Best Affordable HR Software (2026): Top 10 Compared
Every product on this page publishes a free tier or a low entry price on its own pricing or product page, checked on 19 October 2026. Zoho People, Connecteam, TalentHR and Homebase offer free plans with user, employee or location limits, and OrangeHRM Starter and Frappe HR are free open-source software. Sesame HR, Factorial and Deel HR publish per-employee or per-user starting rates, and greytHR publishes a monthly plan price in rupees that includes 50 employees. Connecteam and Homebase price per hub or per location rather than per person. Each profile also lists the tier where the features a growing team needs begin.
Order is not a ranking. How entries are ordered.
On this page
Compare at a glance
Select a vendor for details and sources. Scroll the table horizontally on smaller screens.
| Vendor | Consider for | Pricing notes | Standout |
|---|---|---|---|
| Zoho Peoplesmb | Small teams wanting a free HR record that grows into a full suite | Free for 3 users; Essential HR $1.25/user/mo billed yearly or $1.50 monthly, minimum 5 users Checked Oct 2026 | Per-user rates in single dollars across all four paid tiers |
| Connecteamsmb | Deskless and frontline teams that need HR and operations in one app | Free for up to 10 users; HR & Skills Basic $29/mo for first 30 users billed yearly or $35 monthly Checked Oct 2026 | Flat price for the first 30 users in each hub |
| TalentHRsmb | Small offices that want a free HRIS with onboarding and applicant tracking | Free for up to 10 users; Essential $2/user/mo billed annually or $2.40 monthly, minimum 15 users Checked Oct 2026 | Free plan includes onboarding, applicant tracking and benefits records |
| Homebasesmb | Single-location hourly businesses scheduling staff and tracking time | Free for 1 location, up to 10 employees; Essentials $30/location/mo with unlimited employees Checked Oct 2026 | Per-location pricing with unlimited employees on paid tiers |
| Sesame HRsmb | Companies that want time, leave and HR modules priced per employee | Essential $3.75/employee/mo billed annually; Growth $6.25 adds performance and culture tools Checked Oct 2026 | Modular plans that add recruitment, culture and performance by tier |
| Factorialmid-market | Growing SMBs that want core HR plus time, talent and finance modules | From $8/user/mo; tailored quote by module selection Checked Oct 2026 | Every plan includes Factorial Core with e-signature and onboarding |
| Deel HRmid-market | International teams that need HR records tied to global payroll | Core from $5/employee/mo; Advanced and Elite tiers quoted Checked Oct 2026 | One worker profile shared with payroll, contractors and EOR |
| greytHRsmb | Indian SMEs that need payroll, leave and core HR together | Essential ₹2,495/month including 50 employees, then ₹45/employee; annual plan available Checked Oct 2026 | Payroll, leave and core HR in the entry plan |
| OrangeHRM Starteropen-source | Teams with technical staff that want self-hosted, licence-free HR | Free open-source download under GNU GPL; Advanced quoted per employee per month Checked Oct 2026 | Free, self-hosted open-source HRM with an upgrade path |
| Frappe HRopen-source | Teams wanting open-source HR and payroll with optional managed hosting | Free open-source software (AGPL-3.0); Frappe Cloud hosting from $5/mo per site, not per user Checked Oct 2026 | HR and payroll with hosting priced per site, not per user |
These comparisons draw on public product information, not hands-on testing of every tool. Source records identify available references and checks; missing evidence is marked. Buyer fit is an editorial assessment, not a measured performance score. How to use this research.
Affordable HR software gives small businesses an employee record, time-off tracking and basic HR workflows without the cost of enterprise suites. This page applies one inclusion rule: each vendor publishes a free tier or a low entry price on its own pricing or product page, and every page was checked on 19 October 2026. Prices appear as the vendors publish them, with billing terms, and the order of entries is not a price ranking.
The products split into three groups. Zoho People, Connecteam, TalentHR and Homebase offer free plans with user, employee or location limits. Sesame HR, Factorial, Deel HR and greytHR publish starting rates per employee, per user or per plan. OrangeHRM Starter and Frappe HR are open-source software with no licence fee, where the cost is hosting and setup. In most cases the features a growing team relies on, such as onboarding workflows, performance reviews and HR compliance, sit above the entry tier, so each profile notes where they begin. Buyers who need enterprise suites or a wider set of vendors can compare the full market in the main HR software comparison.
