is the accounting and business management software from Tally Solutions of Bengaluru. The vendor states more than 2.5 million businesses as users. It is not a standalone GST product. GST compliance is part of the accounting system, so returns come from the same vouchers used for books and inventory.
The buy page lists GST and compliance, e-invoicing and e-way bills among the features in every plan. Practitioners quoted on the page describe the GST workflow. GSTR-1 is uploaded directly to the portal without logging in there, then filed by electronic verification code or digital signature. GSTR-3B, 1, 2A and 2B are reconciled against Tally data, and Invoice Management System data is uploaded.
Pricing is published in full. Silver runs on one PC for INR 22,500 lifetime or INR 750 a month. Gold allows multi-user access on a network for INR 67,500 lifetime or INR 2,250 a month. Prices exclude 18 percent GST. The lifetime licence includes one year of Tally Software Services, which carries statutory updates. The vendor's cost guide lists renewal at INR 4,500 a year for Silver and INR 13,500 for Gold.
Potential strengths
- The vendor states that Silver and Gold carry the same features, and that the price difference reflects multi-user access only
- Practitioners quoted on the buy page describe uploading GSTR-1 straight from TallyPrime to the portal and reconciling 2A and 2B against claimed credit
Trade-offs
- Statutory updates depend on Tally Software Services, which is included for one year and renewed after that, at INR 4,500 a year for Silver per the vendor's cost guide
- TallyPrime is desktop software, and remote access is a separately priced cloud access add-on
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Lifetime licence or monthly, 3-month or 12-month rental; lifetime includes 1 year of TSS
- Source review: checked Sep 22, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Zoho Books is the cloud accounting product of Zoho, sold in India with a GST-specific edition. Like TallyPrime, it treats GST as part of accounting. Invoices, bills and expenses create the data, and GST reports and returns are prepared from it.
The India pricing page lists GST reports and filing on the free plan. That plan is for solo operators and micro businesses, with one user and one accountant. It also includes invoicing, bank reconciliation, inventory tracking and the Invoice Management System, which the page marks as new. Paid plans add users, projects, purchase approvals and automation. Standard costs INR 749, Professional INR 1,499, Premium INR 2,999 and Elite INR 4,999 per organisation per month, billed annually. Elite adds warehouse and bin tracking and marketplace connections.
Multi-state registration is handled through add-ons. The location add-on costs INR 600 a month billed annually and includes one GSTIN and 10,000 invoices. For a business with a handful of registrations this stays cheap. For a group with dozens, a dedicated GST platform may cost less. Zoho Books also appears on the accounting software page.
Potential strengths
- Paid plans are priced per organisation, not per user, with 3, 5 and 10 users included on Standard, Professional and Premium
- The pricing page lists the Invoice Management System as a feature, which matches the GST portal workflow for accepting or rejecting supplier invoices
Trade-offs
- Each extra GSTIN needs a location add-on at INR 600 a month, which adds up for a business registered in many states
- The GST depth documented on the pricing page is general, so a buyer with complex reconciliation needs should test it against a GSP-based tool
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Per organisation per month, billed annually
- Source review: checked Sep 22, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
BUSY is billing, accounting and inventory software from BUSY Infotech, aimed at small and mid-sized traders, distributors and manufacturers. Like TallyPrime, it is desktop software with GST built in, and it competes most directly with Tally in that segment.
The pricing page shows four plans. Express is free for invoicing, vouchers and basic reports. Basic, at INR 11,000, is described as billing and accounting for businesses that are not GST-registered. Standard, at INR 16,500, is described as billing, accounting and complete GST. Enterprise, at INR 22,000, adds multi-branch management with offline and online modes and automatic data merging.
The GST features in Standard are specific. GST returns are produced as JSON. GSTR-1 and IFF upload directly. E-invoices and e-way bills generate automatically. GSTR-1, 3B, 2A and 2B download and reconcile automatically, and the software checks whether each party filed its return. The same plan adds VAT invoicing for countries outside India, batch and expiry tracking and bill-of-materials production. The page does not state the licence term or user count behind each price, so both need confirming before purchase.
