Best AI Workflow Automation Platforms (2026): Top 10 Compared
AI workflow automation platforms connect business apps, run multi-step workflows on triggers and schedules, and place AI steps or agents inside those workflows. The ten products below split into four groups. Zapier, Make and Activepieces are no-code builders sold to business teams on task or credit allowances. n8n and Pipedream lean toward technical users, with code steps, self-hosting in n8n's case and developer SDKs in Pipedream's. Microsoft Power Automate and UiPath combine API workflows with robotic process automation for desktop and legacy systems. Workato and Tray.ai sell enterprise integration platforms with agent builders and MCP governance on top, and Gumloop starts from AI agents rather than fixed workflows. Eight of the ten publish a price.
Order is not a ranking. How entries are ordered.
On this page
Compare at a glance
Select a vendor for details and sources. Scroll the table horizontally on smaller screens.
| Vendor | Consider for | Pricing notes | Standout |
|---|---|---|---|
| Zapiermid-market | Business teams connecting SaaS apps and adding AI steps and agents without code | Free with 100 tasks/month; Professional from $19.99/month and Team from $69/month on yearly billing; Enterprise quoted Checked Sep 2026 | Connects to 9,000+ apps, including through MCP for Claude and ChatGPT |
| n8nmid-market | Technical teams that want visual workflows with code steps and a self-hosting option | Starter €20/month, Pro €50/month, Business €667/month, all billed annually; Enterprise custom; self-hosted Community Edition Checked Sep 2026 | Charges per full workflow execution, not per step, with unlimited users on every plan |
| Makesmb | Individuals and SMB teams building visual automations and AI agents across many apps | Free with 1,000 credits/month; Make Plan from $9/month billed annually or $10.59/month billed monthly for 5,000 credits; Enterprise custom Checked Sep 2026 | Visual scenario builder with 3,000+ apps, AI agents and an MCP server |
| Microsoft Power Automateenterprise | Microsoft 365 organisations combining cloud flows, desktop RPA and process mining | Premium $15.00/user/month; Process $150.00/bot/month; Hosted Process $215.00/bot/month; all paid yearly Checked Sep 2026 | Cloud flows, attended and unattended desktop RPA and process mining in one product |
| UiPathenterprise | Enterprises orchestrating agents, robots and people across long-running processes and legacy systems | Free Community plan; Basic from $25/month; Standard and Enterprise quoted by sales Checked Sep 2026 | Maestro orchestrates agents, robots, APIs and people with durable, stateful execution |
| Workatoenterprise | Large enterprises governing agents, MCP servers and integrations on one iPaaS | No published price; the pricing page describes a flexible model and routes buyers to sales Checked Sep 2026 | Control plane governs every model, agent, workflow, API and MCP interaction |
| Tray.aienterprise | Enterprise IT teams running integrations, agents and MCP services under one audit trail | No published price; Pro, Team and Enterprise plans are sold after a demo, with usage scaled by Tasks Checked Sep 2026 | Merlin Agent Builder and Agent Gateway for MCP on a 700+ connector iPaaS |
| Gumloopmid-market | Business teams building AI agents in plain language, with IT controlling access | Pro starts at $37/month with 20k credits/month and a 14-day free trial; Enterprise custom Checked Sep 2026 | Agent-first builder with plain-language triggers, reusable skills and 100+ MCP integrations |
| Activepiecessmb | Teams wanting flows, agents and tables with flat pricing and a cloud or on-prem option | Free with 100 credits/day; Plus $20/month flat; Team $200/month flat; Ultimate quoted; Embed from $36k/year Checked Sep 2026 | Chat, agents, flows and tables with 760+ apps, on cloud or on-premises |
| Pipedreamspecialist | Developers automating API workflows and adding integrations or MCP tools to their own apps | Free with 100 credits/month; Basic $29/month, Advanced $49/month, Connect $99/month, billed annually; Business custom Checked Sep 2026 | Connect SDK and MCP server expose 3,000+ APIs and 10,000+ tools to apps and agents |
These comparisons draw on public product information, not hands-on testing of every tool. Source records identify available references and checks; missing evidence is marked. Buyer fit is an editorial assessment, not a measured performance score. How to use this research.