Vendor details and trade-offs
Zoho People is the HR application in the Zoho suite. It holds the employee database and runs leave, attendance, onboarding, performance and self-service processes, and Zoho also sells it within the People Plus bundle alongside Recruit, Expense and other Zoho applications. The pricing page shows a free edition, described as forever free, for up to three users; the page displays the earlier limit of five struck through. The free edition covers employee database management, time-off management, vacation planning and document management.
Four paid tiers follow, each priced per user per month with a five-user minimum. Essential HR is $1.25 on yearly billing or $1.50 monthly and adds onboarding and offboarding, HR reports and the Zia assistant. Professional, at $2 yearly or $2.50 monthly, adds attendance, timesheets and roster management. Premium, at $3 yearly or $3.50 monthly, adds performance, compensation and engagement tools with advanced analytics. Enterprise is $4.50 yearly or $5 monthly. The page states that yearly billing saves more than 20 percent and that a 30-day trial of paid features falls back to the free plan when it ends.
The fit is strongest for small companies that want to start without cost and add modules later inside one product.
Potential strengths
- Free edition covers employee records, leave and documents
- Attendance and timesheets arrive on the $2 Professional tier
- Paid trial reverts to the free plan rather than locking the account
Trade-offs
- Paid plans require at least five users
- Free edition was cut from five users to three
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Billed yearly or monthly; paid plans have a 5-user minimum
- Source review: checked Oct 19, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Connecteam is a mobile-first workforce application aimed at teams that work away from a desk. It sells three hubs: Operations for time clock and scheduling, Communications for chat and updates, and HR & Skills for people processes. The pricing page states that the Small Business Plan includes all hubs and features free for up to 10 users, with a full feature list on the page.
Above that, each hub is priced separately with a flat fee for the first 30 users and a per-user charge after. The HR & Skills Hub covers time off, courses, quizzes, documents, recognition, rewards, celebrations, timeline, hiring, onboarding and org chart. Basic is $29 per month for the first 30 users on yearly billing or $35 monthly, plus $0.50 or $0.60 per additional user. Advanced is $49 yearly or $59 monthly, with $1.50 or $1.80 per extra user, and adds e-sign documents, unlimited courses and documents, and time-off carryover rules. Expert is $99 yearly or $119 monthly. Yearly billing saves 18 percent.
The fit is strongest for hourly teams that also need scheduling and time tracking, because a buyer can combine hubs as needs grow.
Potential strengths
- Free plan includes all hubs for up to 10 users
- Time off, documents, onboarding and courses in the HR hub
- Mobile-first design for staff without desks
Trade-offs
- Operations and communications hubs are priced separately
- E-signature limits are tight on Basic and Advanced
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Billed yearly (saves 18%) or monthly; priced per hub
- Source review: checked Oct 19, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
TalentHR is a cloud HR information system for small businesses that integrates with the TalentLMS learning platform. It keeps employee records, time off and documents in one place, and adds onboarding, applicant tracking and workflow tools. The pricing page lists three plans in US dollars and states there are no hidden costs.
The Free plan costs nothing for up to 10 users, with no time limit. Its feature list includes the employee database, time-off tracking, file management with expiration tracking, reports, onboarding and offboarding task lists, benefits management and applicant tracking. Essential is $2 per user per month on annual billing or $2.40 monthly. Premium is $4 per user per month annually or $4.80 monthly and adds tools such as performance management, goal setting, custom fields, document signing and employee surveys, plus AI features for job descriptions and CV summaries. The FAQ states that new accounts get a 14-day trial of Premium, that paid plans require a minimum of 15 users, and that changes are made in increments of five users. All plans include email support with a one-business-day response guarantee.
The fit is strongest for offices under 10 people, or companies of 15 or more that need performance tools at a low per-user rate.