Potential strengths
- The Standard plan lists direct upload of GSTR-1 and IFF, JSON e-returns and automatic e-invoice and e-way bill generation
- Production, batch and expiry tracking sit next to GST in the same plan, which suits manufacturers and distributors
Trade-offs
- The pricing page does not say whether prices are one-time or annual, or for how many users, so a buyer has to confirm the term with BUSY
- The Basic plan does not include GST, so the GST features start at the Standard price
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 22, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Frequently asked questions
What is GST compliance software?
GST compliance software prepares and files India's goods and services tax returns, reconciles purchase data against what suppliers report, and generates e-invoices and e-way bills. The products compared here split into two groups. ClearTax, Sovos India, Cygnet Tax, Masters India and Gen GST are dedicated GST tools that take data from an ERP or accounting system. TallyPrime, Zoho Books and BUSY are accounting systems that produce GST returns from their own books.
What is a GST Suvidha Provider and does it matter?
A GST Suvidha Provider, or GSP, is a company authorised by GSTN to connect third-party software to the GST system through official interfaces. Masters India and Cygnet state that they are GSPs, and IRIS was one of the early GSPs. A GSP connection lets software file returns and pull GSTR-2A and 2B data without a user handling files on the portal. Buyers should ask any vendor how it connects to GSTN and the invoice registration portal.
How much does GST compliance software cost?
It depends on the group. In September 2026 the accounting products published prices: TallyPrime from INR 750 a month or INR 22,500 lifetime, Zoho Books free or from INR 749 a month, and BUSY Standard at INR 16,500. Gen GST published INR 5,000 for its desktop version and INR 10,000 for online e-filing, plus annual update fees. ClearTax, Sovos India, Cygnet Tax and Masters India quote enterprise prices on request.
Why is input tax credit reconciliation the main feature?
A business can claim input tax credit only for tax that its suppliers report. Reconciliation matches the purchase register against GSTR-2A and 2B to find invoices a supplier did not report, reported wrongly or reported late. Unmatched invoices mean credit at risk. Enterprise tools such as ClearTax and Cygnet Tax sell reconciliation at PAN level across many GSTINs. BUSY and TallyPrime reconcile within one set of books.
Should a business use its accounting software or a dedicated GST tool?
A business with one or a few GSTINs and its books in TallyPrime, Zoho Books or BUSY can usually file from that system. A group with many registrations, an ERP such as SAP or Oracle, or high invoice volumes tends to need a dedicated platform with ERP connectors and PAN-level reconciliation. Practitioners filing for many clients often buy a multi-client tool such as Gen GST or Cygnet's CA plan.
Do these products handle e-invoicing and e-way bills?
All eight document e-invoicing and e-way bill support in some form. ClearTax, Sovos India, Cygnet Tax and Masters India sell them as enterprise modules connected to the ERP. Cygnet states that GSTN also authorises it as an invoice registration portal. TallyPrime and BUSY generate e-invoices and e-way bills from their own vouchers. Gen GST sells e-invoice and e-way bill versions separately.
What is the Invoice Management System in GST?
The Invoice Management System on the GST portal lets a recipient accept, reject or hold invoices that suppliers report before they feed into input tax credit. Zoho Books and Cygnet Tax list it as a feature, and practitioners quoted by Tally describe uploading it from TallyPrime. Buyers should check how each product handles pending actions and how they flow into GSTR-2B and 3B.
How should buyers read the performance figures on vendor sites?
As vendor claims. Figures such as 6,000 invoices reconciled a second, up to 7 percent tax savings, 50 percent less filing time or 99 percent compliance come from the vendors' own pages, with no stated baseline or method. They show what a vendor says it can do. A trial on one month of the buyer's own purchase data is the reliable test.
Suggest a vendor or correction
Send factual corrections to editorial@statwharf.com. Corrections are free. For inclusion or placement enquiries, contact partnerships.
First published September 2026. Page update dates reflect editorial changes, not a fresh check of every vendor.