AI workflow automation platforms connect the applications a business already uses and run work across them automatically: a new lead triggers enrichment and a CRM update, an invoice in an inbox is matched and routed for approval, a support ticket is classified and assigned. What has changed is the AI layer. Most products now let a workflow call a model at any step, and many let an agent decide the steps itself or let AI assistants act in connected apps through MCP.
The ten products compared here come from different starting points. Zapier, Make and Activepieces began as no-code connectors for business users. n8n and Pipedream serve technical teams and developers. Power Automate and UiPath add desktop robotic process automation for systems without an API. Workato and Tray.ai are enterprise integration platforms, and Gumloop is built around agents from the start.
Every entry was checked against the vendor’s own pages in September 2026. Eight publish a price; Workato and Tray.ai are quoted.
Vendor details and trade-offs
Zapier presents itself as a platform for building and governing AI workflows, agents and apps. Workflows are built as Zaps: a trigger in one app followed by actions in others. Tables store structured data and Forms collect input, and all three are included in every plan.
The AI layer has several parts. Zapier MCP lets assistants such as Claude and ChatGPT act in connected apps, and the Zapier SDK does the same for custom AI applications. Zapier Agents run tasks such as lead scoring, document processing and ticket routing on their own, and are sold on a separate activity-based plan. AI fields and Copilot help build workflows.
For IT, Zapier documents action-level controls rather than a simple allow or block per app, a log of AI actions and model calls, and admin features on higher plans including SAML SSO, SCIM provisioning, audit logs and app access controls. The company states it is used by more than 3 million businesses; that is its own figure. Professional and Team prices are listed per month with yearly billing selected.
Potential strengths
- Publishes plan prices and a free tier
- Team plan adds shared Zaps, shared app connections and SAML SSO for up to 25 users
Trade-offs
- Pricing scales with task volume, so high-frequency workflows move buyers up tiers
- Agents and chatbots are priced as separate products from the core workflow plans
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Per month, shown with yearly billing selected; monthly billing costs more
- Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
n8n describes itself as a workflow automation platform for technical teams. Workflows are built on a visual canvas, and any step can run JavaScript or Python. Inputs and outputs sit next to each step's settings, single steps can be re-run without re-running the whole workflow, and data can be replayed or mocked while testing.
The AI features centre on agents that can be inspected. n8n documents multi-agent setups and retrieval-augmented generation, use of cloud or locally hosted models, MCP support, structured inputs and outputs for AI steps, and human-in-the-loop approvals mixed with rule-based logic. It lists more than 500 pre-built integrations, with HTTP and GraphQL requests for anything else.
Deployment is the main difference from most of this list. The Community Edition runs self-hosted with Docker and its source is on GitHub, where n8n reports about 192,000 stars. The cloud plans are priced by workflow executions, with unlimited users on every tier. Business adds SSO, separate environments and Git-based version control; Enterprise adds log streaming, external secret stores and a support SLA.
Potential strengths
- Execution-based pricing does not penalise long multi-step workflows
- Self-hosting keeps workflow data on the buyer's own infrastructure
Trade-offs
- SSO, SAML, LDAP and Git version control start at the Business plan at €667 a month
- Oriented toward technical users who are comfortable with code and APIs
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Per month, billed annually; monthly billing available at a higher rate
- Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Make builds automations as scenarios on a visual canvas: modules for each app action, routers to branch and filters to control what passes between steps. It lists more than 3,000 pre-built apps and 350 AI apps, and a Code app runs JavaScript or Python inside a scenario for data transformation.
The AI features sit on every plan. Make AI Agents, still labelled beta, can be built with Make's own AI provider or the buyer's model key. The AI Toolkit adds built-in AI steps, the AI Content Extractor pulls structured text from files, and AI Web Search brings live web data into a scenario. An MCP server lets external AI assistants call Make scenarios, and Maia by Make builds automations and agents from natural language.