Potential strengths
- Free plan has no time limit for up to 10 users
- Applicant tracking and onboarding lists sit in the free tier
- Free email support with a one-business-day response guarantee
Trade-offs
- Paid plans need at least 15 users
- Performance reviews and custom fields require a paid tier
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Billed annually (saves 20%) or monthly; paid plans require 15 users, changed in steps of 5
- Source review: checked Oct 19, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Homebase is a scheduling, time-tracking and team management product for hourly workforces, with point-of-sale integration and tip management aimed at shift-based businesses. Its HR features build on that base: time-off controls, onboarding, labour cost management and HR compliance appear in the higher tiers. Pricing is set per location rather than per employee.
The Basic plan is $0 per month for one location with up to 10 employees and includes basic scheduling, basic time tracking and point-of-sale integration. Essentials is $30 per location per month with unlimited employees and adds advanced scheduling, advanced time tracking and team communication. Plus is listed at $70 per location per month and adds an AI scheduling assistant, PTO and time-off controls, and departments and permissions; the page was offering Plus free for six months with payroll at the time of checking. All-in-One is $120 per location per month and adds employee onboarding, labour cost management and HR and compliance tools. Payroll is an add-on at a $49 monthly base fee plus $6 per employee after an introductory period, and the page also lists add-ons for tip management, task lists and background checks.
The fit is strongest for a single shop or restaurant that needs scheduling first and wants HR features later.
Potential strengths
- Free plan includes scheduling, time tracking and POS integration
- Paid tiers allow unlimited employees per location
- Payroll add-on available on every plan
Trade-offs
- Onboarding and HR compliance sit in the $120 All-in-One tier
- Multi-location businesses pay for each location
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Per location per month; annual and monthly billing options listed
- Source review: checked Oct 19, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Sesame HR is an HR platform that sells time management, talent management and finance tools as modules within four plans. The pricing page states that customers can add or switch modules when needed and pay only for what they use, and that more than 20,000 companies use the product. It also states ISO 27001 certification.
The plans are priced per employee per month, with a note that annual billing saves 20 percent. Essential is $3.75 and covers time tracking, time off and holidays, and shifts, positioned for compliant clock-ins and leave management. Connect is $4.25 and adds tasks, recruitment and internal communication. Growth is $6.25 and adds culture and engagement tools and performance management, with enterprise-level time tracking and time off. Scale is $7.00 and adds single sign-on and API access for organisations that need more control over data and security. A custom plan is also available. Each plan card states that a minimum amount applies, but the page does not give the figure, and its comparison table shows different per-plan figures from the plan cards, so buyers should confirm the quote.
The fit is strongest for companies whose first HR need is time and attendance compliance, with performance and recruitment added later.
Potential strengths
- Published per-employee rates on every plan
- Time tracking, time off and shifts in the entry tier
- ISO 27001 certification stated on the pricing page
Trade-offs
- Performance management starts on the $6.25 Growth plan
- The pricing page does not state the minimum amount
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Per employee per month; annual billing saves 20% over monthly; minimum amount applies
- Source review: checked Oct 19, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Factorial is a Barcelona-based HR platform for small and mid-sized companies. Its pricing page states that Factorial starts at $8 per month per user and that each plan is tailored to the modules a company selects, with a quote request rather than a public tier table.
All plans include Factorial Core, which the page lists as the employee directory, onboarding and offboarding, payslip distribution, bulk document sending, legal e-signature, custom notifications and fillable PDFs. Buyers then choose modules across four areas. Time management covers time off, time tracking with geolocation and QR codes, and shift management. Talent management covers 360-degree performance reviews, recruitment with AI CV parsing, engagement surveys and training. Finance covers project time and expenses, expense management with document reading, and procurement. IT covers SaaS licence management, device inventory, mobile device management and endpoint security. The FAQ section addresses upgrades, tax, payment options and cancellation, but the extracted page does not state billing cadence.
The fit is strongest for companies that want a published starting rate today and expect to add modules such as performance or expenses as headcount grows. Budget-led buyers should request the quote for the exact module mix before comparing it with fixed-tier products.
Potential strengths
- Core plan bundles directory, onboarding and e-signature
- Wide module catalogue spanning HR, finance and IT
- Published starting rate per user
Trade-offs
- Final price requires a tailored quote
- Billing cadence is not shown in the pricing page text
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Oct 19, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Deel HR is the HR information system inside Deel's global payroll and employment platform. The product page describes one worker profile that carries HR, payroll, contractors and employer-of-record employment, so hiring in a new country is a configuration rather than a separate system. The page states that more than 40,000 companies use Deel.
The product page FAQ states that Deel HR comes in three levels. Core starts at $5 per employee per month and covers worker profiles, the org chart, time off, job architecture, workflows, approvals, anonymous reporting and people analytics. Advanced adds performance, goals, learning and surveys. Elite adds workforce planning and compensation management, with salary insights for more than 150 countries. Recruiting is an add-on. The page states that every level runs on the same data, so moving up a level is not a migration. Rates for Advanced and Elite are not published on the page, and Deel's general pricing page lists payroll, contractor and employer-of-record bundles at separate per-worker prices.
The fit is strongest for companies with staff in several countries that want HR records on the same platform as payroll. A single-country team may not use the global features it is built around.
Potential strengths
- Core tier includes workflows, approvals and people analytics
- Same record supports payroll and employer-of-record services
- Salary insights for 150+ countries on the compensation tier
Trade-offs
- Only the Core starting rate is published
- Recruiting is a separate add-on
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Oct 19, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
greytHR is an HR and payroll platform priced for Indian companies. Its pricing page lists three plans in rupees, with a monthly base price that includes the first 50 employees and a per-employee charge above that.
Essential is ₹2,495 per month and ₹45 per employee above 50. It covers complete payroll processing, leave management with unlimited leave types, employee self-onboarding and exit, and a helpdesk. Expense management, single sign-on and API access, recruitment and an alumni portal are add-ons. Growth is ₹4,495 per month and ₹85 per employee above 50, and adds advanced attendance and shift management, overtime, permissions, geo-fencing and a confirmation workflow. Premium is quoted by sales and includes performance management, advanced expense management, timesheets and multi-company support, which the page states saves about 30 percent against Growth plus add-ons. Add-ons such as performance management are priced at ₹35 to ₹45 per user per month. The FAQ states that annual subscriptions are available, that there is no cancellation fee or lock-in period, and that a seven-day free trial needs no upfront payment.
The fit is strongest for Indian companies that want payroll and HR from one vendor at a fixed monthly entry price.
Potential strengths
- Payroll processing included in the entry plan
- No cancellation fee or lock-in period
- 7-day free trial without upfront cost
Trade-offs
- Pricing is in rupees and aimed at Indian payroll
- Performance, expenses and timesheets are add-ons below Premium
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Monthly, with an annual subscription option; no cancellation fee or lock-in
- Source review: checked Oct 19, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
OrangeHRM sells two editions of its human resource management system. Starter is the open-source edition, which the pricing page describes as completely free and open-source HR software. Advanced is the commercial edition, offered with a 30-day free trial.
The Starter repository on GitHub states that the software is distributed under the GNU General Public License, version 3 or later, and links a download, prerequisites for installation on Linux and Windows, a web installer guide, an upgrade guide for 5.x versions and a help portal with user guides and tutorials. A Docker image is published, and the repository links an open-source mobile app. Support for Starter runs through a community forum rather than a paid support desk. Because Starter is self-hosted, the buyer provides the server, security, backups and upgrades.
The pricing page FAQ states that Advanced operates on a per-employee per-month basis, but no rate is published; buyers complete a quote form and are contacted by a consultant. The company also sells a scheduling product, Rostero, and a library of connectors.
The fit is strongest for organisations with in-house technical staff that want an HR record without licence fees, and that may move to the commercial edition later.
Potential strengths
- No licence fee for the Starter edition
- Installation guides for Linux and Windows plus a Docker image
- Commercial Advanced edition available for later growth
Trade-offs
- Starter support is through a community forum
- Hosting, upgrades and backups fall on the buyer
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Starter has no licence fee; Advanced quoted per employee per month
- Source review: checked Oct 19, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Frappe HR is an open-source HR and payroll product built on the low-code Frappe Framework and released under the AGPL-3.0 licence. The product page lists recruitment, employee lifecycle, shifts and attendance, leave, expenses, performance, payroll, payroll tax and reports, and a mobile app, with Indian payroll features such as tax regimes, EPF, professional tax and ESI. It states integrated accounting with ERPNext and connections to biometric devices and banks.