Pricing has been simplified into Free, a single paid Make Plan priced by monthly credits, and Enterprise. The paid plan includes unlimited active scenarios, priority execution, custom variables, teams and roles, and access to enterprise apps. Enterprise adds custom functions, 24/7 support, a value engineering team and overage protection.
Potential strengths
- Low entry price with a permanent free plan
- Unlimited active scenarios on the paid plan
Trade-offs
- Credit-per-action metering makes long scenarios consume allowance quickly
- 24/7 support and overage protection are Enterprise features
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Per month by credit volume, billed monthly or annually
- Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Power Automate is Microsoft's automation product within Power Platform. It covers two kinds of automation. Cloud flows, which Microsoft calls digital process automation, connect apps and services through more than 1,000 API connectors or custom connectors. Desktop flows use robotic process automation to operate legacy systems and websites through their user interface, run attended with a person or unattended in the background, and can run on hosted machines that scale with load.
AI is spread across the product. Copilot builds and edits flows from natural language, including desktop flows. Built-in AI models handle document and image processing and prediction, GPT-based generation is available inside flows, and AI recommendations point to automation opportunities. Task and process mining analyse how work is done before it is automated.
Microsoft positions governance, security and monitoring as part of the platform for scaling automation across an organisation. Licences are sold per user for Premium, per bot for Process and Hosted Process, and per tenant for the process mining add-on, all paid yearly.
Potential strengths
- Native experiences in Teams, Excel and SharePoint
- Attended, unattended and hosted RPA reach desktop apps with no API
Trade-offs
- Licensing splits across user, bot and tenant add-ons, which complicates quotes
- Process mining is a separate $5,000-a-month tenant add-on
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Per user or per bot per month, paid yearly
- Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
UiPath presents itself as a business orchestration and automation platform. Its argument is that AI agents need process authority, reach into systems and governance before they produce business results, and that orchestration supplies those.
Orchestration runs through Maestro in three patterns. Maestro BPMN handles fixed-path processes defined in advance. Maestro Flow is a schema that coding agents can work with, combining orchestration, agents, APIs and human-in-the-loop steps on one canvas, and is available in VS Code and other IDEs. Maestro Case, in preview, tracks adaptive, exception-heavy work. Durable execution lets processes pause, resume and recover without losing state.
The execution layer combines agents that reason within guardrails, robots that act on systems of record, APIs that move data and people who step in where judgment is needed. UiPath states this layer reaches legacy interfaces and mainframes that will never have an API. Builders can start from Claude Code, Cursor, Codex or UiPath Autopilot, or use UiPath Studio or its SDKs. Only the Basic tier carries a public price.
Potential strengths
- Reaches modern APIs, legacy UIs and mainframes from one execution layer
- Offers BPMN, flow and case orchestration patterns on one platform
Trade-offs
- Business-grade plans beyond Basic are not publicly priced
- Basic is limited in scale and hosted in a single European region
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Basic per month; Standard and Enterprise not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Workato is an integration platform as a service that now sells itself as a control and execution platform for enterprise AI. The pitch addresses agent sprawl: departments building their own agents with separate access and one-off code, which leaves IT without visibility.
The platform has two halves. The control plane governs every model, agent, workflow, API and MCP interaction through central identity, policy, approvals, security, observability and cost controls, with an AI gateway and routing across open-source, closed and fine-tuned models. The execution plane provides deterministic orchestration across agents, MCP servers, data, apps and APIs, a context graph of enterprise data and processes, and one managed runtime. Workato states connectivity to more than 17,000 apps, APIs, databases, files and MCP servers.
AIRO is a multi-agent assistant that Workato describes as working like a data scientist, architect, engineer and IT operator, and that is available from Claude, Codex and Cursor as well as Workato itself. Workato also appears on StatWharf's data mapping comparisons for its integration role. No price is published.
Potential strengths
- Governance covers models, agents, workflows, APIs and MCP in one place
- Model routing across open-source, closed and fine-tuned models
Trade-offs
- No price is published
- Built for enterprise IT, which exceeds what a small team automating a few apps needs
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Tray.ai sells an integration and automation platform aimed at enterprise IT, covering integrations, automations, AI agents, MCP services and, more recently, apps built with AI coding assistants. It lists more than 700 connectors plus any API.
Agent work runs through two products sold as the Agent Development add-on. Merlin Agent Builder creates conversational or autonomous agents with guardrails, audit logs, knowledge ingestion, an agent hub and deployment to Slack and Teams, with ITSM and HR accelerators. Agent Gateway for MCP publishes governed MCP services, turning any connector into a managed tool with access control and observability.
Development can happen in Tray Build, a low-code drag-and-drop builder, or Tray Headless, which provides plugins for Claude Code and Codex, headless MCP and full API access. Tray Helix, announced on the site, deploys apps built with coding assistants to a managed runtime with SSO, scoped access and cost attribution. Plans differ by workspaces, insight history and security features, and all pricing is by request.
Potential strengths
- Plan structure and add-ons are documented even though figures are not
- Low-code builder and headless development for coding assistants on one platform
Trade-offs
- No price is published
- HIPAA, SSO and regional hosting are add-ons or Enterprise features
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Gumloop describes itself as a multiplayer AI agent builder. Instead of drawing a fixed workflow, a user describes a job in plain language and gets an agent that connects to company apps, runs on triggers and produces output. Triggers are also written in plain English, telling an agent what to monitor on the web or across apps.
Gumloop lists typical jobs as lead enrichment and qualification, CRM updates from calls and Slack, meeting briefs, SEO research, support ticket triage, brand monitoring and scheduled reports. Agents connect through more than 100 MCP integrations, including Slack, Gmail, Salesforce, HubSpot, Notion, Linear, GitHub and Google Sheets. Skills are reusable playbooks that agents write, refine and share, and artifacts are shareable documents, presentations and web apps that read and write live data.
For IT, Gumloop documents SSO, audit logging, usage monitoring, AI spend insights, role-based access and VPC deployment, several of them on Enterprise only. A REST API and an MCP server let other systems start agent sessions. The company announced a $50 million Series B led by Benchmark on its pricing page.
Potential strengths
- Unlimited seats and agents on the entry paid plan
- Model-agnostic, with 35+ models and bring-your-own keys
Trade-offs
- Pricing page does not state whether the $37 figure assumes monthly or annual billing
- VPC deployment and org-wide connector policies are Enterprise features
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Per month; billing cadence not stated
- Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Activepieces presents itself as one workspace for a team's AI: chat, agents, automation flows, tables and connections to more than 760 apps. The product is aimed at getting non-specialists to automate recurring work, with a free plan that needs no card.
Agents take a task described in plain words, work out the steps and the tools to use, and check in for approval where the builder requires it. Examples on the site include support triage, invoice intake matched to purchase orders and inbound lead routing. Agents can use any connected app or MCP server. Flows handle fixed automations, tables store data, and MCP and API access are available on every plan.
Hosting is flexible: every tier, including Free, is listed as available on Activepieces' cloud or on-premises. Pricing is flat per plan with credits. Free resets daily and waits for the next day once used; Plus and Team reset monthly and bill overages per credit; Ultimate uses a yearly pool with dedicated workers, SCIM, custom roles, audit logs and Git sync. A separate Embed plan white-labels the builder for software vendors.
Potential strengths
- Flat plan prices with a published per-credit overage rate
- Embed plan puts the flow builder and agents inside a buyer's own product under its brand
Trade-offs
- Free plan runs pause once the daily credit allowance is used
- SCIM, audit logs and Git sync are reserved for the quoted Ultimate plan
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Flat per month, billed monthly or annually; Embed per year
- Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Pipedream is a developer-oriented automation platform, and its homepage now states that Pipedream has joined Workday. It offers three things. The workflow builder automates processes that connect APIs, with multi-step workflows, multiple triggers, schedules down to one second on higher plans, environment variables and data stores. The AI Agent Builder creates, runs and deploys agents from a prompt, with code generation for any API.