The pricing page states that the software is free and that the cost has two components, hosting and implementation. Frappe Cloud hosts a single site on shared servers from $5 per month, with managed upgrades and backups, and a dedicated virtual machine from $20 per month. Hosting is charged for what is used, not per user. The page estimates that self-hosting starts at around $40 per month for a VPS before email, security and backup services. Teams can set the product up from the documentation, buy a partner starter pack for migration, or hire a partner for a custom implementation.
The fit is strongest for companies that want HR and payroll in one open-source system with a monthly cost that does not grow with headcount, and that can configure the product or pay a partner to do so.
Potential strengths
- Recruitment-to-exit modules including payroll and expenses
- Hosting cost does not rise per user
- Integrated accounting with ERPNext
Trade-offs
- Self-hosting starts at about $40 per month by the vendor's estimate
- Implementation may require a Frappe partner
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: No licence fee; hosting billed per site or server per month, not per user
- Source review: checked Oct 19, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Frequently asked questions
What counts as affordable HR software on this page?
Each vendor publishes either a free tier or a low entry price on its own pricing or product page, and each page was checked on 19 October 2026. Four vendors offer a free plan with user, employee or location limits, and two are free open-source software. The others publish starting rates per employee, per user or per plan. Affordability here describes the published entry price, not total cost, which depends on the tier a team needs.
Is a free HR plan enough for a small business?
A free plan can hold employee records, documents and time off for a very small team. The published limits are tight: Zoho People's free edition covers three users, Connecteam and TalentHR cover 10 users, and Homebase covers one location with up to 10 employees. Performance reviews, onboarding workflows and HR compliance tools are usually in paid tiers, so a free plan is best treated as a starting point.
Why does the entry price differ from what a team ends up paying?
Vendors often place growth features above the entry tier. On the pages checked, Homebase puts onboarding and HR compliance in All-in-One at $120 per location, Sesame HR puts performance management in Growth at $6.25 per employee, and Zoho People places attendance in Professional. Buyers should identify the first tier with every required module and compare that figure.
How do minimums and pricing units change the comparison?
The vendors use different units. Zoho People requires five paid users and TalentHR 15. Connecteam charges a flat fee for the first 30 users in each hub. Homebase charges per location, greytHR includes 50 employees in a monthly base price, and Frappe Cloud charges per site. Converting each price to the team's actual headcount gives a fairer comparison than the headline figure.
Should a buyer choose annual or monthly billing?
Annual billing lowers the rate on several pages. Zoho People states savings of more than 20 percent, TalentHR and Sesame HR 20 percent, and Connecteam 18 percent. greytHR offers an annual plan but states that unused credit is not refunded if service stops mid-term. Monthly billing costs more but avoids a year's commitment while a team is still evaluating fit.
What does open-source HR software actually cost?
OrangeHRM Starter and Frappe HR carry no licence fee, but someone must host and maintain them. Frappe publishes managed hosting from $5 per month for a single site and estimates self-hosting at about $40 per month for a VPS before email, security and backups. OrangeHRM Starter is self-hosted with community forum support. Implementation and upgrade time should be counted alongside hosting.
Which affordable HR products include payroll?
greytHR includes payroll processing in its Essential plan for Indian companies. Frappe HR includes payroll and payroll tax reports in the open-source product. Homebase sells payroll as an add-on at a $49 monthly base fee plus $6 per employee after an introductory period. Deel runs payroll on the same worker profile as Deel HR but prices it separately. Other products here focus on HR records, leave and talent.
How does this page relate to the main HR software comparison?
This page applies one inclusion rule, a published free tier or low entry price, so its roster differs from the general HR software comparison. Suites that quote all prices on request, or whose smallest published price is a flat monthly minimum, are not included here. Buyers who need enterprise HR, deep configuration or a wider set of vendors should also review the main HR software comparison.
How should this comparison be used?
Use the documented fit, pricing, source dates and trade-offs to build a shortlist. Then confirm current prices on each vendor's pricing page, check the minimums and limits of the tier that covers the required modules, and run each finalist through a free plan or trial with representative employee data before committing.
Suggest a vendor or correction
Send factual corrections to editorial@statwharf.com. Corrections are free. For inclusion or placement enquiries, contact partnerships.
First published October 2026. Page update dates reflect editorial changes, not a fresh check of every vendor.