Pipedream Connect is a developer toolkit for adding integrations to a buyer's own app or agent. It provides managed authentication across more than 3,000 apps and more than 10,000 pre-built triggers and actions, and the Pipedream MCP server exposes the same APIs to AI agents. The Connect plan prices this by the number of external end users authenticated.
Pipedream reports SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA and GDPR compliance. Paid plans are priced per month and billed annually, with unlimited workflows and premium apps from Advanced up. Business adds volume pricing, invoicing, Slack support, HIPAA workloads and uptime SLAs.
Potential strengths
- Low published entry prices for developer use
- Documents SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA and GDPR compliance
Trade-offs
- Aimed at developers rather than business users building without code
- Pipedream has joined Workday, so buyers should confirm the standalone product roadmap
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Per month, billed annually; Business custom
- Source review: checked Sep 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Frequently asked questions
What is an AI workflow automation platform?
It is software that connects business applications and runs multi-step workflows on triggers or schedules, with AI steps or AI agents inside those workflows. Typical AI steps classify or summarise text, extract data from documents and route requests. Newer products also let an agent choose its own tools and steps, and expose company apps to assistants such as Claude and ChatGPT through MCP.
How much do AI workflow automation platforms cost?
Eight of the ten vendors publish a price. Entry paid plans include Make from $9 a month billed annually, Zapier Professional from $19.99 a month on yearly billing, Activepieces Plus at $20 a month, n8n Starter at €20 a month billed annually, UiPath Basic from $25 a month, Pipedream Basic at $29 a month billed annually and Gumloop Pro from $37 a month. Power Automate Premium is $15 per user per month paid yearly. Workato and Tray.ai are quoted.
What is the difference between a workflow and an AI agent on these platforms?
A workflow follows steps a builder defines in advance, even when one step calls an AI model. An agent receives a goal, decides which tools to use and in what order, and may ask for approval before acting. Workflows are more predictable and easier to audit. Agents handle varied requests but need guardrails, logging and approval points, which Zapier, n8n, UiPath, Workato, Tray.ai, Gumloop and Activepieces each document.
Which platforms can be self-hosted?
n8n offers a self-hosted Community Edition deployed with Docker, with its source on GitHub. Activepieces lists cloud or on-premises hosting on every plan. Gumloop offers VPC deployment on Enterprise, and Tray.ai lists advanced on-premises options on Enterprise. Zapier, Make and Pipedream are documented as cloud services.
Which options suit automation of desktop or legacy systems without an API?
Microsoft Power Automate and UiPath both document robotic process automation that operates applications through their user interface. Power Automate sells attended, unattended and hosted RPA licensed per bot. UiPath states its execution layer reaches legacy interfaces and mainframes. The other eight products work mainly through APIs, webhooks and pre-built connectors.
How do usage-based prices compare across these platforms?
The units differ. Zapier counts tasks, Make and Activepieces count credits per action, n8n counts complete workflow executions regardless of step count, Pipedream and Gumloop include monthly credit pools, and Power Automate licenses users or bots. A long workflow with many steps costs relatively less under execution-based pricing and relatively more under per-action credits. Pricing the same real workflows on each shortlisted platform gives a fairer comparison.
What governance features should IT check?
The main points are single sign-on, role-based access, audit logs, control over which apps and actions AI may use, model access controls and MCP server management. Workato and Tray.ai lead with these on enterprise plans. Zapier documents action-level controls and SAML SSO from its Team plan. n8n adds SSO at Business, and Activepieces reserves SCIM and audit logs for Ultimate.
How was this list put together?
Each vendor was checked against its own product and pricing pages in September 2026, and prices are quoted as published on those pages with the check date. The list covers no-code, developer, RPA and enterprise integration platforms that document AI steps or agents. Position on the page is not a ranking, and no vendor has confirmed its entry.
Suggest a vendor or correction
Send factual corrections to editorial@statwharf.com. Corrections are free. For inclusion or placement enquiries, contact partnerships.
First published September 2026. Page update dates reflect editorial changes, not a fresh check of every vendor.